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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For 
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn. us/sos/rules/1360/1360. htm) 

Chapter 0400-20-1 O 
Licensing and Registration 

Amendments 

Paragraph (2) of Rule 0400-20-10-.24 Registration is amended by deleting the paragraph and substituting the 
following so that, as amended, paragraph (2) shall read as follows: 

(2) An annual registration fee will be required each year as long as the radiation machine or service is 
subject to registration. Each registrant shall submit the annual fee payable to, "Treasurer, State of 
Tennessee," in the appropriate dollar amount in accordance with the Classification and Fee Schedule in 
paragraph (3) of this rule to the Division of Radiological Health. Payment shall be accompanied by a copy 
of the fee invoice pro~erly completed. The invoice for the annual fee will be dated May 1st and will require 
payment by June 15 h of the indicated year. The annual registration fee shall be due within 45 days of 
issuance of an invoice. At the time of the annual payment, a registrant of only Class II radiation machines 
may request specific times or list restricted hours during normal work hours for inspections pursuant to 
Rule 0400-20-10-.27 by personnel of the Division of Radiological Health, Tennessee Department of 
Environment and Conservation. 

Part 2 of subparagraph (d) of paragraph (3) of Rule 0400-20-10-.24 Registration is amended by deleting the 
paragraph and substituting the following so that, as amended, part 2 shall read as follows: 

2. Each newly acquired tube subject to registration is inspected within 3 months of 
ownership or possession. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-202-101 et seq. and 4-5-201 et seq. 
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I certify that this is an accurat and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Commissioner on O .:Z..~ ~o (mm/dd/yyyy}, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-
5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: (06125114) 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). (08119114) 
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Name of Officer: _R_ob_e_r_t J_._lifc_a_r_ti_ne_a_u~, _J_r. _ __,,(,_/ _________ _ 

Commissioner 

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

Comment: 

Response: 

Comment: 

Response: 

The Tennessee Hospital Association, the Tennessee Medical Association, and the Tennessee 
Dental Association all responded to the Department's notice of rulemaking that they did not have 
any concerns regarding the amendments being made to this rule and did not have any formal 
comments to submit. 

Comments so noted. 

The commenter suggested certain changes be made to the computer programs of the Division of 
Radiological Health and Fiscal Services. He believes these changes would make the process 
easier without having to make the amendments to the rule that the Department is proposing. His 
written comments are included below: 

January Bill: 
1. Sets "Annual" flag 

a. R.I. sign up entire year with all of R.I. Program stipulations. 
b. Sign up for total bill does not allow changing mind "later''. (e.g. no funds brought 

forward) 
c. Contingency on "failure" 

2. Additional machines generate "Date of Possession" flag 
a. Must pay 18% (but option given to give up 82% for full year) 
b. Registrant reminded of "6 months" for inspection or "failure" for year 

R.I. Section of DRH: 
"Annual" Flag gives prompt 60d from January 31, which initiates OK (clear flag), extension, or 
failure. Failures go to Fee Section for collection of 82% and cancel 18% 

Additional machines: 
"Date of Possession" flag gives prompt 60d from 6 months from "Date of Possession", which 
initiates OK (clear flag), extension or failure. Failures go to Fee Section for collection of 82% and 
cancel 18%. 

Would deal with "omission" of proper R.I. form on case-by-case basis for changing failure. 

Benefit: 1. 
2. 
3. 

Drawbacks: 

Registrant is responsible! 
Allows collection of 82% on failure 
Doesn't delay 2015 bills to May - $ lost to State 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
5. 

Slightly more computer programming 
Keeps 6 months instead of 2 months for additional machines 
It is at 1st bill in January that different classes are addressed 
Facilities must keep registration up to date, not State 
How to address "non-functioning" and "in storage" on initial R.I. 

These suggestions are not compatible with the Division of Radiological Health's DRH track 
computer program and Fiscal Services' GIA computer program and would be difficult to 
implement. To make these types of changes to these computer programs, much additional work 
on the part of Information Systems, Fiscal Services, and the Division would be required. These 
amendments to the rules will not affect the Division's budget. Fees will be collected within the 
same fiscal year, therefore there will not be a loss of money to the state. 
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Comment: 

Response: 

Comment: 

Two Commenters suggested amendments to Rule 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d). A written comment 
concerning this rule was submitted: 

My name is Ben Edwards. I am the Radiation Safety Officer for Vanderbilt University and the 
Vanderbilt University Medical Center. 

I first want to acknowledge the critical importance of the Division of Radiological Health. The 
Division's duty of protecting Tennesseans and the environment from the hazards associated with 
ionizing radiation is an essential function that must be adequately supported. 

With regard to the proposed rule changes, I have the following comment: 

The proposed changes to Chapter 0400-20-1 O do not address the most problematic item in that 
chapter. Rule 0400-20-10-.24 paragraph (3) subparagraph (d) allows registrants to pay 18% of 
the full registration fee only if ALL of the x-ray tubes on the registration have been inspected on 
time. However, if any x-ray tube is inspected late, regardless of the reason, the full fee is 
assessed for not only the late tube but for ALL tubes on the registration. As written, this rule: 

-penalizes registrations with large number of tubes 
-creates a penalty that is disproportionate to the infraction, and 
-establishes a regulation that is arcane, difficult for new program managers and radiation safety 
officers to understand, and inconsistent with the corresponding regulations in other states. 

The Division has demonstrated a willingness to consider written appeals of full registration fees 
imposed under this rule. However, pursuing the appeals process creates additional 
administrative work for both the registrant and the Division, diverting time and resources away 
from the more important business of ensuring safety and regulatory compliance. Similarly, this 
Rule encourages institutions to split their x-ray tubes into as many registrations as possible 
simply to reduce their vulnerability, again creating additional administrative work for the registrant 
and the Division with no safety or compliance benefit. To address this problem, I propose the 
amendment of Rules 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) and 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d)1 to read [changes in bold]: 

0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) A registrant may qualify to pay a registration fee equal to 18 percent of that 
listed in this paragraph for any tube that meets the following conditions: 

1. Any tube subject to registration is inspected in accordance with paragraphs (3), (4), and 
(5) of Rule 0400-20-10-.27. 

These comments suggest modifications to rules that are beyond the scope of these amendments. 
The Department plans to explore how these suggested amendments would affect the Division 
and will consider these suggestions for a future rulemaking. 

The proposed time frame to have newly purchased x-ray tubes inspected is not enough time for 
the facilities to have the inspection completed. The current time frame is six months. The 
proposed rule decreases this to two months. This could create a burden on the medical physicist 
as they still have to complete their inspections of the regular x-ray tubes. Changing the proposed 
time frame to three months would provide a more ideal amount of time. If this proposal is 
necessary from a billing perspective, it is suggested that rule 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) be amended 
to charge full fee on only the x ray units that are not in compliance with reduced fee rules. 

Response: This comment covers two separate components. The portion of this comment that suggests 
amendments to 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) is beyond the scope of these amendments; however, the 
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Comment: 

Response: 

Comment: 

Response: 

Department plans to explore how this suggested amendment would affect the Division and will 
consider the changes for a future rulemaking. The other portion of this comment suggests that 
the time frame for inspection of new x-ray tubes be changed from 2 months as proposed to 3 
months. The Division agrees with this comment and will incorporate it into the proposed rules. 

Registrants have a requirement to register their x-ray units within ten days of getting the x-ray 
unit. Previously had a requirement to get them inspected within six months. Now the Division is 
proposing two months. In the past, registrants have had trouble receiving their registration back 
from the state within the six month time frame. We realize that the Division has had staffing 
issues but if you move it to two months, since they are required to have the registration in hand 
during the inspection, the Division needs to ensure that registrants receive their registration back 
within a timely manner (e.g. two weeks). 

Inspections may be performed by a Registered Inspector prior to the registrant receiving the 
registration form from the Department. The Registered Inspector may note on the inspection 
form that the registration is pending. 

I believe 90 to 120 day post install time frame would be better served. The March 17th date is 
feasible. I believe most facilities schedule inspections around their patienUpersonnel schedules. 
Not opposed to changes but don't see that they would improve anything. Sites should be able to 
utilize the discounts as this can be large expense for small businesses. 

The January 17th invoicing date does not give Department staff enough time to review and 
process inspection reports received late in the year. By adopting the May 1st invoicing date, the 
Department staff should have ample time to review inspection reports and enter the information 
into the database that Fiscal Services uses to invoice. This will allow Fiscal Services to send an 
accurate invoice to the registrants who qualify for a reduction in fees. Billing would be improved 
for customers because it would allow most customers invoiced for correct fee. The number of 
customers receiving invoices will be substantially reduced. The Division has decided to extend 
the proposed time frame for a new x-ray tube to be inspected from 2 months to 3 months. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A. 
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule 
affects small businesses. 

( 1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule: 

The amended rule will affect small businesses with possession of x-ray producing equipment, and 
persons that inspect x-ray equipment. The estimated number of small businesses included under these 
rules is approximately 5,000 facilities. 

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for compliance with the 
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record: 

There are no projected additional reporting, recordkeeping or administrative costs as a result of the 
amendments to the current fee categories. 

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers: 

These amendments are being made in response to feedback from internal and external stakeholders. 
Many of these stakeholders are small businesses. These amendments will provide a better invoicing 
process affecting these businesses in a positive manner. 

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 
purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means 
might be less burdensome to small business: 

The Department is unaware of alternatives to the proposed rules. These amendments are being made in 
response to feedback from internal and external stakeholders. 

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts: 

There are no federal or state counterpart rules to compare. 

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the 
requirements contained in the proposed rule. 

Exempting small businesses from this proposed rule would result in denying them of the benefits it offers. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn. us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070. pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) · 

The Department anticipates that these amended rules will not have a financial impact on local governments. 

SS-7039 (July 2014) 8 RDA 1693 



Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1 ). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

Two subdivisions of Rule 0400-20-10-.24 regarding registration of radiation machines and services and 
inspection of newly acquired x-ray tubes are amended in order to increase the accuracy of registration fee 
invoicing and reduce the number of refunds issued by the Department of Environment and Conservation. 
Registrants of radiation machines can qualify to pay a reduced registration fee if a private individual approved by 
the Department performs required inspections (and the registrants meet other requirements.) Rule 0400-20-10-
.24(2) currently requires invoices to be dated January 17th and to be paid by March 17th. The Division of 
Radiological Health is not able to process all inspection reports received for inspections conducted during the 
previous year in time to determine whether the registrant qualifies for the discounted rate because the current 
rule requires invoices to be sent in January prior to issuance of registration fee invoices. The amended rule will 
require invoices to be dated May 1st and to be paid by June 15th so that the reports can be processed prior to 
invoicing. Rule 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d)2 is amended to require newly acquired x-ray tubes to be inspected within 
3 months of ownership or possession instead of 6 months. Initial registration fees are invoiced on a quarterly 
basis. Due to this change, more inspection reports will be received and processed by the Division prior to 
issuance of the initial registration fee invoice. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

I These rules are promulgated under the authorities of T.C.A. §§ 68-202-101 et seq. and 4-5-201 et seq. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

All registrants of radiation machines (x-ray producing machines) and providers of radiation machine inspection 
services will be affected by these rule amendments. Comments received from the public included suggested 
changes and sought additional clarification. Some suggestions were beyond the scope of the proposed 
rulemaking but will be considered in the future. One suggestion was not feasible due to current technology and 
procedures. Two commenters suggested the same change (from 2 months to 3 months) which was 
incorporated into the rule amendments. The Tennessee Hospital Association, the Tennessee Medical 
Association, and the Tennessee Dental Association responded to the Department's notice of rulemaking that 
they did not have concerns or formal comments to submit. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

I The Department is not aware of any. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I This rulemaking will not impact state or local government revenues or expenditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Emily Urban 
Office of General Counsel 
Department of Environment and Conservation 
(615) 532-0138 
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I Emily.Urban@tn.gov 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

Emily Urban 
Assistant General Counsel 
Office of General Counsel 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Office of General Counsel 
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation 
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 2nd Floor 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
(615) 532-8685 
Emilv. Urban®tn.aov 

{I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

I The Department is not aware of any additional relevant information. 
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For 
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn. us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm) 

Chapter 0400-20-1 O 
Licensing and Registration 

Amendments 

Paragraph (2) of Rule 0400-20-10-.24 Registration is amended by deleting the paragraph and substituting the 
following so that, as amended, paragraph (2) shall read as follows: 

(2) An annual registration fee will be OOe-#!e-f~ing January 1 of each year as 
long as the radiation machine or service is subject to registration. Each registrant shall submit the annual 
fee payable to, "Treasurer, State of Tennessee," in the appropriate dollar amount in accordance with the 
Classification and Fee Schedule in paragraph (3) of this rule to the Division of Radiological Health. 
Payment shall be accompanied by a copy of the fee invoice properly completed. The invoice for the 
annual fee will be dated January -4+ May 1st and will require payment by March 17 June 151

h of the 
indicated year. The annual registration fee shall be due within 45 days of issuance of an invoice. At the 
time of the annual payment a registrant of only Class II radiation machines may request specific times or 
list restricted hours during normal work hours for inspections pursuant to Rule 0400-20-10-.27 by 
personnel of the Division of Radiological Health, Tennessee Department of Environment and 
Conservation. 

Part 2 of subparagraph (d) of paragraph (3) of Rule 0400-20-10-.24 Registration is amended by deleting the 
paragraph and substituting the following so that, as amended, part 2 shall read as follows: 

2. Each newly acquired tube subject to registration is inspected within e ;2. months of 
ownership or possession. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 68-202-101 et seq. and 4-5-201 et seq. 
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I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Commissioner on 08/28/2014, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: (06125114) 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). (08119114) 

Date: August28,2014 

Signature: 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Name of Officer: Robert J. Martineau, Jr. 

Title of Officer: Commissioner 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Notary Public Signature: 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

My commission expires on: 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

Department of State Use Only 

Filed with the Department of State on: 

SS-7039 (July 2014) 3 

Robert E. Cooper, Jr. 
Attorney General and Reporter 

Date 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~-

Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 

RDA 1693 



Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

Comment: 

Response: 

Comment: 

Response: 

The Tennessee Hospital Association, the Tennessee Medical Association, and the Tennessee 
Dental Association all responded to the Department's notice of rulemaking that they did not have 
any concerns regarding the amendments being made to this rule and did not have any formal 
comments to submit. 

Comments so noted. 

The commenter suggested certain changes be made to the computer programs of the Division of 
Radiological Health and Fiscal Services. He believes these changes would make the process 
easier without having to make the amendments to the rule that the Department is proposing. His 
written comments are included below: 

January Bill: 
1. Sets "Annual" flag 

a. R.I. sign up entire year with all of R.I. Program stipulations. 
b. Sign up for total bill does not allow changing mind "later". (e.g. no funds brought 

forward) 
c. Contingency on "failure" 

2. Additional machines generate "Date of Possession" flag 
a. Must pay 18% (but option given to give up 82% for full year) 
b. Registrant reminded of "6 months" for inspection or "failure" for year 

R.I. Section of DRH: 
"Annual" Flag gives prompt 60d from January 31, which initiates OK (clear flag), extension, or 
failure. Failures go to Fee Section for collection of 82% and cancel 18% 

Additional machines: 
"Date of Possession" flag gives prompt 60d from 6 months from "Date of Possession", which 
initiates OK (clear flag), extension or failure. Failures go to Fee Section for collection of 82% and 
cancel 18%. 

Would deal with "omission" of proper R.I. form on case-by-case basis for changing failure. 

Benefit: 1. 
2. 
3. 

Drawbacks: 

Registrant is responsible! 
Allows collection of 82% on failure 
Doesn't delay 2015 bills to May - $ lost to State 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
5. 

Slightly more computer programming 
Keeps 6 months instead of 2 months for additional machines 
It is at 1st bill in January that different classes are addressed 
Facilities must keep registration up to date, not State 
How to address "non-functioning" and "in storage" on initial R.I. 

These suggestions are not compatible with the Division of Radiological Health's DRH track 
computer program and Fiscal Services' GIA computer program and would be difficult to 
implement. To make these types of changes to these computer programs, much additional work 
on the part of Information Systems, Fiscal Services, and the Division would be required. These 
amendments to the rules will not affect the Division's budget. Fees will be collected within the 
same fiscal year, therefore there will not be a loss of money to the state. 
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Comment: 

Response: 

Comment: 

Two Commenters suggested amendments to Rule 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d). A written comment 
concerning this rule was submitted: 

My name is Ben Edwards. I am the Radiation Safety Officer for Vanderbilt University and the 
Vanderbilt University Medical Center. 

I first want to acknowledge the critical importance of the Division of Radiological Health. The 
Division's duty of protecting Tennesseans and the environment from the hazards associated with 
ionizing radiation is an essential function that must be adequately supported. 

With regard to the proposed rule changes, I have the following comment: 

The proposed changes to Chapter 0400-20-10 do not address the most problematic item in that 
chapter. Rule 0400-20-10-.24 paragraph (3) subparagraph (d) allows registrants to pay 18% of 
the full registration fee only if ALL of the x-ray tubes on the registration have been inspected on 
time. However, if any x-ray tube is inspected late, regardless of the reason, the full fee is 
assessed for not only the late tube but for ALL tubes on the registration. As written, this rule: 

-penalizes registrations with large number of tubes 
-creates a penalty that is disproportionate to the infraction, and 
-establishes a regulation that is arcane, difficult for new program managers and radiation safety 
officers to understand, and inconsistent with the corresponding regulations in other states. 

The Division has demonstrated a willingness to consider written appeals of full registration fees 
imposed under this rule. However, pursuing the appeals process creates additional 
administrative work for both the registrant and the Division, diverting time and resources away 
from the more important business of ensuring safety and regulatory compliance. Similarly, this 
Rule encourages institutions to split their x-ray tubes into as many registrations as possible 
simply to reduce their vulnerability, again creating additional administrative work for the registrant 
and the Division with no safety or compliance benefit. To address this problem, I propose the 
amendment of Rules 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) and 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d)1 to read [changes in bold]: 

0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) A registrant may qualify to pay a registration fee equal to 18 percent of that 
listed in this paragraph for any tube that meets the following conditions: 

1. Any tube subject to registration is inspected in accordance with paragraphs (3), (4), and 
(5) of Rule 0400-20-10-.27. 

These comments suggest modifications to rules that are beyond the scope of these amendments. 
The Department plans to explore how these suggested amendments would affect the Division 
and will consider these suggestions for a future rulemaking. 

The proposed time frame to have newly purchased x-ray tubes inspected is not enough time for 
the facilities to have the inspection completed. The current time frame is six months. The 
proposed rule decreases this to two months. This could create a burden on the medical physicist 
as they still have to complete their inspections of the regular x-ray tubes. Changing the proposed 
time frame to three months would provide a more ideal amount of time. If this proposal is 
necessary from a billing perspective, it is suggested that rule 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) be amended 
to charge full fee on only the x ray units that are not in compliance with reduced fee rules. 

Response: This comment covers two separate components. The portion of this comment that suggests 
amendments to 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d) is beyond the scope of these amendments; however, the 

SS-7039 (July 2014) 5 RDA 1693 



Comment: 

Response: 

Comment: 

Response: 

Department plans to explore how this suggested amendment would affect the Division and will 
consider the changes for a future rulemaking. The other portion of this comment suggests that 
the time frame for inspection of new x-ray tubes be changed from 2 months as proposed to 3 
months. The Division agrees with this comment and will incorporate it into the proposed rules. 

Registrants have a requirement to register their x-ray units within ten days of getting the x-ray 
unit. Previously had a requirement to get them inspected within six months. Now the Division is 
proposing two months. In the past, registrants have had trouble receiving their registration back 
from the state within the six month time frame. We realize that the Division has had staffing 
issues but if you move it to two months, since they are required to have the registration in hand 
during the inspection, the Division needs to ensure that registrants receive their registration back 
within a timely manner (e.g. two weeks). 

Inspections may be performed by a Registered Inspector prior to the registrant receiving the 
registration form from the Department. The Registered Inspector may note on the inspection 
form that the registration is pending. 

I believe 90 to 120 day post install time frame would be better served. The March 17th date is 
feasible. I believe most facilities schedule inspections around their patient/personnel schedules. 
Not opposed to changes but don't see that they would improve anything. Sites should be able to 
utilize the discounts as this can be large expense for small businesses. 

The January 17th invoicing date does not give Department staff enough time to review and 
process inspection reports received late in the year. By adopting the May 1st invoicing date, the 
Department staff should have ample time to review inspection reports and enter the information 
into the database that Fiscal Services uses to invoice. This will allow Fiscal Services to send an 
accurate invoice to the registrants who qualify for a reduction in fees. Billing would be improved 
for customers because it would allow most customers invoiced for correct fee. The number of 
customers receiving invoices will be substantially reduced. The Division has decided to extend 
the proposed time frame for a new x-ray tube to be inspected from 2 months to 3 months. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A. 
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule 
affects small businesses. 

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed rule that Would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule: 

The amended rule will affect small businesses with possession of x-ray producing equipment, and 
persons that inspect x-ray equipment. The estimated number of small businesses included under these 
rules is approximately 5,000 facilities. 

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for compliance with the 
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record: 

There are no projected additional reporting, recordkeeping or administrative costs as a result of the 
amendments to the current fee categories. 

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers: 

These amendments are being made in response to feedback from internal and external stakeholders. 
Many of these stakeholders are small businesses. These amendments will provide a better invoicing 
process affecting these businesses in a positive manner. 

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 
purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means 
might be less burdensome to small business: 

The Department is unaware of alternatives to the proposed rules. These amendments are being made in 
response to feedback from internal and external stakeholders. 

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts: 

There are no federal or state counterpart rules to compare. 

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the 
requirements contained in the proposed rule. 

Exempting small businesses from this proposed rule would result in denying them of the benefits it offers. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 201 O Session of the General Assembly) 

The Department anticipates that these amended rules will not have a financial impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1 ). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

Two subdivisions of Rule 0400-20-10-.24 regarding registration of radiation machines and services and 
inspection of newly acquired x-ray tubes are amended in order to increase the accuracy of registration fee 
invoicing and reduce the number of refunds issued by the Department of Environment and Conservation. 
Registrants of radiation machines can qualify to pay a reduced registration fee if a private individual approved by 
the Department performs required inspections (and the registrants meet other requirements.) Rule 0400-20-10-
.24(2) currently requires invoices to be dated January 17th and to be paid by March 17th. The Division of 
Radiological Health is not able to process all inspection reports received for inspections conducted during the 
previous year in time to determine whether the registrant qualifies for the discounted rate because the current 
rule requires invoices to be sent in January prior to issuance of registration fee invoices. The amended rule will 
require invoices to be dated May 1st and to be paid by June 15th so that the reports can be processed prior to 
invoicing. Rule 0400-20-10-.24(3)(d)2 is amended to require newly acquired x-ray tubes to be inspected within 

I 

3 months of ownership or possession instead of 6 months. Initial registration fees are invoiced on a quarterly 
basis. Due to this change, more inspection reports will be received and processed by the Division prior to 
issuance of the initial reqistration fee invoice. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

I These rules are promulgated under the authorities of T.C.A. §§ 68-202-101 et seq. and 4-5-201 et seq. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

All registrants of radiation machines (x-ray producing machines) and providers of radiation machine inspection 
services will be affected by these rule amendments. Comments received from the public included suggested 
changes and sought additional clarification. Some suggestions were beyond the scope of the proposed 
rulemaking but will be considered in the future. One suggestion was not feasible due to current technology and 
procedures. Two commenters suggested the same change (from 2 months to 3 months) which was 
incorporated into the rule amendments. The Tennessee Hospital Association, the Tennessee Medical 
Association, and the Tennessee Dental Association responded to the Department's notice of rulemaking that 
they did not have concerns or formal comments to submit. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

I The Department is not aware of any. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and lqcal government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I This rulemaking will not impact state or local government revenues or expenditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Emily Urban 
Office of General Counsel 
Department of Environment and Conservation 
(615) 532-0138 
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Emily.Urban@tn.gov 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

Emily Urban 
Assistant General Counsel 
Office of General Counsel 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Office of General Counsel 
Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation 
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 2nd Floor 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
(615) 532-8685 
Emilv. Urban@tn.qov 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 
' 

I The Department is not aware of any additional relevant information. 

CL 
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