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Chapter 0440-01 
Licensing 

Amendments 

Rule 0440-01-.03(5) Curriculum is amended by deleting the subparagraph and replacing with the following 
language, so that as amended the subparagraph shall read: 

(5) Any person holding a valid Tennessee Master Barber certification may appear before the board and 
request to sit for the Cosmetology Exam. The board may approve the applicant to test if they: 

(a) Complete three hundred (300) cosmetology school hours at a licensed cosmetology school 
learning the fundamentals of cosmetology technique and pedicuring. This student will be 
given credit for the remaining twelve (1200) hundred hours required to obtain a Tennessee 
cosmetology license upon finishing the required 300 hours in a cosmetology school; or 

(b) Held a master barber registration in Tennessee or another jurisdiction with reciprocity with 
Tennessee for five (5) continuous years. 

Rule 0440-01-.05 Requirements for Schools is amended by deleting the rule in its entirety and substituting the 
following language so that, as amended, the rule shall read: 

(1) Every school of cosmetology shall: 

(a) Publish readily available and clearly expressed admission policies and requirements; 

(b) Provide to prospective students (before enrollment) published materials which explain 
requirements for licensure as a cosmetologist, manicurist, instructor, shampoo technician, natural 
hair stylist, or aesthetician in the State of Tennessee; however, if a school is licensed to provide 
instruction solely in natural hair styling, manicuring or aesthetics, the school shall only be 
responsible for providing documentation relative to licensure in the field in which the school 
provides instruction. 

(c) Give a receipt to any student from whom money is collected by authorized school personnel; and 

(d) Submit to the office of the Board, on the prescribed form, a monthly progress report on each 
student enrolled. The monthly reports must be received no later than the tenth (10th) of each 
month for the previous month's hours of instruction. If reports are not submitted by this date, a 
penalty set by the Board will be issued for violation of this rule. 

(e) Teach a minimum ten percent (10%) of theory hours each week in each curriculum offered in a 
school. This requirement does not apply to students enrolled in an apprenticeship program 
authorized by this chapter. 

(2) Applications to operate New Schools: Any person seeking licensure of a new school shall first pay the fee 
for licensure and submit to the board the following: 

(a) A copy of the school's curriculum to be deemed acceptable by the board; 

(b) A sample copy of the school's catalog, brochure, enrollment agreement, and cancellation and 
refund policies; 

(c) A backup method for logging hours that have been earned by students; and 

(d) A plan to keep all part time and full time student files separate. 

(3) Transfers, Cancellations and Refunds 
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(a) The school shall maintain documentation that the refunds owed to students are issued 
within 45 days of the last day of the student's attendance. 

(b) The school shall have a written policy that clearly defines how the school determines whether or 
not credit hours will be accepted from another institution. This policy shall apply to all students. 
Nothing in this rule shall require a school to accept credit hours from another institution except as 
provided in the school's policy. 

(c) The school shall provide each student with a written policy of a teach-out program, or outline the 
student's options in the event the school closes for an extended period of time, such as by way 
of license revocation, natural disaster, or other unforeseen consequences. Schools are 
encouraged to partner with neighboring institutions to achieve the best outcome for students. 

(4) The school shall keep a copy of all tests, evaluations, or progress reports in the student's file. The student 
must initial any evaluation or progress reports. 

(5). Upon yearly renewal of license to operate the school shall submit a Board approved form disclosing 
changes to student enrollment agreements, or other school changes affecting students 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-4-105(e), 62-4-120 and 62-4-122. 

Rule 0440-01-.06 Enrollment of Students is amended by deleting the rule and substituting the following language 
so that, as amended, the rule shall read: 

(1) Every licensed school of cosmetology shall maintain documentation of age and education in each 
student's file, which evidences eligibility for enrollment under the terms of Tenn. Code Ann.§ 62-4-122(a). 

(2) Every enrollment of a student in a school of cosmetology shall be evidenced by a written enrollment 
agreement which clearly details the rights and obligations of both parties. 

(3) The school shall: 

(a) furnish to the student an executed copy of the enrollment agreement; 

(b) maintain a copy of the agreement in the student's file; and 

(c) keep copies of all receipts and payments the student has made or received in the student's files. 

(4) Every student enrollment agreement shall: 

(a) be signed and dated by the student and an authorized representative of the school; 

(b) specify the number of clock hours in the course of instruction and an approximate number of 
weeks or months required for completion; 

(c) identify all costs and charges which the student must bear; 

(d) indicate any grounds for termination of a student by the school; 

(e) state in clear and understandable language the school's refund policy; 

(f) list any special conditions or requirements for graduation; 

(g) contain an acknowledgment that the student has read and understands the agreement before 
making any payment thereunder; 

(h) include the school's discrimination and anti-harassment policy; 

(i) include page numbers on each page and be initialed by the student on each page; and 
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U) contain a clearly defined policy on how the school will maintain sanitary code requirements and 
the student's role in maintaining those requirements, which must be based on the curriculum and 
industry practices; and 

(k) contain an initialed acknowledgement by the student that the student has received a full and true 
copy of the student enrollment agreement for their own personal records. 

(5) For students enrolling in teaching programs, the file shall contain documentation that the school notified 
the enrollee in writing that an applicant for an instructor's license must have been licensed for three (3) 
continuous years prior to applying for an instructor's license, along with any other qualifications that the 
legislature or the Board determines. 

(6) All application information, including documentation and enrollment agreements required under this rule, 
shall be included in the student's file and made available for inspection by members or inspectors of the 
Board during business hours. 

(7) A student shall be actively enrolled in a licensed school in order to participate in an apprenticeship 
program. 

(8) An apprentice program must be completed within 150% of the time allowed for a student to complete a 
course of study under the school's standard, non-apprenticeship contract agreement. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-4-105(e), 62-4-120 and 62-4-122. 

Rule 0440-01-.11 (2) Teacher Training Programs is amended by adding subparagraph (f) so that, as amended, 
the paragraph shall read: 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board that the teacher training program 
submitted for approval will: 

(a) contain at least sixteen (16) hours of actual instruction; 

(b) emphasize teaching methodology for its entire duration; 

(c) restrict the size of classes sufficiently to ensure adequate attention to all participants; 

(d) proceed for not more than two (2) hours without a break; 

(e) prohibit demonstrations or presentations for commercial purposes in classrooms. Training 
programs may not sell, take orders, or in any way promote a product; and 

(f) conform to professional standards as determined by the Board. This can be determined by, 
but not limited to, the following: fraud, unprofessional, immoral or dishonorable conduct, a 
violation of Tenn. Ann. Code§ 62-4 et. seq., or of any rules duly promulgated under this chapter, 

or failure to comply with a lawful order of the board. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-4-105(e) and 62-4-114. 

Chapter 0200-01 
Rules of the Barber Board 

Amendments 

Rule 0200-01-.02(4) Curriculum is amended by deleting the paragraph and substituting the following paragraph 
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so that, as amended, the paragraph shall read: 

(4) Every barber school shall: 

(a) Publish readily available and clearly expressed admission policies and requirements; 

(b) Provide to prospective students (before enrollment) published materials which explain 
requirements for licensure as a master barber, barber technician, and barber instructor in the 
State of Tennessee; 

(c) Provide each enrolled student with: 

1. the school's discrimination and anti-harassment policy; 

2. a contract with page numbers for each page and space on each page for the student to 
initial; 

3. a clearly defined policy on how the school will maintain sanitary code requirements and 
the student's role in maintaining those requirements, which must be based on the 
curriculum and industry practices; and 

4. an initialed acknowledgement by the student that the student has received a full and true 
copy of the student enrollment agreement for their own personal records. 

(d)( Give a receipt to any student from whom money is collected by authorized school personnel; and 

(e) Provide the Board with a sample copy of the school's catalog, brochure, enrollment contract, and 
cancellation and refund policies as a part of their school license application 

(f) Have a backup method for logging hours that have been earned by students; 

(g) Keep all part time and full time student files separate 

(h) Transfers, Cancellations and Refunds 

1. The school shall maintain documentation that the refunds owed to students are issued 
within 40 days of the student's last date of attendance 

2. The school shall have a written policy that clearly defines how the school determines 
whether or not credit hours will be accepted from another institution. This policy shall 
apply to all students. Provided, however, that nothing in this rule shall require a school to 
accept credit hours from another institution except as provided in the school's policy. 

3. The school shall provide each student with a written policy of a teach out program, or 
outline the student's options in the event the school closes for an extended period of 
time, such as by way of license revocation, natural disaster, or other unforeseen 
consequences. Schools are encouraged to partner with neighboring institutions to 
achieve the best outcome for students. 

(i) The school shall keep a copy of all tests, evaluations, or progress reports in the student's file. 
The student must initial any evaluation or progress reports. 

U)( Submit to the office of the Board, on the prescribed form, a monthly progress report on each 
student enrolled. The monthly reports must be received no later than the tenth (10th) of each 
month for the previous month's hours of instruction. If reports are not submitted by this date, a 
penalty set by the board will be issued for violation of this rule. 

(k) Upon yearly renewal of the school license the school shall submit a Board approved form 
disclosing changes to student enrollment contracts, or other school changes affecting students. 
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(I) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, any school operated under Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-
3-123 may develop courses of instruction and practice incorporating an apprenticeship 
curriculum, which allows an applicant to obtain fifty percent (50%) of the required hours for a 
specific license through classroom instruction and fifty percent (50%) of the required hours under 
the direct supervision and responsible charge of a licensed professional who meets the 
requirements set forth in this rule. Supervision hours received may not be used for credit for 
more than fifty percent (50%) of the required hours in any instruction subcategory (General, 
Chemical or Physical). 

1. Definitions 

(i) "Apprenticeship student" means a student enrolled in a school participating in an 
apprenticeship program with the intention of completing the school's curriculum 
under that school's apprenticeship program. 

(ii) "Supervising licensed professional" means a licensee in the field of study of an 
enrolled apprenticeship student who is in charge of supervising and accounting 
for the creditable activities of the student's apprenticeship program and providing 
the participating school with the student's apprenticeship activity record. 

(I) Any supervising licensed professional in responsible charge as provided 
in this rule shall have at least ten (10) years of experience as a licensed 
professional in the field of study in which the supervision is provided and 
shall hold a certificate of registration as both a master barber and barber 
instructor issued by the Board . The supervising licensed professional's 
license must be current at all times while providing supervision. 

(II) Each supervising licensed professional shall be the responsible charge 
of no more than one apprenticeship student. 

(iii) "Responsible charge" means a licensed professional in supervision of a student 
enrolled in an apprenticeship program curriculum, approved by the Board, and 
responsible for all aspects of that student's apprenticeship instruction. 

2. Apprenticeship students shall complete instructional hours and pass the initial theory 
examination prior to initiating apprenticeship activities in a salon, shop, or establishment. 
A student shall be actively enrolled in a licensed school in order to participate in an 
apprenticeship program. 

3. Any school offering an apprenticeship curriculum shall maintain a record of all hours 
completed under the apprenticeship program, including classroom hours, for which credit 
is awarded in a student's academic file. This record shall include the number of hours 
completed under direct supervision and responsible charge, the dates these hours were 
earned, the license number of the professional in responsible charge who directly 
supervised the student, and the signatures of both the student and the supervising 
licensed professional in responsible charge. 
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(i) The required records shall be maintained in the student's file and made available 
for inspection during the student's academic career, shall be maintained for a 
period of not less than seven (7) years after a student is no longer attending the 
providing school, and shall be made available to the Board immediately upon 
request during this time. 

(ii) A daily log accounting for all apprenticeship hours awarded under this chapter by 
any school offering an apprenticeship curriculum shall be maintained by the 
school and updated monthly. This log shall be made available for inspection at 
any time. 

(iii) This daily log shall be submitted to the approving school no later than the close 
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of business of the first (1st) day of the month for the previous month. 

(iv) Should an apprentice change salon, shop, establishment, or supervising licensed 
professional, a notarized transcript of the total hours accumulated shall be signed 
by the salon, shop, or establishment owner or manager, along with the 
supervising licensed professional, and submitted to the approving school within 
ten (10) days of the change. 

4. A participating school shall be responsible for confirming a supervising licensed 
professional's qualifications to be placed in responsible charge of an apprenticeship 
student as provided by this rule. 

(i) The participating school providing hours for supervised apprenticeship credit 
shall maintain documented proof of a supervising licensed professional's 
experience and a copy of the supervising licensed professional's current, valid 
Tennessee license. This documentation shall be maintained for a minimum of 
seven (7) years following the date that the supervising licensed professional last 
provided supervision for that school. 

(ii) Apprenticeship experience earned in any jurisdiction other than Tennessee may 
be considered for purposes of complying with this rule, provided that the 
supervising licensed professional was appropriately licensed in that jurisdiction at 
all times when responsible charge was provided for the purpose of earning credit. 
Proof of the supervising licensed professional's credentials must be provided by 
the transferring student candidate. 

(iii) The owner of the business providing the student an apprenticeship shall provide 
the school with a written acknowledgement accepting the student. 

(iv) Any salon, shop or establishment participating in an apprenticeship program shall 
provide a work station for the apprenticeship student. 

(v) The supervising licensed professional must notify the participating school that the 
apprentice is no longer under his or her supervision and submit a transcript of all 
hours completed within ten (10) days of termination of the apprenticeship. 

(vi) No participating school shall allow any person not appropriately licensed to 
provide any supervision for purposes of this rule, nor shall any participating 
school allow credit for hours under the supervision of unlicensed persons. 

5. Students enrolled in an apprenticeship program must complete their apprenticeship 
within one-and-one-half times the length of enrollment under the school's standard full 
time contract agreement. 

6. All students participating in an apprenticeship program in a licensed school must wear 
attire prescribed by the school and participating shop collectively. The student must wear 
a name tag identifying the student as an apprenticeship student and identifying the 
school under which the student is participating in the apprenticeship program. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-3-105, 62-3-123, and 62-3-128. 

Rule 0200-01-.13 (1) License Qualifications is amended deleting the paragraph and substituting the following 
language so that, as amended, the paragraph shall read: 

(1) Any person holding a valid Tennessee cosmetology license may appear before the board and request to 
sit for the Master Barber Exam. The board may approve the applicant to test if they: 

(a) Complete three hundred (300) barbering school hours at a registered barber college learning the 
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fundamentals of straight razor shaving and barbering technique. This student will be given credit 
for the remaining twelve (1200) hundred hours required to obtain a Tennessee master barber 
certification upon finishing the required three hundred (300) hours in a barber school, or 

(b) Have held their cosmetology license in Tennessee or another Jurisdiction with reciprocity with 
Tennessee for five continuous years. 

Rule 0200-1-.14 (2) Teacher Training Programs is amended by adding subparagraph (f) so that, as amended, the 
paragraph shall read: 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that the teacher training program 
submitted for approval will: 

(a) contain at least sixteen (16) hours of actual instruction; 

(b) emphasize teaching methodology for its entire duration; 

(c) restrict the size of classes sufficiently to ensure adequate attention to all participants; 

(d) proceed for not more than two (2) hours without a break; 

(e) prohibit demonstrations or presentations for commercial purposes in classrooms. Training 
programs may not sell, take orders, or in any way promote a product; and, 

(f) conform to professional standards as determined by the Board. This can be determined by, but 
not limited to, the following: fraud, unprofessional, immoral or dishonorable conduct, a violation of 
Tenn. Ann. Code§ 62-3 et. seq., or of any rules duly promulgated under this chapter, or failure to 
comply with a lawful order of the Board. 

Authority: T. C.A §§ 62-3-124 and 62-3-128 
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Chapter 0440-01 
Licensing 

Amendments 

Rule 0440-01-.03(5) Curriculum is amended by deleting the subparagraph and replacing with the following 
language, so that as amended the subparagraph shall read: 

(-a~-,-An-y-persoA-AoldiAg-a-valid-+ennessee-bar0erlisense-wiJJ-be-given-cr-edit-for-seveA-Aundred 
and fifty (750}clock hours/22,5 credithourstowardaTennessee cosmetology license, 

lnordertobe eligible forthiscredit;abarbermustbe enrolledinacosmetology 
school full time; a minimumtwenty-five{25)hours perweek,not to exceed-forty-eight(48}hours perweek, After 
the student has completed the first sevenhundred andfifty{750} clockhours/22,5 credit hours in a cosmetology 
school; the Board may applythesecond seven hundred and fifty {750}hours/22;5 credithours for the purpose of 
graduating-and-being-permitted-to-tak-ethe--cosmetology-examinat-ion-.-

(5) Any person holding a valid Tennessee Master Barber certification may appear before the bq__ard ~D...9. 
request to sit for the Cosmetology Exam. The board may approve the applicant to test if they: 

(a) 

(b) 

Complete three hundred (300) cosmetology school hours at a licensed cosmetology school 
learning the fundamentals of cosmetology technique and pedicuring. This student will be 
given credit for the remaining twelve (1200) hundred hours required to obtain a Tennessee 
cosmetology license upon finishing the required 300 hours in a cosmetology school; or 

Held a master barber registration in Tennessee or another jurisdiction with reciprocity with 
Tennessee for fiv(Ufil continuous years. 

Rule 0440-01-.05 Requirements for Schools is amended by deleting the rule in its entirety and substituting the 
following language so that, as amended, the rule shall read: 

ill Every school of cosmetology shall: 

(a) Publish readily available and clearly expressed admission policies and requirements; 

(b) Provide to prospective students (before enrollment) published materials which explain 
requirements for licensure as a cosmetologist, manicurist, instructor, shampoo technician, natural 
hair stylist, or aesthetician in the State of Tennessee; however, if a school is licensed to provide 
instruction solely in natural hair styling, manicuring or aesthetics, the school shall only be 
responsible for providing documentation relative to licensure in the field in which the school 
provides instruction. 

(c) Give a receipt to any student from whom money is collected by authorized school personnel; and 

(d) Submit to the office of the Board, on the prescribed form, a monthly progress report on each 
student enrolled. The monthly reports must be received no later than the tenth (10th) of each 
month for the previous month's hours of instruction. If reports are not submitted by this date, a 
penalty set by the Board will be issued for violation of this rule. 

(e) Teach a minimum ten percent (10%) of theory hours each week in each curriculum offered in a 
school. This requirement does not apply to students enrolled in an apprenticeship program 
authorized by this chapter. 

(2) 6PJ2lications to_ Of}erate New Schools:Any_person seekingjjcensure of a new_ school_ shall first_payjlle fee 
for licensure and submit to the board the followir1g: 

.,__,{ac.,.}_............:A~c=o=-py of the school's curriculum to be deemed acceptable by the board; 

(b) A sample copy of the school's catalog, brochure, enrollment agreement, and cancellation and 
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refund policies; 

(c) A backup method for logging hours that have been earned by students; and 

________ _i<iL ___ A plan to_keep a1L12art time andJuH.time student files separate .. 

(~ ·------- Transfers.J._ Cancellations and Refunds 

(4) 

(b) 

(c) 

@l _____ The_school shall maintain documentation that the_refunds owed_ to_students_are issued 
--.. ·--· within_ 45_ days of the last day of the student's attendance. 

The school shall have a written policy that clearly defines how the school determines whether or 
not credit hours will be accepted from another institution. This policy shall apply to all students. 
Nothing in this rule shall require a school to accept credit hours from another institution except as 
provided in the school's PQ)h 

The school shall provide each student with a written policy of a teach-out program, or outline the 
student's options in the event the school closes for an extended period of time, such as by way 
of license revocation, natural disaster, or other unforeseen consequences. Schools are 
encouraged to partner with neighboring institutions to achieve the best outcome for students. 

The school shall keep a copy of all tests, evaluations, or progress reports in the student's file. The student 
must initial any evaluation or progress reports. 

(5). Upon yearly renewal of license to operate the school shall submit a Board approved form disclosing 
changes to student enrollment agreements, or other school changes affecting students 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-4-105(e), 62-4-120 and 62-4-122. 

Rule 0440-01-.06 Enrollment of Students is amended by deleting the rule and substituting the the following 
language so that, as amended, the rule shall read: 

(1) Every licensed school of cosmetology shall maintain documentation of age and education in each 
student's file,. which evidences eligibility for enrollment under the terms of Tenn. Code Ann. §_62-4-122(a). 

(2) Every enrollment of a student in a school of cosmetology shall be evidenced by a written enrollment 
agreement which clearly details the rights and obligations of both parties. 

(3) The school shall: 

furnish to the student an executed copy of the enrollment agreement;-and 

maintain a copy of the agreement in the student's file7; and 

(a) 

(b) 

(c) keep copies of all receipts and payments the student has made or received in the student's files. 

(4) Every student enrollment agreement shall: 

(a) be signed and dated by the student and an authorized representative of the school; 

(b) specify the number of clock hours in the course of instruction and an approximate number of 
weeks or months required for completion; 

(c) identify all costs and charges which the student must bear; 

(d) indicate any grounds for termination of a student by the school; 

(e) state in clear and understandable language the school's refund policy; 
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(f) list any special conditions or requirements for graduation; aRd 

(g) contain an acknowledgment that the student has read and understands the agreement before 
making any payment thereunder7: 

{ hj ____ include the school's _discrimination and anti-harassment_policy~ 

{i) ________ include_p_AgBnumbers on each_Qa_ge_and __ be initialed by the_student on each page_;_and 

.(j)_____ contain a clearly defined __ poli_gy~n how the school_ will maintain sanitary code requirements and 
the student's role in maintaining those requirements, which must be based on the curriculum and 
industry practices; and 

(k) contain an initialed acknowledgement by the student that the student has received a full and true 
copy of the student enrollment agreement for their own personal records. 

(5) For students enrolling in teaching programs, the file shall contain documentation that the school notified 
the enrollee in writing that an applicant for an instructor's license must have been licensed for three (3) 
continuous years prior to applying for an instructor's license, along with any other qualifications that the 
legislature or the Board determines . 

.(fil(-5J All application information, including documentation and enrollment agreements required under this rule, 
shall be included in the student's file and made available for inspection by members or inspectors of the 
Board during business hours. 

illfet A student shall be actively enrolled in a licensed school in order to participate in an apprenticeship 
program. 

{§){7} An apprentice program must be completed within 150% of the time allowed for a student to complete a 
course of study under the school's standard, non-apprenticeship contract agreement. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-4-105(e), 62-4-120 and 62-4-122. 

Rule 0440-01-.11 (2) Teacher Training Programs is amended by adding subparagraph ill so that, as amended, 
the paragraph shall read: 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board that the teacher training program 
submitted for approval will: 

(a) contain at least sixteen (16) hours of actual instruction; 

(b) emphasize teaching methodology for its entire duration; 

(c) restrict the size of classes sufficiently to ensure adequate attention to all participants; 

(d) proceed for not more than two (2) hours without a break; 

(e) prohibit demonstrations or presentations for commercial purposes in classrooms. Training 
programs may not sell, take orders, or in any way promote a product; and 

{D conform to pJ:Qfessional standards __ as determine.Q__Qy_jhe Board. This. can be_ determined_by, 
_________ but_ not limited to...,_ the_followi_ng:_fraudL_unJ}rofessional immoral or dishonorable conduct,_ a 
__________ violation of Tenn. Ann. Code § 62-4 _et seq'-'- or of any_rules duly_p[Qmulgated under this ch@Jer.,_ 
or failure to comply with a lawful order of the board. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-4-105(e) and 62-4-114. 
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Chapter 0200-01 
Rules of the Barber Board 

Amendments 

Rule 0200-01-.02(4) Curriculum is amended by deleting the paragraph and substituting the following paragraph 
so that, as amended, the paragraph shall read: 

(4) Every barber school shall: 

(a) 

(b) 

(c) 

Publish readily available and clearly expressed admission policies and requirements; 

Provide to prospective students (before enrollment) published materials which explain 
requirements for licensure as a master barber, barber technician, and barber instructor in the 
State of Tennessee; 

Provide each enrolled student with: 

1. the school's discrimination and anti-harassment policy; 

2. a contract with page numbers for each page and space on each page for the student to 
initial· 

3. a clearly defined policy on how the school will maintain sanitary code requirements and 
-----· the student's role in_maintalolrrg_those_requirements" which must be based on the 
----··-----·---- curriculum and industr_y_piactice_§_;__and 

-------·----- 4. _________ an initialed acknowlfil!gement b_y the student that the student has received_a full and .. true __ 
-----·----·- co_py_of the student enrollment_fillreem_ent for their own..Qfil_sonal records . 

.(g}{Gf Give a receipt to any student from whom money is collected by authorized school personnel; and 

(e) Provide the Board with a sample copy of the school's catalog, brochure, enrollment contract, and 
cancellation and refund policies as a part of their school license application 

(f) Have a backup method for logging hours that have been earned by students; 

(g) Keep all part time and full time student files separate 

(h) Transfers. Cancellations and Refunds 

(i) 

1. The school shall maintain documentation that the refunds owed to students are issued 
within 40 days of the student's last date of attendence 

2. The school shall have a written policy that clearly defines how the school determines 
whether or not credit hours will be accepted from another institution. This policy shall 
apply to all students. Provided, however, that nothing in this rule shall require a school to 
accept credit_hours from another institution exce_p~pJQvided in the_school's_Qo!J.gy~ 

_3. ___ __.Ihe._§9_1]901 shalj_Qrovide eact].__5-.t_ud~D_L"Yltt:La~lj!!§D_Policy of a teach out prQ9IslJ!!, __ 9J 
___ outline the student's options in the event the school _doses Jar_ an extend~riod of 

time such-· as __ by. way_ of __ license revocation, natural_ disaster.__o_r_ other unforeseen 
·-· ___ , ____ consequences._ Schools_ are_ encouraged to partner with __ nejghboring__institutions to 

achieve the best outcome for students. 

The school shall keep a copy of all tests, evaluations, or progress reports in the student's file. 
The student must initial any evaluation or progress reports. 
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illi4 Submit to the office of the Board, on the prescribed form, a monthly progress report on each 
student enrolled. The monthly reports must be received no later than the tenth (10th) of each 
month for the previous month's hours of instruction. If reports are not submitted by this date, a 
penalty set by the board will be issued for violation of this rule. 

(k) Upon yearly renewal of_the_ school license _the school shall submit a Board approved form 
disclosing changes to student enrollment contracts, or other school changes affecting students. 

(I) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, any school operated under Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-
3-123 may develop courses of instruction and practice incorporating an apprenticeship 
curriculum. which allows an applicant to obtain fifty percent (50%) of the required hours for a 
specific license through classroom instruction and fifty percent (50%) of the required hours under 
the direct supervision and responsible charge of a licensed professional who meets the 
requirements set forth in this rule. Supervision hours received may not be used for credit for 
more than fifty percent (50%) of the required hours in any instruction subcategory (General, 
Chemical or Physical). 

1. Definitions 

2. 

3. 
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(i) 

(ii) 

(iii) 

"Apprenticeship student" means a student enrolled in a school participating in an 
apprenticeship program with the intention of completing the school's curriculum 
under that school's apprenticeship program. 

"Supervising licensed professional" means a licensee in the field of study of an 
enrolled apprenticeship student who is in charge of supervising and accounting 
for the creditable activities of the_student's app;:enticesh[p..QrQgram an<j_Qroviding 
theJ2§!1ic[patin_g school with the student's apprenticeship activity record. 

fD ____ At1y3iupBrvising_ licensed_pJofessional in _relWsmsible charge as _prnvided 
in _this _rule __ shall have at leastJen_(.1 O)_yJ;ars of e)illerience_ as_a licensed 
professional in the field_of study in which the supervision is provided and 
shall hold a certificate of registration as both a master barber and barber 
instructor issued by the Board . The supervising licensed professional's 
license must be current at all times while providing supervision. 

(11) Each supervising licensed professional shall be the responsible charge 
of no more than one apprenticeship student. 

"Responsible charge" means a licensed professional in supervision of a student 
enrolled in an apprenticeship program curriculum, approved by the Board, and 
responsible for all aspects of that student's apprenticeship instruction. 

Apprenticeship students shall complete instructional hours and pass the initial theory 
examination prior to initiating apprenticeship activities in a salon, shop, or establishment. 
A student shall be actively enrolled in a licensed school in order to participate in an 
apprenticeship program. 

Any school offering an apprenticeship curriculum shall maintain a record of all hours 
_g.9_rri.pLaj_E::1Q_~11dec_the ap_pre_111[9_e_$/Jjp_Q~assroom hours, for which cr§Qi.! 
is awarded in a_student's academicJile. __ This record _shall include the _number of hours 
com_pleted under directyUJ)ervision and resp.9nsible charge, the dates these __ hours_ were 
earneg_,_ the license number of the prnfessional in responsible charge_ who directly 
supervised the student,__and the sjgnatures of both the student and the SUJ}ervising 
licensed_professional in resppnsible charge. 

(i) The required records shall be maintained in the student's file and made available 
for inspection during the student's academic career, shall be maintained for a 
period of not less than seven (7) years after a student is no longer attending the 
providing school, and shall be made available to the Board immediately upon 
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4. 

5. 

(ii) 

request during this time. 

A daily log accounting for all apprenticeship hours awarded under this chapter by 
any school offering an apprenticeship curriculum shall be maintained by the 
school_ and LjRdated monthly~ This lo_g. shall be made available for inspection at 
a.ny timB..:. 

(iiJ.L ____ This dailt IQ9 shall be .. submitted to the_§p...PfQ\ILn_g~hool no later than the close 
of business of the first ( 1 s.1)__dayJ)f the. month for the previous month. 

(iv) Should an apprentice change salon, shop, establishment, or supervising licensed 
professional, a notarized transcript of the total hours accumulated shall be si9..D..fil! 
by the salon, shop, or establishment owner or manager, along with the 
supervising licensed professional, and submitted to the approving school within 
ten (10) days of the change. 

A participating school shall be responsible for confirming a supervising licensed 
professional's qualifications to be placed in responsible charge of an apprenticeship 
student as provided by this rule. 

(i) The participating school providing hours for supervised apprenticeship credit 
shall maintain documented proof of a supervising licensed professional's 
experience and a copy of the supervising licensed professional's current, valid 
Tennessee license. This documentation shall be maintained for a minimum of 
seven (7) years following the date that the supervising licensed professional last 
provided supervision for that school. 

.01) _ _6pprentice_$h_i_p_~..§fl~Of§_§~ne_gjo__a_oyjurl§diction other than Tennessee m§Y 
be considered foI__P_urposes of complyJIJ.9 with this rule, __ p,rovided that the 
su2ervisi1J.9 licensed_pJQfessional was ap_prQPJjatelyjicensed in thatlurisdiction at 
all times when responsible char.9e was_provided for the pl!!])ose of earning credit. 
Proof of the supBrvisin_g_licensed .PJOfessional's. credentials must be provided b_y 
the transferrin_g student candidate. 

(iii) 

(iv) 

(v) 

(vi) 

The owner of the business providing the student an apprenticeship shall provide 
the school with a written acknowledgement accepting the student. 

Any salon, shop or establishment participating in an apprenticeship program shall 
provide a work station for the apprenticeship student. 

The supervising licensed professional must notify the participating school that the 
apprentice is no longer under his or her supervision and submit a transcript of all 
hours completed within ten (10) days of termination of the apprenticeship. 

No participating school shall allow any person not appropriately licensed to 
provide any supervision for purposes of this rule, nor shall any participating 
school allow credit for hours under the supervision of unlicensed persons. 

Students enrolled in an apprenticeship program must complete their apprenticeship 
within one-and-one-half times the length of enrollment under the school's standard full 
time contract agreement. 

6~. -~A~II ~st.udents_participatingin_an .. ap2renticeship_prQ.9ram in a licensed school must wear 
atti@..J)JeSCfibed _by_ the school .and _participatin_g_ shop_ collectively. The student must wear 
a. name .. tagjdentifyjng the student as an ... apprnnticeshlP student ... and .. identifyJn_g__the 
school under which the student i§...P13rticipatiJJ.9 in the aP.PI.,enticeshjpprogram. 

Authority: TC.A§§ 62-3-105, 62-3-123, and 62-3-128. 
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Rule 0200-01-.13 (1) License Qualifications is amended deleting the paragraph and substituting the following 
language so that, as amended, the paragraph shall read: 

(4)-Any-person ho Id i ng-a-val-iEl--+en-nessee-rosmetolog~isense-wi+I-J:}e-givefl--GfOO#-f-er-seve n hundred fifty 
{+50t-hour-stoward-obtaining-a-+ennessee-l:}ar-0er....Jicense, 

(-aHn-0rder-to-be-eJig-ible-.for-theabove,-a-cosmetologist-mustbe-.enrolled-~na-barber--school-full--t~me, 
minimum-of-six-(6t-hours,-rnax+n1t1m-of-eight-(-8}-per-daya-After-the-stt1dent-has-con1pleted--their 
first-seven-hoodred-fifty-{+50)-hot1rs--in--a-bar-0er-school,-the--Boardwill-apply--the-second-sev.en 
hundred-fifty-f75Q}-hot1r-s-for-the-purpose-or-gradt1ating-and--being-permitteGl-to-take-the-Master 
Barber examination, 

(1) Any person holding a valid Tennessee cosmetology license may appear before the board and request to 
sit for the Master Barber Exam. The board may approve the applicant to test if they: 

(a) Complete three hundred (300) barbering school hours at a registered barber college learning the 
fundamentals of straight razor shaving and barbering technique. This student will be given credit 
for the remaining twelve (1200) hundred hours required to obtain a Tennessee master barber 
certification upon finishing the required three hundred (300) hours in a barber school, or 

(b) Have held their cosmetology license in Tennessee or another Jurisdiction with reciprocity with 
Tennessee for five continuous years. 

Rule 0200-1-.14 (2) Teacher Training Programs is amended by adding subparagraph (f) so that, as amended, the 
paragraph shall read: 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that the teacher training program 
submitted for approval will: 

(a) 

(b) 

(c) 

(d) 

(e) 

(f) 

contain at least sixteen (16) hours of actual instruction; 

emphasize teaching methodology for its entire duration; 

restrict the size of classes sufficiently to ensure adequate attention to all participants; 

proceed for not more than two (2) hours without a break; and 

prohibit demonstrations or presentations for commercial purposes· in classrooms. Training 
programs may not sell, take orders, or in any way promote a product; and, 

conform to professional standards as determined by the Board. This can be determined by, but 
not limited to, the following: fraud, unprofessional, immoral or dishonorable conduct. a violation of 
Tenn. Ann. Code§ 62-3 et. seq., or of any rules duly promulgated under this chapter, or failure to 
comply with a lawful order of the Board. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 62-3-124 and 62-3-128 

SS-7037 (July 2014) 
9 

RDA 1693 


