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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Rule 1200-12-01-.06 Schedule of Fees is amended by deleting paragraph (6) in its entirety and substituting instead
the following language as new paragraph (6) so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

(6) A licensee or certificate holder requesting reinstatement of an expired certification, authorization,
license and/or permit shall pay a reinstatement fee as follows:

Classification Fee
(a) First Responders $ 50.00
(b) All Licensed Personnel, including EMDs $ 100.00
(c) Volunteer Non-Profit Ambulance Service

1. Service $ 100.00

2. Vehicle permit (per vehicle) $ 50.00
(d) Other Ground Ambulance and Invalid Services

1. Service $ 500.00

2. Vehicle permit (per vehicle) $ 250.00
(e) Air Ambulance Service $1,000.00
(f A licensee or certificate holder requesting reinstatement shall pay the reinstatement fee

in addition to the renewal fee.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-140-504 and 68-140-517.
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Timothy Bell

Susan Breeden

Jeffery Davis

Julie Dunn, M.D.

Larry Griffin

XXX XXX

Richard Holliday

Kevin Mitchell X

x

Dennis Parker

James Ross, R.N. X

Sullivan K. Smith, M.D.

Robert W. Thurman, Jr.

Robert Webb

X[X[X[x

Jackie Wilkerson

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted

by the Board of Emergency Medical Services on 09/23/2010, and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4-5-
222,

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 07/27/2010)

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 09/23/10

Date: Y / c;:_//o

Signature: MJ; /j &-’/‘xli/

Name of Officer: LucilrgF. Bond

Assistant General Counsel

Title of Officer: rtment of Health
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All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein ‘ha Iﬁﬂu Pned by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality ;5!&9.! o the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
Kﬂw}

F{obe E. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. §4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, which
can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no comments
are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include it with the
Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not acceptable.

PUBLIC HEARING COMMENTS
RULEMAKING HEARING
TENNESSEE BOARD OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES
The rulemaking hearing for the Tennessee Board of Emergency Medical Services was held on September 23,
2010, in the Department of Health Conference Center’s Iris Room on the First Floor of the Heritage Place Building
in MetroCenter, Nashville, Tennessee. Lucille F. Bond, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Health,

presided over the meeting.

No members of the public attended the rulemaking hearing. No written or oral comments were received at the
rulemaking hearing.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(1)

()
3)

(4)

(6)

(7)

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, or local government
rules.

The proposed rules exhibit clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity.

The proposed rules are not written with special consideration for the flexible compliance and/or
requirements because the licensing boards have, as their primary mission, the protection of the
health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans. However, the proposed rules are written with a goal of
avoiding unduly onerous regulations. The rules are written to amend reinstatement fees the Division
of Emergency Medical Services is able to assess for reinstatement of lapsed and expired licenses for
both personnel and ambulance services.

The compliance requirements throughout the proposed rules are as “user-friendly” as possible while
still allowing the division to achieve its mandated mission in licensing and regulating emergency
medical services. There is sufficient notice between the rulemaking hearing and the final
promulgation of these rules to allow services and providers to come into compliance with the
proposed rules.

Compliance requirements in the proposed rules are not consolidated or simplified for small
businesses for the protection of the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans.

The standards required in the proposed rules are very basic and do not necessitate the establishment
of performance standards for small businesses.

There are no unnecessary entry barriers or other effects in the proposed rules that would stifle
entrepreneurial activity or curb innovation.
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STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES

Name of Board, Committee or Council: Tennessee Department of Health, Board of Emergency Medical
Services

Rulemaking hearing date: September 23, 2010

Types of small businesses that will be directly affected by the proposed rules:

These rule changes only affect emergency medical service licensees and ambulance services. A small number of
private ground ambulance services are small businesses. However, the rule changes will have little effect on them
if they timely renew their licenses. The impact on small businesses is, therefore, expected to be negligible.

Types of small businesses that will bear the cost of the proposed rules:

The rule changes impact individual EMS licensees and ambulance services only. The rules changes would have
minimal affect on any small businesses.

Types of small businesses that will directly benefit from the proposed rules:
It is unlikely that the attached rules would directly benefit small businesses.
Description of how small business will be adversely impacted by the proposed rules:

The rule changes may adversely impact on small privately owned ambulance services if they do not renew their
licenses in a timely manner.

Alternatives to the proposed rule that will accomplish the same objectives but are less burdensome, and
why they are not being proposed:

The Department of Health, Board Emergency Medical Services does not believe there are less burdensome
alternatives to the proposed rule amendments.

Comparison of the proposed rule with federal or state counterparts:
Federal: None.

State: Surrounding states allow reasonable fees to be set by their Boards.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

These amendments to the rules are not expected to have any impact on local governments.
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee
All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to TCA 4-5-226(i)(1).

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by
such rule;

1200-12-01-06 (6) Fees — The proposed rule sets the reinstatement fee for a licensee or certificate holder
requesting reinstatement of expired certification, authorization, license and/or permit as follows: a) First
Responders, $50.00; b) All Licensed Personnel, including EMDs, $100.00; c) Volunteer Non-Profit Ambulance
Service—Service, $100.00—Vehicle Permit (per vehicle), $50.00; d) Other ground ambulance and Invalid
services—Service, $500.00—Vehicle Permit (per vehicle) $250.00; and e) Air Ambulance Service, $1,000.00.
The reinstatement fee shall be paid in addition to a renewal fee. The old rule did not include the above.

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto;

[ T.C.A. §§ 68-140-504 and 68-140-517. |

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or
rejection of this rule;

| All EMS licensees, both personnel and services who wish to reinstate expired licenses are affected. |

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to
the rule;

| None. |

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures,
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less;

| None |

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge
and understanding of the rule;

| Donna Tidwell, Director of Personnel Licensure and Education, Division of Emergency Medical Services. |

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a
scheduled meeting of the committees;

| Donna Tidwell, Director of Personnel Licensure and Education, Division of Emergency Medical Services |

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and

Donna Tidwell Lucille F. Bond

Director Of Personnel Licensure and Education Assistant General Counsel

Division of Emergency Medical Services Office of General Counsel

227 French Landing, Suite 303 Tennessee Department of Health

Nashville, TN 37243 220 Athens Way, Suite 210

(615) 741-2584 Nashville, TN 37243

Donna.G.Tidwell@tn.qov (615) 741-1611
Lucille.F.Bond@tn.gov
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(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests.

| None
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GENERAL RULES CHAPTER 1200-12-01

(Rule 1200-12-01-.05, continued)

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 68-140-504, and 68-140-507. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 20, 1974, effective April 19, 1974. Amendment filed November 30, 1984; effective
February 12, 1985. Amendment filed February 4, 1988; effective March 20, 1988. Amendment filed June
28, 1988; effective August 12, 1988. Amendment filed August 11, 1993; effective October 25, 1993.
Amendment filed January 7, 1997, effective March 23, 1997. Repeal and new rule filed January 7, 1997;
effective March 23, 1997.

1200-12-01-.06 SCHEDULE OF FEES.

(1) The fees are as follows:

(@)

(b)

()

(d)
(e)

(f)

Application fee for licensure or certification - A fee to be paid by all applicants as
indicated, including those seeking licensure by reciprocity. It must be paid each time an
application for licensure is filed.

Endorsement/verification - A fee paid for each level of certification or endorsement as
may be recognized by the Board within each category of personnel license.

Examination fee - A fee paid each time an applicant requests to sit forany initial, retake,
or renewal test or examination, written or practical.

License fee - A fee to be paid prior to the issuance of the initial license.

License Renewal fee - A fee to be paid by all license holders. This fee also applies to
personnel who may reinstate an expired or lapsed license.

Reinstatement fee - A fee to be paid when an individual fails to timely renew a license
or certification.

Replacement license or permit fee - A fee to be paid when a request is made for a
replacement when the initial license has been changed, lost, or destroyed.

Volunteer non-profit ambulance services eligible for reduced license fees under
paragraph (5) shall be provided by all volunteer personnel and shall not assess any
fees for their services, and shall be primarily supported by donations or governmental
support for their charitable purposes.

(2)  All fees shall be established pursuant to the rules approved by the Board.

(3) All fees for initial licensing or certification shall be submitted to the Division of Emergency
Medical Services to the attention of the Revenue Control office. Fees shall be payable by
check or money order payable to the Tennessee Department of Health.

(4) Emergency Medical Services Personnel Fees — Personnel applying for licensure, certification,
authorization, renewal, or reinstatement shall remit application processing and license fees as
follows.

(a)

Fees for licensed personnel
Application  License

1. Emergency Medical Technican—-Basic $50.00 $75.00
2. Emergency Medical Technican—Basic-IV ~ $70.00 $80.00
3. Emergency Medical Tech. — Paramedic $75.00 $100.00
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GENERAL RULES CHAPTER 1200-12-01

(Rule 1200-12-01-.06, continued)
4. Emergency Medical Tech. Paramedic $75.00

Critical Care - |Initial Application for

Endorsement
5. Initial Instructor Authorization $35.00

(b) Renewal fees for all classes of licenses in (a)
License

1. Emergency Medical Technican—Basic $65.00
2. Emergency Medical Technican—Basic -1V $65.00
3. Emergency Medical Tech. — Paramedic $75.00
4. Emergency Medical Tech. Paramedic $90.00

Critical Care —

(c) Fees for Emergency Medical First Responders
Application License

1. Initial Application and Certification $20.00 $25.00
2. Renewal fee $24.00
(d) Fees for Emergency Medical Dispatcher
Application License
1. Initial Application and Certification $30.00 $30.00
2. Renewal fee $45.00
(e) Application fee for license by interstate reciprocity $100.00

(i When applicable, renewal fees may be pro rated on a birth month renewal system.

(g) Applicants may also be required to pay a fee directly to the National Registry or other
appropriate national or board-approved testing agency.

(56) Service License and Vehicle Permit fee — Ambulance services and invalid services shall
permit fees as follows:

License
(a) Initial license fee for a new ground ambulance, $5,000.00
invalid, or other regulated ground service
(b) Annual renewal fee for (a) $500.00
(c) Vehicle Permit fee for each ground vehicle to be $250.00
permitted in a license period- initial and annual
(d) Initial license fee for volunteer non-profit $2,000.00
ambulance service with all volunteer personnel
(e) Annual renewal for volunteer non-profit $250.00
ambulance service with all volunteer personnel
(f) Vehicle Permit fee for each ground vehicle $100.00
operated by a volunteer non-profit ambulance
service
(9) Initial license fee for air ambulance services — $10,000.00
fixed wing and helicopter
(h) Air Ambulance service — annual renewal fee $5,000.00
(i) A repeat inspection fee for a failed inspection of $500.00
any aircraft or vehicle requiring inspection by the
department
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GENERAL RULES CHAPTER 1200-12-01

(Rule 1200-12-01-.06, continued)

(6) A licensee or certificate holder requesting reinstatement of an expired certification,
authorization, license and/or permit shall pay a reinstatement fee as follows:

Classification Fee
(a) First Responders $ 50.00
(b) All Licensed Personnel, including EMDs $ 100.00
(c) Volunteer Non-Profit Ambulance Service

1. Service $ 100.00

2. Vehicle permit (per vehicle) $ 50.00
(d) Other Ground Ambulance and Invalid Services

1. Service $ 500.00

2. Vehicle permit (per vehicle) $ 250.00
(e) Air Ambulance Service $1.000.00
(f) A licensee or certificate holder requesting reinstatement shall pay the

reinstatement fee in addition to the renewal fee.

(7) Administrative Documents and Publications fees.

(@) Copies from official files and records shall be subject to a charge of fifty cents ($.50)
per page.

(b)  Publications, or copies of reference documents available from the Division shall include:

1. Director of Services $5.00
2. Application Materials Packet $9.00
3. Complied Statues and Rules $9.00
4. Protocols $5.00
B Ambulance Design Specifications $5.00
6. Other documents at the authorized cost of publication.

(c) Postage and Handling fees of five dollars ($5.00) will be applied to any mailing of more
than twenty (20) pages.

(8) \Verification of license status to other states, employers, or agencies shall be subject to a
verification fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00). (Excepting automated telephone inquiries not
requiring written documentation.)

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 68-39-508, 68-140-502, 68-140-504, 68-140-505, 68-140-506, 68-

140-508, 68-140-517, and 68-440-506. Administrative History: Original rule filed September 22, 1981;
effective December 29, 1981. Repeal and new rule filed October 13, 1983; effective January 16, 1984.
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