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Hearings will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A. § 4-5-
204. For questions and copies of the notice, contact the person listed below.

Agency/Board/Commission: | Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
... Division: | Depariment of Commerce and insurance, Division of Regulatory Boards _
__ Contact Person: | Benton McDonough
Office of Legal Counsel

500 James Robertson Parkway
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__Address: | Nashville, Tennessee 37243
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Email: | Benton.mcdonough@tn.gov

Any Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (lo review these filings) and may
require aid to facilitate such participation should contact the following at least 10 days prior to the hearing: ‘

__ADAContact: | DonColeman
_Address: | 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, Tennessee 37243
Phone: | 615-741-3449
__Email: | Don.Coleman@itn.gov

Hearing Location(s) (for additional locations, copy and paste table)
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_Gity: | Nashville
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Rule(s} (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed. If needed, copy and paste additional tables to
accommodate more than one chapter. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row.)
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0660-03-.05 o Recrprocal Llc:enses o

Chapter Number | Chapter’ Title o _ .

| 0660-04 - Apprent:ces - . e e -
_Rule Number Rule Title ) . R

0660-04- 02 Quarterly Reports B ~ .

Chapter Number | Chapter Title e

0660-05 | Funeral Directors and Embalmers B _
Rule Numbe( ) Rule Tltle o R
0660-05-01 Apphcatlon _____ .

Chapter Number Chapter Title o o , —
0660-08 Clvil Penalties e
' Rule Number________ Rule Title o ‘ L

. 0660-08- .01 Civil Penalties e R
Chapter Number _Chapter Title i

. 0660-09 i Reguirements for Crematory o 3

' Rule Number Rule Title o . R _
0660-09-.01 | Requirements for a Crematory o ) _—

Chapter Number : Chapter Title . ~

0660-11 Standards of Service and Practice __7 . -
Rule Number___ _iRuleTitle o

0660-11-.05 Professional Conduct :

Chapter 0660-03
Fees

Amendments

Rule 0660-03-.04 - Renewals is amended by deleting the rule in its entirety and substituting the following
language so that, as amended the rule shall read:

0660-03-.04 Renewals

(1) Funeral Director. The fee for biennial renewal of a funeral director's license shall be two hundred thirty-
five dollars ($235.00). The penalty fee for late renewal shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00).

(2) Embalmer. The fee for biennial renewal of an embalmer’s license shall be two hundred thirty-five doliars
{$235.00). The penalty fee for late renewal shall be two hundred doliars ($200.00).

(3) Funerai Establishment. The fee for biennial renewal of a funeral establishment license shall be five
hundred seventy-five dollars ($575.00). The penalty fee for late renewal shall be two hundred dollars

($200.00).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203, 62-5-207, 62-5-315, and 62-5-316(b).

Rule 0660-03-.05 Reciprocal Licenses is amended by deleting the rule in its entirety and substituting the following
language so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

Rule 0660-03-.05 Reciprocal Licenses

(1) An application for a reciprocal funeral director’s or embalmer’s license shall be accompanied
by a non-refundable application fee of two hundred dollars ($200.00).

(2) The fee for a reciprocal funeral director's or embalmer's license shall be two hundred thirty-five dollars
($235.00).

(3) Any non-resident applicant for a reciprocal funeral director's or embalmer’s license failing to meet the
minimum qualifications described in T.C.A. § 62-5-311(b)(2), based solely upon a faiture to meet T.C.A. § 62-5-
305(b)(6) or (b)(7) for funeral directors or T.C.A. § 62-5-307(b)(6) or (b)}(7) for embalmers may meet such
qualifications provided that the nonresident applicant has been licensed by another state or provincial authority in
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good standing for five (5) consecutive years immediately preceding their application, and has been employed as a
funeral director or embatmer, or both, for such time.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-311.

Chapter 0660-04
Apprentices

Amendments

Rule 0660-04-.02 Quarterly Reports is amended by adding a new sentence to the end of the rule so that, as
amended, the rule shall read:

Rule 0660-04-.02 Quarterly Reports

Apprentices shall submit a quarterly report of apprenticeship training on a form prescribed by the Board. Such
report must be received no later than sixty (60) days following the (ast day of the quarter for which credit is
sought. Failure to file the quarterly report of apprenticeship training within the allotted time shall result in such
credit being denied for that period of time.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-312.

Chapter 0660-05
Funeral Directors and Embaimers

Amendments

Subparagraph (1)(f) of Rule 0660-05-.01 Application is amended by adding language to the end of parts (1)(f)(1}
and (1){f}(2) so that, as amended, the parts shall read as follows:

0660-05-.01 Application

(f) Certification of Completion of Apprenticeship Form attesting that either:
1. the applicant for a funeral director license has completed not less than two (2)
years of apprenticeship as a bona fide paid employee of an establishment
working not less than forty (40) hours per week in the presence of and under the
direction and supervision of a licensed funeral director as evidenced by the applicant submitting
quarterly reports of apprenticeship training within the allotted time throughout the duration of the

apprenticeship, or
2. the applicant for an embalmer license has completed not less than one (1) year
of apprenticeship as a bona fide paid employee of an establishment working not
less than forty (40) hours per week in the presence of and under the direction
and supervision of a licensed embalmer as evidenced by the applicant submitting quarterly
reports of apprenticeship training within the allotted time throughout the duration of the

apprenticeship.
Authority: T.C.A., §62-5-203, 62-5-305, 62-5-3086, 62-5-307 and 62-5-312.

Chapter 0660-08
Civil Penalties

Amendments

Paragraph (3) of Rule 0660-08-.01 Civil Penalties is amended by deleting “and” immediately following
subparagraph (3)(e), adding “; and” at the end of subparagraph (3)(f), and creating a new subparagraph (3)(g), so
that, as amended, paragraph ({3) shall read:

0660-08-.01 Civil Penalties

{3} In determining the amount of civil penalty to be assessed pursuant to this rule, the Board may
consider such factors as the following:
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(a) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic deterrent to the violator;

(b} The circumstances leading to the violation:

(c) The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the public;

(d) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a resuit of non-compliance;

(e) Whether the violator has been guilty of similar violations in the past and any discipline imposed for the
past violations; -

(f) The interests of the public; and

{g) The fength of time that has elapsed between the alleged violation and filing of the complaint.

-Authority: T.C.A. §§ 56-1-308, 62-5-203 and 62-5-317.

Chapter 0660-09
Requirements for Crematory

Amendments

Rule 0660-9-.01 Requirements for a Crematory is amended by deleting the rule in its entirety and substituting the
following language so that, as amended, the rule shall read:

0660-9-.01 Requirements for a Crematory

(1)} No person, partnership, firm, assoclation or corporation shalf conduct, maintain, manage or
operate a crematory facility unless a license as a funeral establishment for such facility has been
issued by the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.

(2} Application for licensure of crematory facility shall be on a form furnished and prescribed by the Board of
Funeral Directors and Embalmers and shall be accompanied by an application fee set by the Board for funeral
establishment. No license shall be issued unless the crematory facility has been inspected and approved as
meeting all requirements as set forth by the Board, the Department of Health, Department of Environment
reguiation or any local ordinance regulating the same. :

(3) No more than one (1) dead human body shall be placed in a retort at one (1) time, unless written permission
has been received from the personal representative for each body.

(4) In the event the urn or other container is insufficient to accommodate all of the cremated remains, the excess
will be placed by the crematory operator in a secondary container. This secondary container shall be kept with
the urn or other container and handled according to the final disposition instructions set forth by the Authorizing

Agent(s}.

(5) No more than one cremated remains may be placed in any container, unless written permission has been
received from the personal representative responsible for the remains.

(6} Cremated remains may not be commingled for storage or disposition. Each individual cremated remains must
be kept separate and properly identified on the container, unless otherwise authorized by personal
representatives,

{7) That the entire cremated remains be returned to the family and/or responsible party.

(8)(a) All cremations of human remains in this state shall be arranged through the holder of a valid, current funeral
establishment license issued by the board;

{b) All cremations of human remains in this state shall be directly supervised by a licensed funeral director during
the cremation process; including, but not limited to, the placement of remains in cremation chamber, repositioning
of remains, removal from chamber, processing, and placement in an urn or other container.

(9) Each crematory shall submit its cremation authorization form to the Board for approval, prior to using said
form. Every funeral establishment shail use the cremation authorization form approved by the Board and
provided by the crematory where the human remains are to be cremated.,

(10) Acceptance of a license issued by the Board gives a Board representative the right to inspect the crematory
and the records of the crematory at any time.
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{11) At no time shall any crematory be used for any purpose other than the cremation of dead human bodies.

(12) Any funerat director, embalmer or crematory operator who obtains specific instructions or authorization, as
required in T.C.A. 62-5-607(f), to remove any prosthetic devices, pacemakers, implants, metal hinges, laiches,
nails, screws, staples, plates, or any other artificial device or structure from a dead human body prior to the
cremation or from the cremated remains after cremation, the funeral director, embalmer or crematory operator
shall dispose of the prosthetic devices, pacemakers, implants, metal hinges, latches, nails, screws, staples,
plates, or other artificial devices or structures in a fawful non-recoverable manner, so that only human bone
fragments remain. While the funeral director or crematory operator may receive compensation from a recycling
company for retrieving these materials and shipping them to the recycling company, the funeral director,
embalmer or crematory operator shall not receive a fee for doing so that exceeds the actual cost to the crematory
facility for performing or assisting in the removal and shipping costs of those materials.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203, 62-5-101 and 62-5-309.

Chapter 0660-11
Professional Conduct

Amendments

Rule 0660-11-.05 Professional Conduct is amended by creating new subparagraphs (f) and {g) so that, as
amended, the rule shall read:

0660-11-.05 Professional Conduct

(1) All persons engaged in the profession of funeral directing, embaiming or operation of a
funeral establishment shail at all times act in a professional manner including, but not limited to, the

following:
{a) Members of the pubfic shall be treated in a respectful manner.
(b) Establishments shall honor financial obligations to suppliers, distributors or other

persons with whom they conduct business in a timely manner.

{c) Any person who has been assessed a fee pursuant to statute or rules of the Board,
and which fee is currently due, shall submit payment within the time provided by written notice.

{d) Any licensee, upon receiving notice that a complaint has been opened against the
licensee, shall respond within the time specified in the notice. Provided, the director may grant a
request for extension submitted within the period of time stated in the original notice.

(e} An establishment shall not unreasonably delay the filing of a certificate of death.

(f) An embalmer shall make every reasonable effort to return viscera to the body cavity for final
disposition. In the event the embalmer is unable to return the viscera to the body cavity, the
viscera shall be placed in a non-porous container, labeled as such, and disposed of in an
identical manner to the remains.

{9) Licensees shall obey any lawful order entered by the Boatd,

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-317.
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