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Notice of Rulemaking Hearing 
Department of Commerce and Insurance 

Division of Fire Prevention 
 
There will be a hearing before the Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance or her designee to 
consider the promulgation of amendments of rules pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 
68-102-113, 68-104-208, 68-104-214, and 68-105-108.  The hearing will be conducted in the 
manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated § 
4-5-204, and will take place in Room 160 on the 1st floor of the Davy Crockett Tower, located at 
500 James Robertson Parkway in Nashville, Tennessee at 9 a.m. (Central Time) on the 17th day 
of December, 2008.  
 
Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these 
filings) should contact the Department of Commerce and Insurance to discuss any auxiliary aids 
of services needed to facilitate such participation.  Such initial contact may be made no less than 
ten (10) days prior to the scheduled meeting date (the date the party intends to review such 
filings), to allow time for the Department of Commerce and Insurance to determine how it may 
reasonably provide such aid or service.  Initial contact may be made with Don Coleman, the 
Department’s ADA Coordinator, at 500 James Robertson Parkway, 5th Floor, Nashville, 
Tennessee  37243 at (615) 741-0481. 
 
For a copy of the entire text of this notice of rulemaking hearing, contact: Jim Pillow, Assistant 
Commissioner for the Division of Fire Prevention at 500 James Robertson Parkway, Davy 
Crockett Tower, 3rd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, telephone (615) 741-2981. 

 
 

Substance of Proposed Rules 
 

Chapter 0780-02-15 
Blasting Standards 

 
Amendments 

 
Rule 0780-02-15-.03 Registration and Fees is amended by deleting the language of the rule in its 
entirety and substituting instead the following language so that, as amended, the rule shall read: 
 

(1) The Department shall have the following four (4) classifications of registration: 
 

(a) Blaster; 
 
(b) Limited Blaster; 
 
(c) Handler; and 
 
(d) Firm. 

 
(2) An applicant for registration as a blaster shall: 
 

(a) Submit a completed application on a form as prescribed by the 
Department along with a non-refundable application fee of fifteen dollars 
($15.00); 

 
(b) Pass the examination prescribed by the Department; 
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(c) Provide proof of having obtained one (1) year previous practical 
experience under the supervision of a registered, experienced blaster; 
and 

 
(d) Pay a registration fee of three hundred dollars ($300.00). 
 

(3) An applicant for registration as a limited blaster shall: 
 

(a) Submit a completed application on a form as prescribed by the 
Department along with a non-refundable application fee of fifteen dollars 
($15.00); 

 
(b) Pass the examination prescribed by the Department; 

 
(c) Provide proof of having obtained one (1) year previous practical 

experience under the supervision of a registered, experienced limited 
blaster; and 

 
(d) Pay a registration fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

 
(4) An applicant for registration as a handler shall: 
 

(a) Submit a completed application on a form as prescribed by the 
Department along with a non-refundable application fee of fifteen dollars 
($15.00); 

 
(b) Pay a registration fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00); and 
 
(c) Certify, by means of the applicant’s signature, knowledge of storage, 

security and accountability regulations established by applicable statues, 
rules, and adopted standards. 

 
(5) An applicant for registration as a firm shall: 
 

(a) Submit a completed application on a form as prescribed by the 
Department along with a non-refundable application fee of fifteen dollars 
($15.00); 

 
(b) Pay a registration fee of seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00); and 
 
(c) Submit proof of insurance required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-105-112. 

 
(6) An applicant for registration by reciprocity shall submit a completed application a 

form as prescribed by the Department. The application must be accompanied by 
a non-refundable application fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00), the registration fee 
required by this chapter and a letter of good standing from the reciprocal state. 
The registration fee will be determined by the above-referenced classification 
scheme. 

 
(7) A certificate of registration shall expire three (3) years following the date of its 

issuance or renewal and is invalid on that date unless renewed. Each registrant 
shall be required to renew by submitting a completed application as prescribed 
for the same to the Department, along with a renewal fee of three hundred 
dollars ($300.00) for blasters, two hundred dollars ($200.00) for limited blasters, 
one hundred dollars ($100.00) for handlers, and seven hundred fifty dollars 
($750.00) for firms. 



 3

 
(8) An applicant for renewal of a blaster’s, limited blaster’s or handler’s registration 

shall also submit proof of having obtained the continuing education credits, 
required in rule 0780-02-15-.05 of this chapter during the preceding renewal 
period. 

 
(9) A late fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) will be assessed against a registrant 

who renews registration late, but before one (1) year after the date of its 
expiration. A completed application on a form as prescribed by the Department 
must be submitted along with the applicable renewal fee to the Department. 

 
(10) A registrant who fails to renew registration within one (1) year after expiration 

shall reapply for registration, pay the applicable fee and take the examination 
approved by the Department. 

 
(11)  The Department will issue to each registrant a pocket identification card. 

 
(12) An applicant who fails an examination for registration may retake the examination 

after thirty (30) days after the test date without paying another application fee. An 
applicant who fails the examination twice shall reapply and pay the required 
application fee. 

 
(13) Registration certificates or pocket identification cards that have been lost, 

misplaced or destroyed may be replaced upon submission of a fee of fifteen 
dollars ($15.00). 

 
(14) No registration issued under this chapter may be assigned or transferred. 

 
(15) The Department may designate a third party to administer and charge a 

reasonable fee for each examination or reexamination administered to applicants 
for blaster’s and limited blaster’s registrations. 

 
(16) Any application that remains pending for twelve (12) months will expire.  

Refundable fees will be refunded if a written request is made to the Department 
within six (6) months of the expiration of the application. 

 
Authority: T. C. A. §§ 68-105-106, 68-105-108, 68-105-112, 68-105-113, 68-105-114, 68-
105-116, and 68-105-121. 
 
 

Substance of Proposed Rules 
 

Chapter 0780-02-21 
Fireworks 

 
Amendments 

 
Rule 0780-02-21-.05 Training; Continuing Education is amended by adding the following 
language as a new paragraph so that, as amended, the paragraph shall read: 

 
(10) Registrants may obtain continuing education training for renewal by retaking and 

passing the appropriate examination for the certification desired; provided, 
however, that the registrant provides valid documentation of proof of taking and 
earning a passing score on the appropriate examination, and submits this 
information along with the completed renewal form and renewal fee prior to the 
expiration date for such certification. 
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Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 68-102-113, 68-104-208(d)(2), and 68-104-214. 
 
Rule 0780-02-21-.07 Permits is amended by adding the following language as new paragraphs 
so that, as amended, the paragraphs shall read: 

 
(2) An expedited permit fee of fifty dollars ($50) will be charged, in addition to the 

regular display permit fee, for any public display permit application that is 
received by the state fire marshal’s office within ten (10) days prior to the date of 
the display.  An application is considered received on the date that both the 
completed application and appropriate fee are received by the state fire marshal. 

 
(3) The state fire marshal may issue a multiple display permit, for a fee not to exceed 

four hundred dollars ($400), to an exhibitor, sponsor, or operator that is 
conducting multiple displays that are essentially identical at a single location.  A 
multiple display permit may be issued for multiple displays, performed on 
different dates, but are the same in regards to the display items, location, site 
arrangement, and emergency personnel locations.  A multiple display permit 
expires one (1) year after issuance.  

 
Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 68-102-113, 68-104-102(c), 68-104-211(a) and 68-104-212. 
 
The notice of rulemaking hearing set out herein was properly filed in the Department of State on 
this the 31st day of October, 2008. (FS 10-25-08; DBID 940-941) 
 


