Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration
Bureau of TennCare

Chapter 1200-13-13
TennCare Medicaid

Statement of Necessity Requiring Public Necessity Rules

I am herewith submitting amendments to the rules of the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration,
Bureau of TennCare (“TennCare”), for promulgation pursuant to the public necessity provisions of the Uniform
Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A. § 4-5-209.

Effective July 22, 2008, TennCare received approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(“*CMS”) to amend the TennCare Il 1115 Demonstration Waiver (No. 11-W-00151/4). This Waiver Amendment
#6 places certain limits on the coverage of home health services and private duty nursing services for adults
enrolled in the TennCare Program.

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-209(a)(3), the Commissioner is authorized to promulgate public necessity rules
when required by an agency of the federal government and adoption of the rules through ordinary rulemaking
procedures might jeopardize the loss of a federal program or funds.

| have made a finding that in order to prevent the loss of federal funds, these rule amendments are required to
be adopted as public necessity rules pursuant to T.C.A. 8§71-5-105, 71-5-109 and 4-5-209(a)(3), to assure that
the TennCare rules are in compliance with Amendment #6 to the TennCare 1l 1115 Demonstration Waiver.

For a copy of this public necessity rule, contact George Woods at the Bureau of TennCare by mail at 310
Great Circle Road, Nashville, Tennessee 37243 or by telephone at (615) 507-6446.

Darin J. Gordon
Director, Bureau of TennCare

Public Necessity Rules
of
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration
Bureau of TennCare
Chapter 1200-13-13
TennCare Medicaid

Amendments

Paragraph (52) of rule 1200-13-13-.01 Definitions is deleted in its entirety and replaced with a new paragraph
(52) which shall read as follows:

(52) Home Health Services shall mean:
@) Any of the services identified in 42 CFR 440.70 and delivered in accordance with the

provisions of 42 CFR 440.70. “Part-time or intermittent nursing services” and “home health
aide services” are covered only as defined specifically in these rules.



(b)

1. Part-time or intermittent nursing services.

(i)

(ii)

(i)

To be considered “part-time or intermittent,” nursing services must be
provided as no more than one visit per day, with each visit lasting less than
eight (8) hours, AND no more than 27 total hours of nursing care may be
provided per week. In addition, nursing services and home health aide
services combined must total less than or equal to eight (8) hours per day
and 35 or fewer hours per week. On a case-by-case basis, the weekly total
for nursing services may be increased to 30 hours and the weekly total for
nursing services and home health aide services combined may be increased
to 40 hours for patients qualifying for Level 2 skilled nursing care.

Part-time or intermittent nursing services are not covered if the only skilled
nursing function needed is administration of medications on a prn (as
needed) basis. Nursing services may include medication administration;
however, a nursing visit will not be extended in order to administer medication
or perform other skilled nursing functions at more than one point during the
day, unless skilled nursing services are medically necessary throughout the
intervening period.

The above limits may be exceeded when medically necessary for children
under the age of 21.

2. Home health aide services.

(i)

(ii)

Home health aide services must be provided as no more than two visits
per day with care provided less than or equal to eight (8) hours per day.
Nursing services and home health aide services combined must total less
than or equal to eight (8) hours per day and 35 or fewer hours per week.
On a case-by-case basis, the weekly total may be increased to 40 hours
for patients qualifying for Level 2 skilled nursing care.

The above limits may be exceeded when medically necessary for children
under the age of 21.

Home health providers shall only provide services to the recipient that have been ordered
by the treating physician and are pursuant to a plan of care and shall not provide other
services such as general child care services, cleaning services, preparation of meals, or
services to other household members. Because children typically have non-medical care
needs which must be met, to the extent that home health services are provided to a person
under 18 years of age, a responsible adult (other than the home health care provider) must
be present at all times in the home during the provision of home health services unless all
of the following criteria are met:

1. The child is non-ambulatory; and

2.

The child has no or extremely limited ability to interact with caregivers;
and

3. The child shall not reasonably be expected to have needs that fall outside the scope
of medically necessary TennCare covered benefits (e.g. the child has no need for
general supervision or meal preparation) during the time the home health provider
is present in the home without the presence of another responsible adult; and



4, No other children shall be present in the home during the time the home health
provider is present in the home without the presence of another responsible
adult.

Paragraph (88) of rule 1200-13-13-.01 Definitions is deleted in its entirety and replaced with a new paragraph
(88) which shall read as follows:

(88)

Private Duty Nursing Services shall mean nursing services for recipients who require eight (8) or
more hours of continuous skilled nursing care during a 24-hour period.

(@)

(b)

(©)

A person who needs intermittent skilled nursing functions at specified intervals, but who
does not require continuous skilled nursing care throughout the period between each
interval, shall not be determined to need continuous skilled nursing care. Skilled nursing
care is provided by a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse under the direction of the
recipient’s physician to the recipient and not to other household members.

If it is determined by the MCO to be cost-effective, non-skilled services may be provided by
a nurse rather than a home health aide. However, it is the total number of hours of skilled
nursing services, not the number of hours that the nurse is in the home, that determines
whether the nursing services are continuous or intermittent.

Private duty nursing services are covered for adults aged 21 and older only when medically
necessary to support the use of ventilator equipment or other life-sustaining medical
technology when constant nursing supervision, visual assessment, and monitoring of both
equipment and patient are required. For purposes of this rule, an adult is considered to be
using ventilator equipment or other life-sustaining medical technology if he:

1. Is ventilator dependent for at least 12 hours each day with an
invasive patient end of the circuit (i.e., tracheostomy cannula); or

2. Has a functioning tracheostomy
0) Requiring suctioning; and
(i) Oxygen supplementation; and
(iii) Receiving nebulizer treatments or requiring the use of Cough Assist/in-

exsufflator devices; and

(iv) In addition, for persons with a functioning tracheostomy, at least one from
each of the following (I and II) must be met:

() Medication:

l. Receiving medication via a gastrostomy tube (G-tube);
or

Il Receiving medication via a Peripherally Inserted Central
Catheter (PICC) line or central port; and

(1 Nutrition:
l. Receiving bolus or continuous feedings via a

permanent access such as a G-tube, Mickey Button, or
Gastrojejunostomy tube (G-J tube); or

3



(d)

()

()

Il. Receiving total parenteral nutrition.

Private duty nursing services are covered as medically necessary for children under the age of
21in accordance with EPSDT requirements. As a general rule, only a child who is dependent
upon technology-based medical equipment requiring constant nursing supervision, visual
assessment, and monitoring of both equipment and child will be determined to need private
duty nursing services. However, determinations of medical necessity will continue to be
made on an individualized basis.

A child who needs less than eight (8) hours of continuous skilled nursing care during a 24-
hour period, or an adult who needs nursing care but does not qualify for private duty nursing
care per the requirements of these rules may receive medically necessary nursing care as
an intermittent service under home health.

General childcare services and other non-hands-on assistance such as cleaning and meal
preparation shall not be provided by a private duty nurse. Because children typically have
non-medical care needs which must be met, to the extent that private duty nursing services
are provided to a person under 18 years of age, a responsible adult (other than the private
duty nurse) must be present at all times in the home during the provision of private duty
nursing services unless all of the following criteria are met:

1. The child is non-ambulatory; and
2. The child has no or extremely limited ability to interact with caregivers; and
3. The child shall not reasonably be expected to have needs that fall outside the scope

of medically necessary TennCare covered benefits (e.g., the child has no need for
general supervision or meal preparation) during the time the private duty nurse is
present in the home without the presence of another responsible adult; and

4, No other children shall be present in the home during the time the private duty nurse
is present in the home without the presence of another responsible adult.

Parts 10. and 30. of subparagraph (b) of paragraph (1) of rule 1200-13-13-.04 COVERED SERVICES are
deleted in their entirety and replaced with new parts 10. and 30. which shall read as follows:

BENEFIT FOR PERSONS UNDER | BENEFIT FOR PERSONS AGED

AGE 21

21 AND OLDER

10. Home Health
Care [defined at 42
CFR 8440.70(a),
(b), (c), and (e) and
at Rule 1200-13-13-
.01].

Covered as medically necessary
in accordance with the definition of
Home Health Care at Rule 1200-
13-13-.01. Prior authorization
required for home health nurse
and home health aide services, as
described in Paragraph (7) of this
rule.

All home health care must be
delivered by a licensed Home
Health Agency, as defined by 42
CFR § 440.70.

Covered as medically necessary
in accordance with the definition of
Home Health Care at Rule 1200-
13-13-.01. Prior authorization
required for home health nurse
and home health aide services, as
described in Paragraph (7) of this
rule.

All home health care must be
delivered by a licensed Home
Health Agency, as defined by 42
CFR § 440.70.




BENEFIT FOR PERSONS UNDER
AGE 21

BENEFIT FOR PERSONS AGED
21 AND OLDER

30. Private Duty
Nursing [defined at
42 CFR 8440.80 and
at Rule 1200-13-13-
.01].

Covered as medically necessary
in accordance with the definition
of Private Duty Nursing at Rule
1200-13-13-.01, when prescribed
by an attending physician for
treatment and services rendered
by a Registered Nurse (R.N.) or
a licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.)
who is not an immediate relative.
Prior authorization required, as
described in Paragraph (7) of this
rule.

Covered as medically necessary

in accordance with the definition

of Private Duty Nursing at Rule
1200-13-13-.01, when prescribed
by an attending physician for
treatment and services rendered

by a Registered Nurse (R.N.) or

a licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.)
who is not an immediate relative.
Private duty nursing services are
limited to services that support the
use of ventilator equipment or other
life-sustaining technology when
constant nursing supervision, visual
assessment, and monitoring of both
equipment and patient are required.
Prior authorization required, as
described in Paragraph (7) of this
rule.

Paragraph (7) of rule 1200-13-13-.04 Covered Services is deleted in its entirety and replaced with a new

paragraph (7) which shall read as follows:

(7 Prior Authorization for Home Health Nurse, Home Health Aide, and Private Duty Nursing

Services.

Prior authorization by the MCC must be obtained in order to establish the medical necessity of all
requested home health nurse, home health aide, and private duty nursing services.

(@) The following information must be provided when seeking prior authorization for home health
nurse, home health aide, and private duty nursing services:

1.

2.

Name of physician prescribing the service(s);

Specific information regarding the patient’s medical condition and any associated
disability that creates the need for the requested service(s); and

Specific information regarding the service(s) the nurse or aide is expected to perform,
including the frequency with which each service must be performed (e.g., tube
feeding patient 7:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m., and 5:00 p.m. daily; bathe patient once per
day; administer medications three (3) times per day; catheterize patient as needed
from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday; change dressing on wound
three (3) times per week). Such information should also include the total period
of time that the services are anticipated to be medically necessary by the treating
physician (e.g., total number of weeks or months).

(b) Home health nurses and aides and private duty nurses will never be authorized to personally
transport a TennCare enrollee. Home health nurses will never be authorized to accompany
an enrollee outside the home. Home health aides will never be authorized to accompany
an enrollee twenty-one (21) years of age or older outside the home.



()

(d)

(e)

Private duty nursing services are limited to services provided in the recipient’'s own home,
with the following two exceptions:

1.

Arecipient age twenty-one (21) or older who requires eight (8) or more hours of skilled
nursing care in a 24-hour period and is authorized to receive private duty nursing services
in the home setting may make use of the approved hours outside of that setting in order
for the nurse to accompany the recipient to:

0] Outpatient health care services (including services delivered through a
TennCare home and community based services waiver program);

(i) Public or private secondary school or credit classes at an accredited
vocational or technical school or institute of higher education; or,

(iii) Work at his place of employment.

A recipient under the age of twenty-one (21) who requires eight (8) or more hours
of continuous skilled nursing care in a 24-hour period and is authorized to receive
those services in the home setting may make use of the approved hours outside of
that setting when normal life activities temporarily take him outside of that setting.
Normal life activity for a child under the age of twenty-one (21) means routine work
(including work in supported or sheltered work settings); licensed child care; school
and school-related activities; religious services and related activities; and outpatient
health care services (including services delivered through a TennCare home and
community based services waiver program). Normal life activities do not include
non-routine or extended home absences.

A private duty nurse may accompany a recipient in the circumstances outlined in
Subparagraphs (c)1. and (c)2. immediately above, but may not drive.

Private duty nursing services will only be authorized when there are competent family
members or caregivers as indicated below.

1.

Private duty nursing services include services to teach and train the recipient and
the recipient’s family or other caregivers how to manage the treatment regimen.
Having a caregiver willing to learn the tasks necessary to provide a safe environment
and quality in home care is essential to assuring the recipient is properly attended
to when a nurse of other paid caregiver is not present, including those times when
the recipient chooses to attend community activities to which these rules do not
specifically permit the private duty nurse or other paid caregiver to accompany the
patient.

To ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the individual, in order to receive private
duty nursing services, the recipient must have family or caregivers who:

() Have a demonstrated understanding, ability, and commitment in the care
of the individual related to ventilator management, support of other life-
sustaining technology, medication administration, and feeding, or in the
case of children, other medically necessary skilled nursing functions, as
applicable; and

(i) Are trained and willing to meet the recipient’s nursing needs during the
hours when paid nursing care is not provided, and to provide backup in the
event of an emergency; and



(iii) Are willing and available as needed to meet the recipient’s non-nursing
support needs.

(iv) In the case of children under the age of 18, the parent or guardian will be
expected to fill this role. In the case of an adult age 18 and older, if the
health, safety, and welfare of the individual cannot be assured because
the recipient does not have such family or caregiver, private duty nursing
services may be denied, subject to (1) and (Il) below. However, it shall be
the responsibility of the MCO to:

0] Arrange for the appropriate level of care, which may include nursing
facility care, if applicable; and

(1 In the case of a person currently receiving private duty nursing
services, facilitate transition to such appropriate level of care prior
to termination of the private duty nursing service.

() Nursing services (provided as part of home health services or by a private duty nurse) will
be approved only if the requested service(s) is of the type that must be provided by a nurse
as opposed to an aide, except that the MCO may elect to have a nurse perform home health
aide services in addition to nursing services if the MCO determines that this is a less costly
alternative than providing the services of both a nurse and an aide. Examples of appropriate
nursing services include, but are not limited to, management of ventilator equipment or other
life-sustaining medical technology, medication management, and tube feedings.

(9) Home health aide services will only be approved if the requested service(s) meet all medical
necessity requirements including the requirements of 1200-13-16-.05(4)(d). Thus, home
health aide services will not be approved to provide child care services, prepare meals,
perform housework, or generally supervise patients. Examples of appropriate home health
aide services include, but are not limited to, patient transfers and bathing

Paragraph (5) of rule 1200-13-13-.08 Providers is deleted in its entirety and replaced with a new paragraph
(5) which shall read as follows:

(5) Providers may seek payment from a TennCare enrollee only under the following circumstances:

@ If the services are not covered by the TennCare program and, prior to providing the services,
the provider informed the enrollee that the services were not covered; or

(b) If the services are not covered because they are in excess of an enrollee’s benefit limit and
one of the following circumstances applies:

1. The provider determines effective on the date of service that the enrollee has
reached his/her benefit limit for the particular service being requested and, prior to
providing the service, informs the enrollee that the service is not covered and the
service will not be paid for by TennCare. The source of the provider’s information
must be a database listed on the TennCare website as approved by TennCare on
the date of the provider’s inquiry.

2. The provider has information in his/her own records to support the fact that the
enrollee has reached his/her benefit limit for the particular service being requested
and, prior to providing the service, informs the enrollee that the service is not covered
and will not be paid for by TennCare. This information may include:



(b)

0] A previous written denial of a claim on the basis that the service was in
excess of the enrollee’s benefit limit for a service within the same benefit
category as the service being requested, if the time period applicable to
the benefit limit is still in effect:

(i) That the provider had previously examined the database referenced in part
1. above and determined that the enrollee had reached his/her benefit limit
for the particular service being requested, if the time period applicable to
that benefit limit is still in effect; or

(iii) That the provider had personally provided services to the enrollee in excess
of his/her benefit limit within the same benefit category as the service being
requested, if the time period applicable to that benefit period is still in effect,
or

(iv) The enrollee’s MCO has provided confirmation to the provider that the
enrollee has reached his/her benefit limit for the applicable service.

The provider submits a claim for service to the appropriate managed care contractor
(MCC) and receives a written denial of that claim on the basis that the service
exceeds the enrollee’s benefit limit. Thereafter, following informing the enrollee and
within the remainder of the period applicable to that benefit limit, the provider may
bill the enrollee for services within that same exhausted benefit category without
having to submit, for repeated MCC denial, claims for those subsequent services.
If the provider informed the enrollee prior to providing the service for which the claim
was denied that the service would exceed the enrollee’s benefit limit and would not
be paid for by TennCare, the provider may bill the enrollee for that service.

The provider had previously taken the steps in parts 1., 2., 3. or 4. above and
determined that the enrollee had reached his/her benefit limit for the particular
service being requested, if the time period applicable to the benefit limit is still in
effect, and informs the enrollee, prior to providing the service, that the service is
not covered and will not be paid for by TennCare.

If the services are covered only with prior authorization and prior authorization has been

requested but denied, or is requested and a specified lesser level of care is approved, and
the provider has given prior notice to the enrollee that the services are not covered, the
enrollee may elect to receive those services for which prior authorization has been denied or
which exceed the authorized level of care and be billed by the provider for such services.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. 4-5-209, 71-5-105, 71-5-109.

(615) 507-6446.

The Public Necessity rules set out herein were properly filed in the Department of State on the 8th day of
September, 2008, and will be effective from the date of filing for a period of 165 days. The Public Necessity
rules remain in effect through the 20th day of February, 2009. (FS 09-03-08; DBID 3058)



