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Notice of Rulemaking Hearing 
Hearings will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T. C.A. § 4-5-204. For 
questions and copies of the notice, contact the person listed below. 
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Agency/Board/Commission: Environment and Conservation 

Air Pollution Control Division: 

Contact Person: Lacey J. Hardin 

Address: 

Phone: 

William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 

(615) 532-0545 

Email: _Lac~y.Hardin@tn.gov 

Any Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these filings) and may 
require aid to facilitate such participation should contact the following at least 10 days prior to the hearing: 

ADA Contact: ADA Coordinator 
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 22nd Floor 

Address: Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
(866) 253-5827 (toll free) or (615) 532-0200. Hearing impaired callers may use 

Phone: the Tennessee Relay Service ((800) 848-0298). 

Email: beverly.evans@tn.gov 

Hearing Location(s) (for additional locations, copy and paste table) 

Address 1: 3rd Floor, Conference Room N 
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Address 2: William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 

Citl': Nashville, Tennessee 
Zip: I 37243 

Hearing Date : 11/02/15 
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Hearin~ Time: 9:30 AM X CST/CDT EST/EDTJ_ 
-~ 

Additional Hearing Information: 

Section 502(b)(3)(A) of the Clean Air Act requires Tennessee, as a state approved by the Environmental 
Protection Agency ("EPA") to administer a Title V major source operating permit program ('Title V program"), to 
collect "an annual fee, or the equivalent over some other period, sufficient to cover all reasonable (direct and 
indirect) costs required to develop and administer the permit program requirements of this title." The proposed 
rulemaking amends Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1200-03-26-02, to impose on major sources a minimum annual fee, 
instead of a base fee, of $7,500. The rule is amended to increase the per ton fee for non-EGU major sources by 

1 $4.00 and decrease the per ton fee for EGU major sources by $6.50, based upon either actual emissions, 

I
I permitted allowable emissions, or a combination of actual and allowable emissions. The rule is also amended to 

authorize major sources to choose either a calendar year or state fiscal year annual accounting period and to 
j choose the annual accounting period and the emissions basis of the fee annually. Pollutants that are constituents 
I of the pollutant greenhous_ e g_ases tha_t would be regulated pollutants solely based on that status are exempted 

from annual emission fee~.__~Ihe language addressing the process to request_ an allowable emissions limit~ 
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'update-dtorequire that a letter must be submitted by minor and conditional major sources to request an-allowable 
emissions limit. 

There will be a public hearing before the Technical Secretary of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board for the 
promulgation of amendments to the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Regulations under the authority of 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 68-201-105. The comments received at this hearing will be distributed to the 
members of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board for their review in regard to the proposed rule 
amendments. The hearing will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures 
Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201 et seq. and will take place in Conference Room N of the William R. Snodgrass Tennessee 
Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 3rd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243. 

Written comments not submitted at the public hearing will be included in the hearing record only if received by the 
close of business on November 2, 2015, at the following address: Technical Secretary, Tennessee Air Pollution 
Control Board, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville, 
Tennessee 37243. 

Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings or to review these filings should 
contact the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation to discuss any auxiliary aids or services 
needed to facilitate such participation. Such initial contact may be in person, by writing, telephone, or other 
means, and should be made no less than ten days prior to November 2, 2015 or the date such party intends to 
review such filings, to allow time to provide such aid or service. Contact the Tennessee Department of 
Environment and Conservation ADA Coordinator, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks 
Avenue, 22nd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, (615) 532-0200. Hearing impaired callers may use the 
Tennessee Relay Service (1-800-848-0298). 

If you have any questions about the origination of these rule changes, you may contact Lacey J. Hardin at (615) 
532-0545. For information about reviewing these documents, please contact Malcolm Butler, William R. 
Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, telephone 
(615) 532-0600. 

Revisions considered at this hearing may be adopted by the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board under T.C.A. 
§ 68-201-105, the Board general authority to promulgate rules. 

Materials concerning the proposed actions will be available at www.tn.gov/environment/topic/ppo-air and also for 
public inspection during normal working hours starting on October 2, 2015, at the office of the Technical Secretary 
and the public depositories listed below: 

Air Pollution Control Division 
9th Floor, L & C Annex 
401 Church Street 
Nashville, TN 37243-1531 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Knoxville EFO 
3711 Middlebrook Pk., Suite 220 
Knoxville, TN 37921 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Columbia EFO 
1421 Hampshire Pike 
Columbia, TN 38401 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Chattanooga EFO 
540 Mccallie Avenue, Suite 550 
Chattanooga, TN 37 402 

Chattanooga-Hamilton County 
Air Pollution Control Bureau 
6125 Preservation Drive 

j_Chattanoog_a, TN 37416 
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Pollution Control Division 
Metropolitan Health Dept. 
2500 Charlotte Avenue 
Nashville, TN 37209 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Johnson City EFO 
2305 Silverdale Road 
Johnson City, TN 37601-2162 

Knox County Department of 
Air Quality Management 
140 Dameron Avenue, Suite 242 
Knoxville, TN 37917 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Nashville EFO 
711 R. S. Gass Boulevard 
Nashville, TN 37243 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Cookeville EFO 
1221 South Willow Avenue 
Cookeville, TN 38506 

Air Pollution Control Division 
Jackson EFO 
1625 Hollywood Drive 
Jackson, TN 38305 

Air Pollution Control Program 
Memphis /Shelby County Health Dept. 
814 Jefferson Avenue 
Memphis, TN 38105 

Kingsport Public Library 
400 Broad Street 
Kingsport, TN 37660 

U.S. EPA, Region IV, c/o Mr. Scott Davis, Chief 
APTMD - 12th Floor, Atlanta Federal Center 
61 Forsyth Street S.W. 
Atlanta, GA 30303 
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All persons interested in the air quality of the state of Tennessee are urged to attend and will be afforded the 
opportunity to present testimony to the hearing officer regarding the promulgation of amendments to the 

I Tennessee Air Pollution Control Regulations. Any person desiring to present lengthy comments should be 
prepared at the hearing to offer a written statement to be incorporated into the record. Written statements not 
presented at the hearings will only be considered part of the records if received by 4:30 p.m. CDT on November 
2, 2015, at the office of the Technical Secretary, Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board, William R. Snodgrass 
Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243. 

·-----~------~ 

Revision Type (check all that apply): 
X Amendment 

New 
__ Repeal 

Rule(s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed. If needed, copy and paste additional tables to 
accommodate more than one chapter. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row.) 

Chapter Number 
1200-03-26 
Rule Number 
1200-03-26-.02 
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I Chapter Title 
I 
I Rule Title 
I Construction and Annual Emission Fees 

- - -- -----·---------~ 
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For 
information on formatting rules go to http:! /state. tn. us/sos/rules/1360/1360. htm) 

Subparagraph (c) of paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 

(c) "Annual Accounting Period" is a twelve (12) consecutive month period. For major sources subject 
to paragraph (9) of this rule, the annual accounting period shall be either of the following: the 
calendar year (January 1 to December 31) or the state fiscal year (July 1 to June 30). 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 

Subpart (iii) of part 5 of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual 
Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 

(iii) Any pollutant that is subjected to any standard promulgated under section 111 of 
the Federal Act; provided, however, that any such pollutant shall not be a 
regulated pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse 
gases; 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 

Paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by adding a new 
subparagraph (s) to read as follows: 

(s) "Greenhouse gases" means the air pollutant defined in part 86.1818-12(a) of Chapter I of Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations as the aggregate group of the following six greenhouse 
gases: carbon dioxide, nitrous oxide, methane, hydrofluorocarbons, perfluorocarbons, and sulfur 
hexafluoride. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 

Subparagraph (d) of paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 

(d) Reserved. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 

Subparagraph (b) of paragraph (6) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 

(b) 1. The minor source and conditional major source annual emission fee must be calculated 
as the sum of allowable emissions of all regulated pollutants at a source. Upon mutual 
agreement of the responsible official and the Technic.al Secretary, a more restrictive 
regulatory requirement may be established to minimize the allowable emissions and thus 
the annual emission fee. The more restrictive requirement must be specified on the 
permit, and must include the method used to determine compliance with the limitation. 
The documentation procedure to be followed by the source owner or operator must also 
be included to insure that the limit is not exceeded. Exceedances of the mutual 
agreement limit will be considered by the Board as circumvention of the required annual 
emissions fee and a matter in which enforcement action must be pursued. 

2. To reduce the amount of the fee as provided in part 1 of this subparagraph, the 
responsible official must submit a letter to the Technical Secretary requesting reduced 
allowable emissions and providing the method or methods that will be used to ensure 
compliance with the requested limit or limits. This request must be received at least 
ninety (90) days prior to the applicable due date of the annual emission fee. Any request 
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received after that deadline may only apply to the fee for the following year and not for 
the year being invoiced. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 

Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (6) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by 
deleting in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 

(i) The responsible official must pay an annual emission fee as per subparagraph (e) of this 
paragraph. The annual emission fee will be calculated on no more than 4,000 tons per year of 
each regulated pollutant. An annual emission fee will not be charged for carbon monoxide or for 
emissions of a pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse gases. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 

Paragraph (9) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Ann\jal Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its 
entirety and substituting instead the following: 

(9) Annual Emission Fees for Major Sources. 

(a) A responsible official of a major source must pay an annual emission fee to the Division. A major 
source is not subject to the minor source annual emission fees of paragraph (6) of this rule on or 
after July 1, 1994. Once a major stationary source begins to pay major source annual emission 
fees, it will not be subject to the construction permit fees of paragraph (5) of this rule for any 
additional construction occurring at the source. 

(b) 1. On or before December 31 of the annual accounting period, the responsible official must 
submit to the Division in writing the responsible official's determination to pay the annual 
emission fee based on: 

(i) Either a calendar year or state fiscal year; and 

(ii) Actual emissions, allowable emissions, or a mixture of actual and allowable 
emissions of regulated pollutants. 

2. If the responsible official does not declare a fee payment choice as provided in subparts 
1 (i) or (ii) of this subparagraph, then the basis of the annual fee payment shall be the 
antecedent annual accounting period and annual fee basis (actual emissions, allowable 
emissions, or a mixture) specified in the source's current major source operating permit. 

3. If the responsible official wishes to restructure a major source's allowable emissions for 
the purpose of lowering the major source's annual emission fee, then an application must 
be filed at least ninety (90) days prior to December 31 of the annual accounting period as 
provided in subparagraph (g) of this paragraph. 

4. The responsible official of a newly constructed major source or a minor source modifying 
its operation such that the source becomes a major source shall pay an initial annual 
emission fee based on the state fiscal year and allowable emissions for the fractional 
remainder of the state fiscal year annual accounting period commencing upon the 
source's start-up. 

5. For purposes of the payment of annual emission fees due July 1, 2016, parts 1 and 2 of 
this subparagraph shall not apply. Annual emission fees due July 1, 2016, shall be 
based on the state fiscal year and the annual fee basis (actual emissions, allowable 
emissions, or a mixture) specified in a source's current major source operating permit. If 
a source does not have an effective major source operating permit on July 1, 2016, then 
the source's responsible official shall pay the annual emission fee based on the state 
fiscal year and allowable emissions. 

( c) Reserved. 
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(d) 

(e) 

1. 

2. 

Notwithstanding the annual em1ss1on fee rates established by part 2 of this 
subparagraph, the annual emission fee required to be paid by a responsible official 
relative to a major source pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph shall be no less 
than $7,500. 

(i) For purposes of this part, an electric utility generating unit (EGU) means any 
steam electric generating unit or stationary combustion turbine that is constructed 
for the purpose of supplying more than one-third of its potential electric output 
capacity and more than 25 MW net-electrical output to any utility power 
distribution system for sale. Also, any steam supplied to a steam distribution 
system for the purpose of providing steam to a steam electric generator that 
would produce electrical energy for sale is considered in determining the 
electrical energy output capacity of the affected EGU. 

(ii) The annual emission fee rates applied to calculate the annual em1ss1on fee 
assessed pursuant to paragraph (a) of this paragraph shall be as follows: 

(I) Fee based on actual emissions: $43.00 per ton for non-EGU sources 
and $49.50 per ton for EGU sources; and 

(II) Fee based on allowable emissions: $32.50 per ton for non-EGU sources 
and $39.00 per ton for EGU sources. 

(iii) The annual emission fee rates enumerated in subpart (ii) of this part must be 
supported by the Division's annual workload analysis that is approved by the 
Board. 

3. The annual emission fee rates shall remain in effect until the effective date of an 
amendment to part 2 of this subparagraph. Any revision to the annual emission fee rates 
must result in the collection of sufficient fee revenue to fund the activities identified in 
subparagraph (1 )(c) of this rule and must be supported by the Division's annual workload 
analysis that is approved by the Board. 

1. An emission cap of 4,000 tons per year per regulated pollutant per major source SIC 
code shall apply to actual or allowable based emission fees. A major source annual 
emission fee will not be charged for emissions in excess of the cap(s) or for carbon 
monoxide. 

2. No major source annual emission fee will be charged for emissions of a pollutant solely 
because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse gases. 

(f) In the case where a source is shut down such that it has operated only during a portion of the 
annual accounting period and the source's permits are forfeited to the Technical Secretary, the 
appropriate fee shall be calculated on a prorated basis over the period of time that the source 
was operated in the annual accounting period. The responsible official of a major source that is 
shutdown, but wishes to retain its permits, shall pay a maintenance fee equivalent to 40% of the 
fee that would be charged had the responsible official determined to base the annual emission 
fee on allowable emissions. If the responsible official chooses this option in the midst of an 
annual accounting period, then the fee will be prorated according to the number of months that 
the source was in the maintenance fee status. The responsible official shall notify the Division no 
later than December 31 of the annual accounting period so that the Division will have sufficient 
time to adjust billing records for the maintenance fee status. 

(g) Responsible officials required to pay the major source annual emission fee pursuant to 
subparagraph (a) of this paragraph must conform to the following requirements with respect to 
fee payments: 

1. (i) 
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If a responsible official paying the annual emission fee based on allowable 
emissions wishes to restructure a major source's allowable emissions for the 
purpose of lowering the major source's annual emission fee, then upon mutual 
agreement of the responsible official and the Technical Secretary, a more 
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restrictive regulatory requirement may be established to minimize the allowable 
emissions and thus the annual emission fee. The more restrictive regulatory 
requirement, the method used to determine compliance with the limitation, and 
the documentation procedure to be followed by the major source to ensure that 
the limit is not exceeded must be included in the application and specified in a 
permit through either the permit modification processes of paragraph ( 11) of Rule 
1200-03-09-.02, or the construction permit processes of Rule 1200-03-09-.01, or 
both. The more restrictive requirement shall be effective for purposes of lowering 
the annual emission fee upon agreement by both the responsible official and the 
Technical Secretary and for all other purposes shall be effective upon issuance 
of the permit, modification, or both. 

(ii) To reduce the amount of the fee as provided in subpart (i) of this part, the 
responsible official must file a complete permit modification or construction permit 
application with the Division at least ninety (90) days prior to December 31 of the 
annual accounting period. 

2. The responsible official shall file the annual emission fee and an analysis of actual 
emissions, allowable emissions, or both actual and allowable emissions, whichever is 
appropriate due to the basis of the annual emission fee payment, with the Technical 
Secretary on or before the July 1 immediately following the annual accounting period. 
The analysis shall summarize the emissions of all regulated pollutants at the air 
contaminant sources of the major source facility and shall be used to calculate the 
amount of the annual emission fee owed pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph. 

3. 
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(i) An annual emission fee based on both actual emissions and allowable emissions 
shall be calculated utilizing the 4,000 ton per year cap specified in subparagraph 
(2)(i) of this rule. In determining the tonnages to be applied toward the regulated 
pollutant 4,000 ton cap in a mixed base fee, the responsible official shall first 
calculate the actual emission-based fees for a regulated pollutant and apply that 
tonnage toward the regulated pollutant's cap. The remaining tonnage available in 
the 4,000 ton category of a regulated pollutant shall be subject to allowable 
emission based fee calculations. Once the 4,000 ton per year cap has been 
reached for a regulated pollutant, no additional fee for that pollutant shall be 
required. 

(ii) If the responsible official chooses to base the annual emission fee on actual 
emissions, then the responsible official must prove the magnitude of the major 
source's emissions to the satisfaction of the Technical Secretary. The procedure 
for quantifying actual emission rates shall be specified in the major source 
operating permit. 

(i) Responsible officials choosing to pay the major source annual emission fee 
based on actual emissions or a mixture of actual and allowable emissions may 
request an extension of time for filing the emissions analysis with the Technical 
Secretary. The extension may be granted by the Technical Secretary for up to 
ninety (90) days. The request for extension must be received by the Division no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on July 1, or the request for extension shall be denied. The 
request for extension to file must state the reason for the request and provide an 
adequate explanation. An estimated annual emission fee payment of no less 
than eighty percent (80%) of the fee due July 1 must accompany the request for 
extension to avoid penalties and interest on the underpayment of the annual 
emission fee. A remaining balance due must accompany the emission analysis. 
If there has been an overpayment, the responsible official may request a refund 
in writing to the Division or the amount of the overpayment may be applied as a 
credit toward the next annual emission fee. 

(ii) A responsible official choosing to pay the annual emission fee based on a 
calendar year annual accounting period or choosing to pay the annual emission 
fee based on allowable emissions is not eligible for the extension of time 
authorized by subpart (i) of this part. 
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(h) Reserved. 

(i) Reserved. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-201-105 et seq. and 4-5-202 et seq. 
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I certify that the information included in this filing is an accurate and complete representation of the intent and 
scope of rulemaking proposed by the agency. 
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Title of Officer: Director, Tennessee Division of Air Pollution Control 

My commission expires on: ) - / J - "":! (} I '" ~--'-~~~~"""'--'"--'----,.~~~~~~~~~ 
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Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 
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