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Library Fines

Presented herein are proposed amendments of The University of Tennessee submitted pursuant to
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 4-5-202, in lieu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of The University of
Tennessee to promulgate these amendments without a rulemaking hearing unless a petition requesting such hearing
is filed within thirty (30) days of the publication date of the issue of the Tennessee Administrative Register in which
the proposed amendments are published. Such petition to be effective must be filed in Room 719, Andy Holt Tower,
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee 37996-0170, and in the Department of State, 8th Floor, William
R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 8th Avenue North, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, and must be signed by twenty-
five (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by a municipality which will be affected by
the amendments, or an association of twenty-five (25) or more members, or any standing committee of the General
Assembly.

For a copy of the proposed amendments, contact Ronald C. Leadbetter, Associate General Counsel, The
University of Tennessee, Office of General Counsel, 719 Andy Holt Tower, Knoxville, TN 37996-0170, telephone
number (865) 974-3247.

The text of the proposed amendments is as follows:

Amendments

Rule 1720-4-6-.01 is amended by deleting the current language of the rule and substituting new language so that, as
amended, the rule shall read:

1720-4-6-.01 For Regular Loans.

No regular overdue fines for books, monographs, serials, periodicals, or other items not specified below.
Q) A notice is sent 1 to 8 days after your book is due. If you do not respond a final bill for
replacement will be sent about 21 days later. Failure to receive notices does not relieve the borrower of
his/her responsibility.

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. ' 49-9-209(e).

Rule 1720-4-6-.02 is amended by deleting the current language of the rule and substituting new language so that, as
amended, the rule shall read:

1720-4-6-.02 For Reserve Books, Media, And Equipment.

1) 2-hour reserve/overnight - $.25 per hour per item to a maximum of $20.00 per item.

2 1-day, 3-day/7-day reserve and equipment - $1.00 per day per item to a maximum of $20.00 per
item.

3) 3-hour or 24-hour Equipment Loans, $.25 per hour per item overdue up to a maximum of $20.00
per item.

4 3-day Media (e.g. video, DVD) loans - $.25 per hour per item overdue up to a maximum of $20.00
per item.

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. ' 49-9-209(e).



Rule 1720-4-6-.03 is amended by deleting the current language of the rule and substituting new language so that, as
amended, the rule shall read:

1720-4-6-.03 Lost Items And Equipment. Resolution of lost items and equipment transactions require
payment of accumulated fines plus library cost recoveries (Item or equipment replacement cost plus $20.00
processing fee).

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. ' 49-9-209(e).

Rule 1720-4-6-.07 is amended by deleting $.25 and substituting $.50 so that, as amended, the rule reads:
1720-4-6-.07 Recalls. All books on loan are subject to recall. When a recall is requested, a new due date is
set for ten days from the date of the request. If the recalled item is not returned within that ten-day period, your

borrowing privileges will be blocked and fines of $.50 per day will be assessed from the new due date forward to a
maximum of $20.00.

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. ' 49-9-209(e).

The proposed rules set out herein were properly filed in the Department of State on the 10th day of November,
2005, and pursuant to the instructions set out above, and in the absence of the filing of an appropriate petition calling for
a rulemaking hearing, will become effective on the 30th day of March, 2006.



