
Notice of Rulemaking Hearing
Department of Commerce and Insurance

Division of Regulatory Boards
Tennessee State Board of Accountancy

There will be a hearing before the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy to consider the promulgation of
amendments of rules pursuant to T.C.A. {i 62-l-105. The hearing will be conducted in the manner
prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A. $ 4-5-204 and will take place in Room
640 of the Davy Crockett Tower located at 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, Tennessee at l:30
p.m. (Central Time) on the lSth day of November,2005.

Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these filings)
should contact the Department of Commerce and Insurance to discuss any auxiliary aids of services needed

to facilitate such participation. Such initial contact may be made no less than ten (10) days prior to the

to determine how it may reasonably provide such aid or service. Initial contact may be made with Don
Coleman, the Departmént's ADA Coordinator, at 500 James Robertson Parkway, 5'h Floor, Nashville,
Tennessee 37243 at (615) 741-0481.

For a copy of this notice of rulemaking hearing, contact: Linda Biek, 500 James Robertson Parkway, 2nd

Floor, Nashville, TN 37243-ll4l, Tennessee State Board of Accountancy, (615) 741-2550.

Substance of Proposed Rules

Chapter 0020-1
Board of Accountancy, Licensing and Registration Requirements

Subparagraph (c) orparagraph (l) orrute ,rrrï;::Ï amended by deleting the text of the
subparagraph and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, subparagraph (c) shall read:

(1) (c) Renewal of certificate or registration Sixty dollars ($60.00) per year or one
hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) biennially

Authority: T.C.A, $ 62-l-105(e).

Rule 0020-1-.05 Applications is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting
instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020- I -.05 Applications.

(l) Applications to take the Certified Public Accountant Examination must be made on a form
provided by the Board or its designee and filed with the Board or its designee by a due date
specified by the Board or its designee in the application form. All applications for initial
examination or reexamination shall be accompanied by the current fee being charged by the Board
or such entity as is approved by the Board.

(2) An application will not be considered filed until the application fee and examination fee required
by these rules and all required supporting documents have been received, including proof of
identity as determined by the Board and specified on the application form, official transcripts and
proof that the candidate has satisfied the education requirement.

(3) A candidate who fails to appear for the examination shall forfeit all fees charged for both the
application and the examination.
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(4) The Board or its designee will forward notification of eligibility for the computer-based
examination to NASBA's National Candidate Database.

Authority: T.C.A. {)$ 62-l-105(e) and 62-l-106.

Rule 0020-1-.06 Examinations is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting
instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020- I -.06 Examinations.

(l) The examination required by T.C.A. $62-l-106(d) shall test the knowledge and skills required for
performance as an entry-level certified public accountant. The examination shall include the
subject areas of accounting and auditing and related knowledge and skills as the Board may

(2) Eligible candidates shall be notified of the time and place of the examination or shall
independently contact the Board, or its designee, or a test center operator identified by the Board
to schedule the time and place for the examination at an approved test site. Scheduling
reexaminations must be made in accordance with (7) (a)2 below.

The Board shall cause the examination for certification to be graded by the AICPA. The Board
may recognize the grades assigned by the AICPA. Applicants may request a grade review if the
Board permits such, and the applicant pays whatever administrative charges that are assessed for a

grade review.

A candidate shall be required to pass all test sections of the examination provided for in T.C.A. {i

62-l-106(d) in order to qualify for a certificate. The uniform passing grade shall be esøblished
through a psychometrically acceptable standard-setting procedure and approved by the Board.

The notification given to the exam candidate regarding the grades and requirements that the
candidate must achieve to pass a particular exam shall govern the grading of that exam.

All examination candidates who took a written examination prior to April, 2004 shall be required
to pass all sections of the examination provided for in T.C.A. $62-1-106(d), in order to quali$r for
a certificate.

The following shall apply to the computer-based Uniform CPA Examination:

(a) Candidates may take the required test sections individually and in any order. Credit for
any test section(s) passed shall be valid for six (6) three-month exam cycles, without
having to attain a minimum score on any failed test section(s) and without regard to
whether the candidate has taken the remaining test sections.

l. Candidates must pass all four (4) test sections of the Uniform CPA Examination within
the next six (6) three-month exam cycles.

2. Candidates cannot retake a failed test section(s) in the same examination window. An
examination window refers to a three-month cycle in which candidates have an
oppornrnity to take the CPA examination (comprised of two (2) months in which the
examination is available to be taken and one (1) month in which the examination will not
be offered while routine maintenance is performed and the item bank is refreshed).
Candidates may take the examination for two (2) out of the three (3) months within an

examination window.

(3)

(4)
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3. In the event a candidate does not pass all four (4) test sections ofthe Uniform CPA
Examination within the next six (6) three-month cycles, credit for any test section(s)
passed outside the six (6) three-month cycles will expire and that test section(s) must be
retaken.

Candidates having earned conditional credits on the written examination, as of the start
date of the computer-based Uniform CPA Examination, will retain conditional credits.
"Conditional credits" means credits earned by a candidate from the written exam that are

credited toward the computerized exam. The following conditional credits are for the
corresponding test sections of the computer-based CPA examination:

(b)

Financial Accounting and Reporting
(FARE)

Accounting and Reporting (ARE)

Business Law and Professional
Responsibilities (LPR)

l. A candidate who has attained conditional credits as of the start date of the computer-
based Uniform CPA Examination will be allowed a transition period to complete any
remaining test sections of the CPA examination. The transition is the maximum number
of opportunities remaining that candidates who have conditioned under the written
examination have rcmaining, at the launch of the computer-based examination, to
complete all remaining test sections, or the number of remaining opportunities under the
written examination, multiplied by six (6) months, whichever is fust exhausted.

If a candidate with conditional credits does not pass all remaining test sections during the
transition period, the conditional credits earned under the paper-and-pencil examination
will expire and the candidate will lose credit for the test sections earned under the paper-

and-pencil examination. Any test section(s) passed during the transition period is subject
to the conditional provisions indicated in this section. However, a candidate with
conditional credits will not lose credit for a test section of the computer-based
examination that is passed during the transition period, even though more than six (6)
three-month cycles may have elapsed from the date the test section is passed, until the
end of the transition period.

A candidate shall retain credit for any and all test sections ofan examination passed in
another state ifsuch credit would have been given, under then applicable requirements, if
the candidate had taken the examination in this state.

The Board may in particular cases extend the term of conditional credit notwithstanding
the requirements of these rules, upon a showing that the credit was lost by reason of
circumstances beyond the candidate's control.

A candidate shall be deemed to have passed the Uniform CPA Examination once the
candidate holds at the same time valid credit for passing each of the four (4) test sections
of the examination. For purposes of this section, credit for passing a test section of the
computer based examination is valid from the actual date of the testing event for that test
section, regardless ofthe date the candidate actually receives notice ofthe passing grade.

Comnrfer-Ra sed F.x¡m inaf ion

Financial Accounting and

Reporting (FAR)

Regulation (REG)

Business Environment and

Concepts (BEC)

(c)

(d)

(e)



(8) An applicant may be required to pass an examination covering the rules of ethics and professional
conduct promulgated by the Board. Such examination may be part of the examination required in
T.C.A. {i 62-l-106(d) or may be a separate examination.

The Board may provide for a third party administering the examination to charge each applicant a
fee for each section of the examination or reexamination taken by the applicant.

The candidate shall schedule each test section with the Board or its designee and pay a candidate
testing fee that includes the actual fees charged by the AICPA, NASBA, and the Test Delivery
Service Provider.

(e)

(10)

(11) Notwithstanding any other provisions under these rules, the Board may postpone scheduled
examinations, release of grades, or the issuance of certificates due to a breach of examination
secrrrifr¡ rrnqrrfhnrizcd qcnrricifìnn nr ãìcnlncrtrc nf fhe nn¡fc¡fc nf qn cwqminalinn srrsncnfcÁ nr

actual negligence, errors, omrssrons, or irregularities in conducting an examination, or for any
other reasonable cause or unforeseen circumstance.

Authority: T.C.A. {i {i 62- I - I 05 (eX9) and 62-l -106.

Subparagraph (a) of paragraph (2) of rule 0020-l-,07 Cheating is amended by deleting the text of the
subparagraph, and by deleting the text of paragraph (5), and substituting instead the following, so that, as

amended, subparagraph (2)(a) and paragraph (5) of rule 0020-l-.07 shall read:

0020-r-.07(2)(a)

(2) (a) Falsifuing or misrepresenting educational credentials, candidate identification, or other
information required for admission to the examination;

0020-1-.07(s)

(5) In any case where the Board or its representative permits a candidate to continue taking the
examination, it may, depending on the circumstances:

(a) Admonish the candidate;

(b) Keep a record of the candidate's seat location and identifuing information, and the names
and identiffing information of the candidates in close proximity of the candidate;

(c) Notifu the National Candidate Database and the AICPA and/or the test center of the

circumstances, so that the candidate may be more closely monitored in future
examination sessions.

Authority: T.C.A. {i62-1-105.

Rule 0020-l-.08 Renewal of Licenses is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and
substituting instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-l-.08 Renewal of Licenses.

(l) All even numbered licenses shall expire on December 3l of each even numbered year and all odd
numbered licenses shall expire on December 31 of each odd numbered year. All licenses may be
renewed at any time during the month of December in the year in which they expire, by submitting
to the Board a completed biennial renewal form and the appropriate fee. For the purpose of this
rule the license ID number shall be used.
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(2) An individual or frm choosing not to renew his, her or its license shall notiff the Board of his, her
or its intention prior to the expiration of that license, and shall surrender the license to the Board
immediately upon its expiration.

(3) Applications for the renewal of certificates and registrations pursuant to the Act shall be made on a

form provided by the Board and shall be filed no later than the expiration date set by these rules.
Applications will not be considered filed until the applicable fee prescribed in these rules is
received.

(4) Applications for renewal of certificates or registrations shall be accompanied by evidence
satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has complied with the continuing professional
education requirements under T.C.A. $ 62-1-107(d) and Chapter 0020-5 of the Board's rules.

(5) The Board may request additional evidence from licensees for continuing professional education

completion documentation). Listings of CPE courses on renewal forms are required; however, the
listings are not considered evidence for this rule.

(6) Licensees that renew more than thirty-one (31) days but less than three (3) months following their
expiration date will be assessed a late penalty.

(7) Licensees that renew more than three (3) months but less than one (1) year after their expiration
date will be assessed an additional late penalty.

(8) Licenses not renewed within (l) year of the expiration date shall be deemed to have lapsed. Any
individual desiring to reinstate a lapsed license shall comply with the requirements of paragraph

four (4) of this rule and paragraph frve (5) of rule 0020-5-.03. The CPE hours required to be

completed to reinstate a lapsed license are considered penalty hours and may not be used to offset
the CPE hours required for renewal of a license,

Authority: T.C.A. {) $ 62- I - I 05, 62-l -107, 62- I - I 08, 62-l -109, and 62-l -l I I .

Rule 0020-1-.10 Reinstatement of Revoked or Suspended Licenses is amended by deleting the text of the
rule in its entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-l-.10 Reinstatement of Revoked or Suspended Licenses.

(1) A certified public accountant or public accountant whose license has been revoked or suspended
and who wishes to reinstate the license shall submit to the Board an application for reinstatement

ofsuch license accompanied by the appropriate fee.

(2) Such application shall consist of a signed and acknowledged petition which shall set forth in full
the circumstances surrounding the revocation or suspension of the applicant's license, the

applicant's reasons for seeking reinstatement, and any other information the applicant wishes to
bring to the attention of the Board.

(3) Such application shall be submitted to the Board at its next meeting and evaluated and reviewed
for presentation at the following meeting.

(4) In considering an application the Board may consider all activities of the applicant since the
revocation or suspension was imposed, the offense for which the applicant was disciplined, the

applicant's activities during the time the license was in good standing, the applicant's rehabilitative
efforts, the applicant's restitution to damaged parties in the matter for which the discipline was

imposed, and the applicant's general reputation for truth and professional probity. The Board may
also question the applicant, complainant or individual injured by the applicant.
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(5) After consideration of the applicant's petition, the Board may in its sound discretion reinstate any
revoked or suspended license. The Board shall notify such applicant ofits decision in writing.

(6) The Board may impose appropriate terms and conditions for reinstatement of a license or
modification of a revocation, suspension or probation.

(7) No application for reinstatement will be considered while the applicant is under sentence for any
criminal offense, including any period during which the applicant is on court imposed probation or
parole.

(8) A certified public accountant or public accountant whose license has been suspended must meet
all continuing professional education and renewal fee requirements during the term of the
suspenslon.

Arrfhorifv: T C A ô862-l -1 05 62-1-l07lc). and 62-1-118.

Rule 0020-1-.11 Application and Renewal of CPA and PA Firm Permits is amended by deleting the text of
the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-l-.1I Application and Renewal of CPA and PA Firm Permits.

(1) Each CPA andlor PA firm providing accounting services or engaged in the practice of public
accountancy in this state as a sole proprietorship, partnership or corporation ofcertified public
accountants and/or public accountants shall obtain a permit from the Board for each office location
for the ensuing calendar year. Applications for initial issuance and for renewal of permits pursuant
to the Act shall be made on a form provided by the Board and, in the case of applications for
renewal, shall be filed no earlier than two (2) months prior to and no later than the expiration date.

(2) All CPA and PA firm permits shall expire annually on December 31. Initial applications and
renewals will not be considered filed until the applicable fee and all required documents
prescribed in these Rules are received by the Board. If an application for renewal is filed late, it
shall also be accompanied by the appropriate late renewal penalty.

(3) Initial applications and renewals for each office location shall disclose the following information
and shall be signed by the resident manager of the office location.

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

The name of the firm;

The frrm's organizational structure;

The address of the office location;

The name and address of each individual with an equity or voting interest in the firm;

A listing of the percentage of equity ownership and voting rights of each owner of the
firm;

The percentage of time each non-CPA owner spends working at the firm;

The name, address, and certificate number of each certified public accountant or public
accountant employed at the office location;

The name, address and certificate number of the resident manager of the office location;

(Ð

(e)

(h)
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(Ð The name and certihcate number of each person responsible for supervising or providing
attest services as contemplated by T.C.A. $ 62-l-108(c)(2). The firm's initial application
must include a completed experience affidavit for each of these individuals; and

0) The type of peer review program in which the firm participates along with a copy of the
reviewer's report and the acceptance letter from the last review.

(4) Every office location shall comply with the current statutes and rules of the Tennessee State Board
ofAccountancy.

(5) This rule is applicable to offices located outside of this søte where such offices are engaged in the
practice of public accountancy as CPA firms in this state through any person(s) holding a

reciprocal certificate.

Authoritv: T.C.A. ô ô 62- I - I 05 ^ 62- I - I 08. 62-l -l I I h\( 12), aú 62-l -l 13.

Paragraph (1) of rule 0020-l-.12 Notification of Firm Changes is amended by deleting the text of the
paragraph and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (1) of rule 0020-l-.12 shall
read:

(l) Firms established pursuant to T.C.A. {){)62-1-108 and/or 62-l-109 shall file with the Board a
written notification of any of the following events concerning the practice of public accountancy

within this State within thirty (30) days after its occurrence:

(a) Formation of a new firm;

(b) Addition of a partner, member or shareholder;

(c) Retirement, withdrawal or death of a partner, member, manager or shareholder;

(d) Any change in the name of the firm;

(e) Dissolution of the firm;

(Ð Change in the management of any offrce location registered in this State;

(g) Establishment of a new office location providing accounting services in this state or the

closing or change ofaddress ofan office location registered in this State; and

(h) The occurrence of any event or events which would cause such firm not to be in
conformity with the provisions of the Act or these Rules.

Authority: T.C.A. $ $62- 1 - I 05, 62-l-108, 62-l-lll (aX I 1 ) and 62- I - I l4(c).

Rule 0020-1-.13 Reciprocity and Substantial Equivalency is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its
entirety and substituting instead the following, so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-1-. l3 Interstate Practice.

(l) These rules provide two distinct routes for an individual already licensed in another state to be

authorized to practice in this state. The applicable route depends upon whether the individual will
establish a principal place of business in this state. An individual establishing a principal place of
business in this state may qualiff for a reciprocal license if the applicant has met the requirements
of T.C.A. $62-l-107. An individual with a principal place of business in another state may offer or
render services in this state if the applicant has met the requirements of T.C.A. i62-l-117.
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Fees

(a) An individual intending to practice public accountancy in Teruressee under T.C.A. |i62-1-
I l7 shall make application and file a notice of such intent with the Board's designee,
NASBA. The application shall be accompanied by the applicable nonrefundable fee.

(b) Alternatively, an individual CPA may choose to file a notification form with the Board
office, in lieu ofobtaining a license, stating the intent to practice public accountancy in
Tennessee. The individual CPA must be in good sønding and licensed in any other state.
The CPA may practice in this marurer as long as the individual does not reside in
Tennessee and pays the Board an annual fee as determined by the Board. Such individual
shall comply with the law and rules of Tennessee and are subject to disciplinary action by
the Board. Each notice shall be accompanied by the greater of a nonrefundable fee of
fifty dollars ($50.00) or an amount equal to that charged for the same privilege to the
lieenceec nffhis sfafe hr¡ fhe in¡lirridrralts stefe nflicens¡rre

(c) An application for a reciprocal certificate shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of
one hundred dollars ($100.00).

(d) The fee for issuance ofan initial reciprocal certificate shall be one hundred dollars
($1oo.oo).

(e) The fee for biennial renewal ofa reciprocal certificate shall be one hundred dollars
($l20.oo).

(3) Holders of reciprocal certificates shall comply with the continuing education requirements
contained in Chapter 0020-5, and shall comply with all other requirements of the statutes and rules
governing the practice of public accountancy within the State of Tennessee.

Authority: T.C.A. (i$62-l-105,62-l-107,62-I-110,62-l-lll,62-l-114,and62-l-117.

Chapter 0020-2
Educational and Experience Requirements

Amendments

Paragraphs (5) and (6) of rule 0020-2-.01Recognized Colleges and Universities are amended by deleting
the text of each paragraph in its entirety and substituting instead the following, so that, as amended,
paragraphs (5) and (6) of rule 0020-2-.01shall read:

(5) Ifan applicant's degree was received at an accredited college or university as defined in
paragraphs 3 and 4 of this rule, but the education program used to qualify the applicant included
courses taken at either a two-year or non-accredited institution before or after graduation, such
courses will be deemed to have been taken at the accredited institution from which the applicant's
baccalaureate degree was received; provided, however, that the courses were either accepted by
virtue of inclusion in an ofhcial transcript or by certification to the Board.

(6) A graduate of a four-year degree-granting institution which was not accredited at the time the
applicant's degree was received or at the time of filing the application will be recognized by the
Board as a gradtate of a four year accredited college or university, provided:

(a) A credential evaluation service approved by the Board certifies that the applicant's
degree is equivalent to a degree from an accredited educational institution defined in
subsection (3) ofparagraph (b); or
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(b) l. An accredited educational institution, as defined in paragraphs 2 and 3 of this rule,
accepts the applicant's non-accredited baccalaureate degree for admission to a
degree program;

2. The applicant satisfactorily completes at least fifteen (15) semester or twenty-two
(22) quarter hours in post-baccalaureate education at the accredited educational
institution, of which at least nine (9) semester or thirteen (13) quarter hours shall be
in accounting; and

3. The accredited college or university certifies that the applicant is in good standing
for continuation in the graduate program or has maintained a grade point average in
these courses that is necessary for graduation.

Authority: T.C.A. (i (i5 8-3 08, 62- I - I 05(e)(3), 62-l -106, and 62-l -l ll (12).

Rule 0020-2-.02 Education is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead
the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-2-.02 Education.

(1) (a) An applicant will be deemed to have met the educational requirement if the applicant has
earned a baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited educational institution and
obtained the minimum number of hours required by Tenn. Code Ann. g 62-l-106(c)
which includes:

1. At least twenty-four (24) semester or thirty-six (36) quarter hours of accounting
education including the elementary level;

2. Not more than three (3) semester or four (4) quarter hours may be internship
programs which may be applied to the twenty-four (24) semester hours or thirty-six
(36) quarter hours in accounting; and

3. At least twenty-four (24) semester or thirty-six (36) quarter hours in general business
education in one (1) or more of the following:

(Ð Algebra,Calculus,Statistics,Probability

(iÐ Business Communication

(iiÐ Business Law

(iv) Economics

(v) Ethics

(vi) Finance

(vii) Management

(viii) Technology/Information Systems

(ix) Marketing

l. For purposes of this rule, accounting hours, other than elementary courses, above the
minimum requirement may be substituted for general business education.

(b)
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2. For purposes of this rule, candidates must have at least twelve (12) semester or
eighteen (l 8) quarter hours of accounting education and at least twelve ( 1 2) semester
or eighteen (18) quarter hours ofgeneral business courses at the upper division level,
junior level courses or higher.

3 . For purposes of this rule, one ( I ) graduate hour from a recognized college or
university will count as one and one half (1.5) credit hours.

Authority: T.C.A. $ (i 62- I - I 05 (eX3) and 62-l -106.

Subparagraph (b) of paragraph (1) of rule 0020-2-.03 Experience is amended by deleting the text of the
subparagraph in its entirety and replacing it with the following language so that, as amended, subparagraph
(b) of paragraph (l) of rule 0020-2-.03 shall read:

(l) (b) The applicant shall have his or her experience verified to the Boa¡dby a licensee as

defined in the Act or a licensee from another state. Acceptable experience shall include
employment in industry, government, academia or public practice. In evaluating
experience, the Board shall consider such factors as the complexity and diversity of the
work.

Authority: T.C.A. $ $62- I - I 05(eX3), 62- I - I 0 6, 62-l -107, and 62- 1- I 08.

Chapter 0020-3
Rules of Professional Conduct

Amendments

Paragraph (l) of rule 0020-3-.02 Applicability is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in its
entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (1) of rule 0020-3-.02 shall
read:

(l) The provisions of this Chapter shall apply to all professional services performed in the practice of
public accountancy or in the provision ofaccounting services, and shall apply to all licensees
except:

(a) Where the wording of a rule indicates otherwise; and

(b) That a licensee who is practicing public accountancy outside the United States will not be
subject to disciplinary action by the Board for departing from any of the provisions of
this chapter as long as the licensee's conduct is in accord with the standards of
professional conduct applicable to the practice ofpublic accountancy in the country in
which the licensee is practicing. However, where a licensee's name is associated with
financial statements under circumstances which would entitle the reader to assume that
United States practices are followed, the licensee shall comply with rules within this
chapter.

Authority: T.C.A. $$62-l-105 and 62-l-11l.

Rule 0020-3-.03 Independence is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting
instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-3-.03 Independence.
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A licensee in the performance of professional services, including those who are not members of
the AICPA, shall conform to the independence standards established by the AICPA, and where
applicable, the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, the General Accounting
Office and other regulatory or professional standards setting bodies.

Authority: T.C.A. (i $ 62- I - I 05(eX4) and 62-l -l I l.

Paragraphs (2), (3), (4) and (5) of rule 0020-3-.05 Contingent Fees, Commissions and Other Consideration
are amended by deleting the text of the paragraphs in their entirety and substituting instead the following so
that, as amended, paragraphs (2), (3), (4) and (5) of rule 0020-3-.05 shall read:

(2) A licensee shall neither pay any consideration or commission to obtain a client nor accept any
consideration or commission when the licensee or the licensee's firm also performs for that client

in which the licensee is engaged to perform any of the listed services and the period covered by
any historical financial statements involved in such listed services.

A licensee who is not prohibited by this rule from performing services for or receiving
consideration or a commission and who is paid or expects to be paid consideration or a
commission shall disclose thatfact, in compliance with the requirements of T.C.A. $62-l-122 and
Rule 0020-3-.06, to any person to whom the licensee recommends or refers a product or service to
which the commission or consideration relates.

Any licensee who accepts consideration or a commission for a referral fee shall disclose such
acceptance or payment to the client in compliance with the requirements of T.C.A. $62-l-22 and
Rule 0020-3-.06.

(3)

(4)

(5) A licensee shall not receive or agree to receive a contingent fee from a client for the following:

(a) Performance ofany professional services for a client for whom the licensee or person
associated with the licensee performs any of the services listed in T.C.A. $62-1-
123(bX1XA) through (C); or

(b) Preparation ofan original tax return.

This prohibition applies during the period in which the licensee is engaged to perform any of the
listed services and the period covered by any historical financial statements involved related to
such services.

Authority: T.C.A. {i $ 62- l - I 05, 62-l -l I l, 62- | -122 and 62-l -123.

Rule 0020-3-.06 Disclosures is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting
instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-3-.06 Disclosures.

(1) A licensee who is not prohibited from performing services or receiving consideration or a
commission and who is paid or expects to be paid consideration or a cornmission or other
consideration shall disclose that fact in compliance with the requirements of this rule to any person
to whom the licensee recommends or refers a product or service to which the commission relates.
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Any licensee who accepts consideration or a commission for a referral shall disclose such
acceptance or payment to the client in compliance with the requirements of this rule.

Any licensee who directly or indirectly accepts or agrees to accept a contingent fee shall disclose
the terms of such contingent fee to the client in compliance with the requirements of this rule.

The disclosure must:

(a) Be in writing and be clear and conspicuous;

(b) State the amount of the consideration or commission or the basis on which it will be
computed; and

(c) Be made at or prior to the time of the recommendation or referral of the product or

(3)

(4)

licensee to whom the client has been referred for which a referral fee is paid; or

(d) Be made prior to the time the licensee undertakes representation of or performance of the
service upon which a contingent fee will be charged.

(5) The following form may be used to comply with the disclosures required by this rule and Tenn.
Code Ann, $$62-l-122 and 62-l-123. A form which contains additional information may be used
by a licensee if the form includes the minimum disclosure requirements.

STATEMENT OF DISCLOSURE OF COMMISSIONS, CONTINGENT FEES,
AND OTHER CONSIDERATION

Certified public accountants and public accountants are required by law to disclose to clients the receipt or
payment of certain commissions and contingent fees.

The purpose of this disclosure statement is to acknowledge that proper disclosure has been made and that a
copy of this statement has been provided to each of the signatories thereof.

I hereby acknowledge that on this- day of

has disclosed that he/she/the firm will receive/pay a
CPA/PAÆirm

commission/contingent fee/consideration of
AMOUNT

in relation to goods or services he/she/the firm has agreed to provide or recommend.

Client (signature)

CPAÆAÆirm (signature) Date

Authority: T.C.A. {i $ 62- 1 - I 05, 62-l -l I l, 62-l -122 and 62-l -123.

Rule 0020-3-.07 Competence is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting
instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

,20-

Date
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0020-3-.07 Competence.

(l) A licensee shall comply with the following standards and with any interpretations thereof by
bodies designated by the AICPA, or by other entities having similar generally recognized
authority.

(a) Professional Competence. Undenake only those professional services that the licensee or
the licensee's firm can reasonably expect to be completed with professional competence.

(b) Due Professional Care. Exercise due professional care in the performance ofprofessional
services.

(c) Planning and Supervision. Adequately plan and supervise the performance of
professional services.

(d) Sufhcient Relevant Data. Obtain suffrcient relevant data to afford a reasonable basis for
conclusions or recoÍrmendations in relation to any professional services performed.

Authority: T.C,A. $ $ 62- I - I 05(e)(a) and 62-l -l I l.

Rule 0020-3-.08 Compliance with Standards is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and
substituting instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-3 -.08 Compliance with Standards.

A licensee who performs attest, management consulting, tax, or other professional services shall
comply with standards promulgated by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants or
by other entities having similar authority as recognized by the Board.

Authority: T.C.A. $ {i 62- I - I 05 (e)(a) and 62-l -1 I | .

Paragraph (l) of rule 0020-3-.09 Accounting Principles is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in
its entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (l) of rule 0020-3-.09
shall read:

(1) A licensee shall not:

(a) Express an opinion or state affirmatively that the financial statements or other financial
data of any entity are presented in conformity with generally accepted accounting
principles; or

(b) State that he or she is not aware of any material modihcations that should be made to
such statements or data in order for them to be in conformity with generally accepted
accounting principles ifsuch statements or data contain any departure from an accounting
principle promulgated by bodies designated by the AICPA to establish such principles,
which deparnrre has a material effect on the statements or data taken as a whole.

Authority: T.C.A. $ {i 62- I - I 05 (eXa) and 62-l -l I l .

Subparagraphs (a) and (b) of paragraph (l) of rule 0020-3-.11 Records are amended by deleting the text of
the subparagraphs in their entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended,
subparagraphs (a) and (b) ofparagraph (l) ofrule 0020-3-. I I shall read:

(l) A licensee shall, upon request made within a reasonable time, furnish to his or her client or former
client:
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(a) A copy of any report or other documentation belonging to, or obtained from or on behalf
of, the client, which the licensee removed from the client's custody. The licensee may
make and retain copies of such documents when they form the basis for work performed
by the licensee;

(b) Any accounting or other documents belonging to, or obtained from or on behalf of, the

client, which the licensee removed from the client's premises or received from the

client's custody. The licensee may make and retain copies of such documents when they
form the basis for work performed by the licensec; and

Authority: T.C.A, {i $ 62- I - I 05(eXa) and 62-l -L I 5.

Paragraph (1) of rule 0020-3-.12 Discreditable Acts is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in its
entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (1) of rule 0020-3-.12 shall
¡pa ¡1.

(1) A licensee shall not commit any act that reflects adversely on the profession.

Authority: T.C.A. $$62-l-1 05 and 62-l-lll.

Rule 0020-3-.15 Firms is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the

following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-3-.15 Firms.

(l) A CPA or PA frm name is misleading under $ 62-l-ll3(i) if, among other things, its name:

(a) Implies the existence of a corporation when the firm is not a corporation;

(b) Implies the existence of a partnership when the frm is not a partnership;

(c) Is similar to or the same as existing fictitious names within the State of Tennessee;

(d) Tends to mislead regarding the nature of the business or the affrliation of the trade name

user with another business entity;

(e) Contains more than one (l) fictitious name;

(Ð Includes the name ofan individual whose license has been suspended or revoked by the

Board;

(g) Includes the name of a person who is neither a present nor a past partner, member or
shareholder of the firm; or

(h) Includes the name of a person who is not a CPA, if the title "CPAs" is included in the

hrm name.

(2) A fictitious CPA or PA frm name (that is, one not consisting of the names or initials of one or
more present or former partriers, members or shareholders) may not be used by a CPA firm unless

such name has been registered with and approved by the Board, and it is not false or misleading.

(3) The Board may disapprove of the use of any fictitious name that falls within one (l) of the
prohibitions listed in paragraph (l) of this rule or if it determines after notice and hearing that the

trade name is deceptive.
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(4) A certified public accountant or public accountant may practice under his/her own name or that of
inactive or deceased partners or shareholders who were certified public accountants or public
accountants. A partner or shareholder surviving the death or withdrawal (unless (l)(f) applies) of
all other partners or shareholders may continue to practice under the partnership or professional
association name for up to two (2) years after becoming a sole practitioner.

(5) When a firm name violation is determined to exist, the firm shall have sixty (60) days after
notif,rcation by the Board to come into compliance with all applicable rules and statutes.

Authority: T.C.A. $$62-l-105, 62-l-108, 62-l-ll I and 62-l-113(i).

Paragraph (1) of rule 0020-3-.16 Notification to the Board is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph
in its entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (l) of rule 0020-3-.16
shall read:

(1) A licensee shall notifu the Board in writing within thfuty (30) days of any change of name, address

and, in the case of individual licensees, change of employment.

Authority: T.C.A. {i {) 62- I - 1 05 and 62-l -l I I (aX I 2Xc).

Chapter 0020-4
Disciplinary Action and Civil Penalties

Amcndments

Paragraph (1) of rule 0020-4-.02 Civil Penalties is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in its
entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (l) of rule 0020-4-.02 shall
read:

(l) The Tennessee State Board of Accountancy may,in addition to or in lieu of any other lawful
disciplinary action, assess civil penalties for each separate violation ofstatutes, rules or orders
enforceable by the Board in accordance with the following schedule:

Violation Penalty

Tenn. Code Ann. {i 62-l-ll1(aX1) S0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn. {i 62-l-ll1(aX2) $0-$1000
Tenn. Code Ann. $ 62-l-ll1(aX3) $0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn. $ 62-l-ll1(aXa) $0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn. {i 62-l-lll(aX5) $0-$1000
Tenn. Code Ann. $ 62-l-ll1(aX6) $0-$1000
Tenn. Code Ann. $ 62-l-lll(aX7) $0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn. $ 62-l-lll(aX8) $0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn, {i 62-l-ll1(aX9) $0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn. () 62-1-111(aX10) $0-$1000
Tenn. CodeAnn. {i 62-l-ll1(a)(ll) $0-$1000
Tenn. Code Ann. {i 62-I-ll1(aX12) $0-$1000

Authority: T.C.A. $ 56-l-308, 62-l-105,62-l-lll,62-l-ll l(aX2) and 62-l-117 .

Subparagraph (c) of paragraph (1) of rule 0020-4-.03 Grounds for Discipline Against Licensees is amended
by deleting the text of the paragraph in its entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as

amended, subparagraph (c) of paragraph (l) of rule 0020-4-.03 shall read:
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Violations of the Act or of rules promulgated under the Act, include but are not limited
to:

l. Using the CPA or PA title or providing attest services in this State without a
certificate, registration or permit to practice or without properly qualiffing to
practice across state lines under the substantial equivalency provision ofthe Act;

2. Using or attempting to use a certificate, registration or permit which has been
surrendered, suspended or revoked;

3. Making any false or misleading statement, in support of an application for a

certificate, registration or a permit frled by another; and

4. Failure of a licensee to provide any explanation requested by the Board regarding
ewidence srhmitfed hw the licensee in sunnort of an annlication filerl hv another or

(c)

regarding a failure or refusal to submit such evidence;

5. Failure by a licensee to furnish for inspection upon request by the Board or its
representative documentation relating to any evidence submitted by the licensee in
support of such an application;

6. Failure to satisff the continuing professional education requirements set out in the
Act and/or failure to comply with the continuing education requirements of these

rules;

7. Failure to comply with professional standards as to the attest experience requirement
for those who supervise attest engagements and/or sign reports on financial
statements; or

8. Failure to comply with the peer review requirements set out in the Act and these

rules.

Authority: T.C.A. ${i62-l-105, 62-l-lll,62-l-l7l(a)(2),62-l-113 and 62-l-117 .

Chapter 0020-5
Continuing Education

Amendments

Rule 0020-5-.02 Purpose is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead
the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-5-.02 Purpose.

The Tennessee Accountancy Act of 1998 mandates compliance with continuing education
requirements as a prerequisite for renewal of licenses issued by the Board. The purposes of this
chapter are to prescribe the basic continuing education requirements for present and future license
holders; to establish standards by which continuing education programs will be evaluated for
awarding of credit; and to assure compliance with the Act by requiring periodic reporting of
educational achievements.

Authority:T.C.A. $$62-l-105(eX3),62-l-107,62-l-108(a),62-l-109(a)(3) and 62-l-111(aXl0).

Rule 0020-5-.03 Basic Requirements is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and

substituting instead the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:



0020-5-.03 Basic Requirements.

(l) A license holder seeking regular biennial renewal shall, as a prerequisite for such renewal, show
that he or she has completed no less than eighty (80) hours ofqualified continuing professional
education during the two (2)-year period immediately preceding renewal, with a minimum of
twenty (20) hours in each year with specifications as follows:

(a) All license holders shall complete at least forty (40) hours in the subject areas of
accounting, accounting ethics, attest, taxation, or management advisory services;

(b) All license holders shall complete a board-approved four (4) hour ethics course designed
to familiarize the licensee with the accountancy law and rules as well as professional
ethics;

(c) License holders engaged in the attest function, shall biennially complete at least twenty
(20) hours in the subject areas of attest and accounting theory and practice in fulfilling
the above requirements ;

(d) License holders engaged to testiff in a Tennessee court(s) as expert witnesses in the areas

of accounting, attest, management advisory services, or tax shall have completed, within
the current or most recent renewal period, at least twenty (20) hours in the subject area(s)
(as noted in this paragraph) concerning such expert testimony; and

(e) Up to forty (40) CPE hours taken in excess of the eighty (80) hour requirement for each
two year period may be applied to the requirement of the next succeeding two year
renewal cycle. License holders must maintain a list of CPE which will be used for carry
forward and must submit that listing as requested by the Board. Failure to do so will
result in the disallowance of carry-forward hours.

(2) A license holder seeking to renew an initial certificate issued less than two (2) years but more than
one (1) year prior to expiration must provide evidence ofhaving completed at least forty (40)
hours ofcontinuing education, ofwhich twenty (20) hours shall be in the subject areas of
accounting, accounting ethics, attest, tax, or management advisory services. Licensees seeking to
renew an initial certificate issued less than one year prior to expiration will be exempt from CPE
requirements for that renewal period.

(3) Upon application supported by such evidence as the Board may require, those licensees not
practicing in Tennessee, who do not perform or offer to perform for the public one (l) or more
kinds of services involving the use of accounting or auditing skills, including the issuance of
reports on financial st¿tements or one or more kinds of management advisory, financial advisory
or consulting services, or the preparation of tax returns or the furnishing of advice on tax matters,
may be exempted from any continuing professional education requirements provided that:

(a) Licensees granted such an exemption must place the word "inactive" adjacent to their
CPA title or PA title when used in any written form with the exception of their certificate
or registration;

(b) Individuals exempt under this paragraph must complete eighty (80) hours of CPE in the
areas ofaccounting, accounting ethics, attest, taxation, or management advisory services,
during the twenty-four (24) month period preceding the date of their request for the

reactivation of their license. The CPE hours required to reactivate a license may also be

used as credit toward the renewal requirement so long as those hours are completed
within the two (2) year window prior to the licensee's next December 31 renewal date.

PagelT of21 pages
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Licensees who sunender their licenses in good standing may reactivate a license by complying
with this subsection.

Upon application supported by such evidence as the Board may require, licensees age seventy (70)
and over, disabled for more than six (6) months or in active military service may be exempted
from payment of a license renewal fee and/or CPE requirements so long as they do not practice
public accountancy or offer accounting services to the public.

An applicant for renewal whose license has lapsed as set forth under Rule 0020-l-.08(8) shall
complete no less than eighty (80) hours of CPE in the areas of accounting, accounting ethics,
attest, taxation, or management advisory services, during the six (6) month period preceding the
date ofreapplication. The CPE hours required to reinstate a lapsed license are considered penalty
hours and may not be used to offset the CPE hours required for renewal of a license.

(5)

(6)

of this rule by meeting the CPE requirements for renewal of a license in the state in which the
licensee's principal office is located.

(a) Non-resident applicants for renewal shall demonstrate compliance with the CPE renewal
requirements of the søte in which the licensee's principal offlrce is located by signing a
statement certiffing to that effect on the renewal application of this state.

(b) If the state in which a non-resident licensee's principal office is located has no CPE
requirements for renewal of a license, the non-resident licensee must comply with all
CPE requirements for renewal of a license in this state.

Authority: T.C.A. ${)62-1-105(eX3), 62-l- 107 ,62-l-lll,62-l-ll I (aXl2).

Paragraph (8) of rule 0020-5-.04 Qualifuing Programs is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in
its entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (8) of rule 0020-5-.04
shall read:

(8) CPE credit may be allowed for the successful completion of exams for Certified Management
Accountant (CMA), Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), as well as other similar exams
approved by the Board. Credit will be awarded at arate of five (5) times the length of each exam
taken and limited to fifty percent (50%) of the total CPE required under Rule 0020-5-.03.

Authority: T.C.A. $ $ 62- I - I 05 (eX3) and 62-l -107 .

Rule 0020-5-.05 Sponsors is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead
the following so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0020-5-.05 Sponsors.

(l) Prior to offering continuing education program(s), a sponsor who is not exempt under this rule
must register as follows:

(a) Those sponsors offering program(s) which total more than sixteen (16) hours per year or
offering program(s) more than frve (5) times per year must register with the NASBA
National Registry of CPE Sponsors.

(b) Those sponsors offering program(s) which toøl sixteen (16) hours or less per year or
oflering program(s) five (5) times or less per year must:

l. Register with the NASBA National Registry of CPE Sponsors, or
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2. Register with the NASBA Teruressee Roster of CPE Sponsors.

(2) The sponsor of each continuing education program registered with the NASBA National Registry
or Termessee Roster of CPE Sponsors shall comply with all requirements set forth by NASBA in
order to maintain such registration.

(3) The following are exempt from registering with either the NASBA National Registry or Tennessee

Roster ofCPE Sponsors:

(a) Professional accounting organizations [e.g. AICPA, Tennessee Society of Certified
Public Accountants (TSCPA), Tennessee Association of Accountants (TAA), Institute of
Management Accountants (IMA), or other similar organizations approved by the Board];

(b) Universities or colleges recognized under Rule 0020-2-.01;

(c) Firms or other entities offering organized in-firm or in-house educational programs for
their employees and clients without charge;

(d) Governmental entitíes.

(4) The sponsor ofany continuing education program approved or exempted from registration by the
Board must advise attendees ofsuch approval or exemption, and issue to attendees certificates of
completion that include:

(a) Sponsor name;

(b) Date(s) of training;

(c) Title of program;

(d) CPE subject code;

(e) CPE credit awarded.

(5) Those entities or organizations exempt from registration under paragraph (5) of this rule shall keep
detailed records ofthe following for a period offive (5) years after the date ofthe presentation of
the program:

(a) The date and location ofthe program presentation;

(b) The name of each instructor or discussion leader;

(c) A list of license holders attending each program presentation;

(d) A w¡itten outline of the program presentation; and

(e) The number of continuing education hours allowable.

(6) Approval of any continuing education program may be withdrawn by the Board if the sponsor of
such program fails to comply with the provisions of this chapter.

Authority: T.C.A. {) (i 62- I - I 05(eX3 ) and 62-l -107 .

Paragraph (1) of rule 0020-5-.07 Extension of Time is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in its
entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph (l) of rule 0020-5-.07 shall
read:



(l) The Board may, upon written request, extend the time up to six (6) months within which license
holders must comply with the requirements of this chapter for reasons of poor health, military
service, foreign residence or other good cause.

Authority: T.C.A. $ {i 62- I - I 05(eX3) and 62-l -10'7 .

Chapter 0020-6
Peer Review Program

Amendments

Rule 0020-6-.02 Purpose is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead
fhe fnllnr¡¡ino sn fhcf ac qñcnácÁ fhc ¡rle shcll rearl'

0020-6-.02 Purpose.

The purpose of the Peer Review Program (Program) is to improve the quality of financial
reporting and to assure that the public can rely on the fairness ofpresentation offinancial
information on which licensees issue reports. Appropriate educational programs or rehabilitation
procedures will ordinarily be recommended or required where professional services do not comply
with applicable professional standards; however, when a licensee is unwilling or unable to comply
with such standards, or a licensee's professional services are so egregious as to warrant
disciplinary action, such action may be taken as the appropriate means of protecting the public
interest.

Authority: T.C.A. (i $ 62- I - I 05(e)(6), 62-l -t ll (a)( I 2) and ( I 4) and 62-l -201 .

Paragraph (1) of rule 0020-6-.03 Review Committee is amended by deleting the text of the paragraph in its
entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, the paragraph (1) of rule 0020-6-.03
shall read:

(1) The Boa¡d shall appoint a peer review oversight committee (the Committee) to assist it in the
implementation of the Program. The Committee shall be comprised of three licensees in good
standing, one from each grand division of the state. Committee members shall serve for a term of
three (3) years but may be reappointed by the Board at the end of each term.

Authority: T.C.A. {! $62- I - 1 05(eX6), 62- I - 1 I l(a)(12) and ( I 4) and 62-l -201.

Paragraphs (2) and (6) of rule 0020-6-.04 Basic Requirements are amended by deleting the text of the
paragraphs in their entirety and substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraphs (2) and
(6) of rule 0020-6-.04 shall read:

(2) Each firm location that performs one (l) or more audit engagement(s) shall have an on-site peer
review. Firm locations that perform only compilations or reviews in accordance with SSARS may
have an off-site peer review.

(6) Firm locations not providing attest services shall not be required to undergo a peer review.

Authority: T.C.A. $ $ 62- I - I 05 (eX6) and 62-l -20 l.
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I certiff that this is an accurate and complete representation of the intent and scope of the rulemaking
proposed by the Tennessee State Board ofAccountancy.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this

MyCommissionexpires onm"è 24 aayof ia-n¿a¡/ ,2¿d7./
of rulemaking heari

T'0g.
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day of

dav or Sr4{rr^b¿r, 2005.

Department of Commerce and Insurance

t herein was properly filed in the Department of State on this the

Emest Sykes, Jr.
Staff Attorney

NotaryPublic


