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Rule 0455-01-01-.04 is amended to read as follows:
0455-01-01-.04 USE OF FORMS.

Applications and forms shall be made on the prescribed forms approved by the Board. Copies of instructions and
forms are available from the Board of Court Reporting.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-609, 20-9-610, 20-9-613, and 20-9-614.

Rule 0455-01-01-.05 is amended by amending paragraphs (1), (3), and (4) and deleting paragraph (5), so as to
read as follows:

0455-01-01-.05 MAINTENANCE AND INSPECTION OF BOARD RECORDS.

(1) The Board shall maintain its records in accordance with the Tennessee Public Records law, T.C.A.
Title 10, Chapter 7.

(2) Public records maintained by the Board shall be subject to public disclosure pursuant to the
Tennessee Public Meetings law, T.C.A. Title 8, Chapter 44 and the Tennessee Public Records law,
T.C.A. Title 10, Chapter 7.

(3) Upon request to the Executive Director of the Board, public records maintained by the Board shall be
available for inspection and duplication at the Board of Court Reporting during regular business hours.

The inspection and duplication of public records shall be under the supervision of the Executive Director
of the Board or his/her designee.

(4) Any person wishing to obtain copies of public records shéll submit a written request to the Board of
Court Reporting. Copies will be supplied upon payment of costs based on the most current version of the
Schedule of Reasonable Charges issued by the Office of Open Records Counsel.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-604, 20-9-605, and 20-9-607.

Rule 0455-01-02-.03 is amended by amending paragraph (1) and deleting paragraph (2), so as to read as follows:

0455-01-02-.03 VERIFICATION OF TENNESSEE LICENSE.

Verification of licensure will be available through the Board’s website.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-604, 20-9-605, and 20-9-607.

Rule 0455-01-02-.04 is amended deleting paragraph (7), so as to read as follows:

0455-01-02-.04 FEES.
(1) Fees and civil penalties are not refundable.

(2) Fees are payable by certified check, cashier’s check, corporate or business check, money order,
personal check or electronic means.

(a) Counter checks are not an acceptable method of payment. Personal checks shall be imprinted
with the name, address and account number of the applicant or licensee.

(b) Personal checks by third parties are not acceptable.

(c) Applicants or licensees who submit personal checks returned due to insufficient funds may be
prohibited from paying any future fees or civil penalties by personal check.

SS-7039 (June 2016) 2 RDA 1693



(d) Statutory charges for returned checks shall be paid by the applicant or licensee, along with
any penalties and fees authorized pursuant to T.C.A. Title 47, Chapter 29.

(3) Civil penalties are payable by certified check, cashier's check, corporate or business check, money
order or electronic means.

(4) Payment, regardless of method, that is not honored by the financial institution may result in
disciplinary action and/or reporting to the appropriate legal authorities for possible prosecution.

(5) A license may not be issued until funds are received by the Board.
(6) Standard Fee Schedule Amount

(a) License Fee......cooevvieiiiiiiiiii i .. 5200

(b) Application Fee.............coccoeeiiiiiici ... $50

(c)Renewal Fee...........cooooiviiiii i .. $200

(d) Late Renewal Fee.............c....coeeeveevinien ... $20 per month, or portion thereof, up to six

(6) months

(e) Temporary License Fee.............cccccovviiiiii e, $50

(f) Temporary License Renewal Fee.........................$50

(9) Reinstatement Fee....................cccoeeeeie e ... 8350

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-610, 20-9-611, 20-9-612, and 20-9-614.

Rule 0455-01-03-.01 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.01 TEMPORARY LICENSURE.

Any person who provides to the board satisfactory proof of graduation from a court reporting program or its
equivalent shall, upon application to the board on forms approved by the board and payment of a fee in an
amount determined by the board, be issued a temporary license to practice as a court reporter. This temporary
license shall expire sixty (60) days following the date upon which the next board-approved examination for
licensure is given. Up to three (3) additional temporary licenses may be granted upon sufficient proof of good
cause for issuance.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-609, 20-9-612, and 20-9-614.

Rule 0455-01-03-.02 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.02 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE — STANDARD PROCESS.

(1) Any person may submit an application to be licensed as a court reporter. The application shall
include:

(a) Proof of passage of the National Court Reporters Association registered professional reporter
examination, the National Verbatim Reporters Association certified verbatim reporter
examination, or the American Association of Electronic Reporters and Transcribers certified
electronic court reporter examination.

(b) Applications for licensure shall be signed and sworn by the applicants and submitted on forms
furnished by the Board.
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(c) Payment of licensure fee.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, and 20-9-609.

Rule 0455-01-03-.03 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.03 RENEWAL.

(1) A newly issued court reporter license in Tennessee shall be valid for two (2) years or for other such
period of time authorized by T.C.A. § 20-9-611. The holder of the license may renew such license during
the 60 days preceding the expiration date thereof by paying the required fee and completion of the
application for renewal.

(2) It is the responsibility of each licensee to notify the Board of any change of address within thirty (30)
days. Failure to receive a renewal form from the Board shall not constitute an excuse for failure to renew
licensure. :

(3) Late renewal applications may be received following expiration of license with the required fees. No

late renewal will be granted if a completed application is not received by the Board within six (6) months
of the expiration of the license. After six (6) months following the expiration of the license, the applicant

must apply for a new license.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-609, 20-9-611, and 20-9-612.

Rule 0455-01-03-.04 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.04 MILITARY APPLICANTS
(1) An applicant for licensure meeting the requirements of T.C.A. § 4-3-1304(d)(1) may:

(a) Be issued a license upon application and payment of all fees required for the issuance of such
license, if, in the opinion of the Board, the requirements for licensure satisfied by the applicant in
another state are substantially equivalent to that required in Tennessee; or

(b) Be issued a temporary permit as described herein if the Board determines that the applicant's
license does not meet the requirements for substantial equivalency, but that the applicant could
perform additional acts, including — but not limited to — education, training, or experience, in order
to meet the requirements for the license to be substantially equivalent. The Board may issue a
temporary permit upon application and payment of all fees required for issuance of a regular
license of the same type, which shall allow such person to perform services as if fully licensed for
a set period of time that is determined to be sufficient by the Board for the applicant to complete
such requirements.

1. After completing those additional requirements and providing the Board with sufficient
proof thereof as may be required, a full license shall be issued to the applicant with an
issuance date of the original issuance of the temporary permit and an expiration date as if
the full license had been issued at that time.

2. A temporary permit shall be issued for a period no longer than the length of a renewal
cycle for a full license of the same type.

3. A temporary permit shall expire upon the date set by the Board and shall not be
subject to renewal except through the completion of the requirements for substantial
equivalency as required by the Board or by an extension of time granted for good cause
by the Board.

4. Should an extension to a temporary permit cause the permit to be in effect longer than
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the renewal cycle of a full license, then the holder of the temporary permit shall file a
renewal application with such documentation and fees, including completion of continuing
education, as are required by the Board for all other renewals of a full license of the same

type.

(2) Military education, training, or experience completed by a person described at T.C.A. § 4-3-
1304(d)(1)(B)(ii)(a)-(c) shall be accepted toward the qualifications, in whole or in part, to receive any
license issued by the Board if such military education, training, or experience is determined by the Board
to be substantially equivalent to the education, training, or experience required for the issuance of such
license.

(3) Any licensee who is a member of the National Guard or a reserve component of the armed forces of
the United States called to active duty whose license expires during the period of activation shall be
eligible to be renewed upon the licensee being released from active duty without:

(a) Payment of late fees or other penalties; or
(b) Obtaining continuing education credits when:

1. Circumstances associated with the person’s military duty prevented the obtaining of
continuing education credits and a waiver request has been submitted to the Board; or

2. The person performs the licensed occupation as part of such person’s military duties
and provides documentation sufficient to demonstrating such to Board.

(4) The license shall be eligible for renewal pursuant to Paragraph (3) for six (6) months from the person’s
release from active duty.

(5) Any person renewing under Paragraph (3) shall provide the Board such supporting documentation
evidencing activation as may be required by the Board prior to the renewal of any license pursuant to
Paragraph (3).

~ Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-1304(d)(1) and 20-9-605.

Rule 0455-01-04-.01 is amended by amending paragraphs (1)(c), (1)(e), (1)(g), (1)(k), adding paragraph(1)(l) and
renumbering paragraphs (1)(m-o), and amending paragraph (1)(p) so that the rule reads as follows:

0455-01-04-.01 STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.

(1) In order to establish and maintain a high standard of integrity in the practice of court reporting, the
following Standards of Professional Conduct shall be binding on every person holding a license, of any
type, from the Board. A Tennessee licensed court reporter:

(a) Shall be fair and impartial toward each participant in all aspects of reported proceedings.

(b) Should only accept an assignment if their level of competence will result in the preparation of
an accurate transcript, shall refuse an assignment if they believe their abilities are inadequate,
and shall recommend or assign an assignment to another licensee only if such licensee has the
competence required for such assignment.

(c) Shall provide information regarding services to be rendered regarding administration of
professional services to all parties and shall make timely delivery of transcripts.

(d) Must immediately disclose any conflict of interest or appearance of impropriety as soon as it
arises pursuant to T.C.A. § 24-9-136.

(e) Should immediately seek inactive status and refrain from practice if they become impaired and
unable to function according to the standards of practice.

(f) Shall preserve the confidentiality and ensure the security of information, oral or written,
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entrusted to the licensee by any and all of the parties in the proceeding.

(g9) Shall establish a plan for the security and preservation of shorthand notes and any backups,
both paper and electronic. All such plans shall preserve notes and backups for a period of time
that complies with statutory requirement or rules and guidelines of the court. In the absence of a
law or rule, notes and backups must be retained for no less than five (5) years.

(h) Shall affix the licensee's signature, license number and expiration date to a transcript to certify
to its accuracy.

(i) Shall not authorize the use of the licensee number on any transcript not produced through the
personal effort or supervision, or both.

(i) Shall not permit the use of the licensee name or firm’s name, nor shall a licensee be
associated in business ventures with persons or firms that the licensee has reason to believe to
be engaging in fraudulent or dishonest business practices.

(k) Shall inform the Board of Court Reporting if they have knowledge that another court reporter
has committed a violation of these Standards of Professional Conduct or the Tennessee Court
Reporter Act of 2009 that raises a substantial question as to that court reporter’s honesty,
trustworthiness, or fithess as a court reporter.

(1) Shall cooperate with any investigation resulting from a complaint for disciplinary action.

(m) Shall not commit a criminal act that reflects on the court reporter’s honesty, trustworthiness or
fitness as a court reporter.

(n) Shall be truthful and accurate when making public statements or when advertising
qualifications or services provided.

(o) Shall meet all mandated continuing education requirements and should keep abreast of
current literature and technological advances and developments as related to the profession of
court reporting.

(p) Shall refrain from giving, directly or indirectly, any gift, incentive, reward or anything of value to

attorneys or any other persons or entities associated with the litigation, except for items that do
not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00) in the aggregate per individual each year.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605 and 20-9-607.

Rule 0455-01-05-.04 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-05-.04 INVESTIGATIONS AND COMPLAINTS.

(1) The Board may investigate any person engaged, or suspected of engaging, in any business or activity
regulated under the Tennessee Court Reporter Act of 2009.

(2) Upon receipt of any written complaint regarding any licensee or person engaged in unlicensed activity,
the Board shall provide a copy of the written complaint to the accused party within five (5) days. Such
party shall file a written answer to the complaint, within twenty (20) days, upon request by the Board.

Rule 0455-01-05-.05 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting and renumbering
rule 0455-01-05-.06, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-05-.05 UNIFORM ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT.

The Board hereby adopts by reference as its rules the Uniform Administrative Procedure Act, T.C.A. Title 4,
Chapter 5, for governing contested cases, appeals, and related proceedings.
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-606, 20-9-607, and 20-9-608.

Rule 0455-01-05-.06 is amended by moving the text of the rule in its entirety to 0455-01-05-.05 and substituting

instead the following, so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-05-.06 CIVIL PENALTIES.
(1) With respect to any licensed court reporter or temporarily licensed court reporter, the Board may, in
addition to or in lieu of any other lawful disciplinary action, assess a civil penalty against such licensee for
each separate statutory or regulatory violation, not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) per violation.
(2) With respect to any person required to be licensed in this state as a court reporter, the Board may
assess a civil penalty against such person for each separate statutory or regulatory violation not to
exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) per violation.

(3) Each daily violation constitutes a separate offense.

(4) In determining the amount of any penalty to be assessed pursuant to this rule, the Board may
consider such factors as the following:

(a) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic deterrent to the violator;

(b) The circumstances leading to the violation;

(c) The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the public;

(d) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result of noncompliance;

(e) The interest of the public; and

(f) Willfulness of the violation.
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-606, 20-9-607, 20-9-608, and 56-1-308.
Rule 0455-01-05-.07 is amended by inserting the text of rule 0455-01-05-.11, so the rule, as amended, shall read:
0455-01-05-.07 REINSTATEMENT OF A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE.

(1) Application for reinstatement shall include evidence of corrective action taken by the licensee. Such
application shall be made utilizing the forms provided by the Board.

(2) In considering reinstatement of a revoked license, the Board may evaluate factors that include but are
not limited to:

(a) Severity of the act(s) that resulted in suspension or revocation of the license.
(b) Conduct of the applicant subsequent to the suspension or revocation of license.
(c) Lapse of time since suspension or revocation.

(d) Compliance with all reinstatement requirements stipulated by the Board.

(e) Rehabilitation attained by the applicant as evidenced by statements provided directly to the
Board from qualified individuals who have professional knowledge of the applicant.

(f) Violation by the applicant of any applicable statute or rule.

(g) Direct or implied representation(s) of licensure by the individual during the period of
revocation.
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-606, 20-9-607, and 20-9-608.

Rule 0455-01-05-.08 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.

Rule 0455-01-05-.09 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.

Rule 0455-01-05-.10 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.

Rule 0455-01-06-.01 is amended by adding paragraph (6), so that the rule reads as follows:

0455-01-06-.01 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.
(1) Beginning with the first renewal period and every renewal period thereafter, every licensee who
applies for renewal of a license shall have completed two (2) credits of continuing education (CE) relevant
to the practice of court reporting.
(2) A renewal period is the twenty-four (24) months preceding July 1 of the year of license expiration.
(3) A CE credit means ten (10) hours of continuing education.
(4) A CE hour means a minimum of fifty (50) minutes of actual clock time spent by a licensee in actual
attendance at and completion of an approved CE activity. After completion of the initial CE hour, credit
may be given in half hour (.5) increments.

(5) Non-resident licensees shall comply with the CE requirements set forth in this Section.

(6) Failure to obtain the requisite CE credits will resulf in an incomplete application and will cause the
application to not be processed.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, and 20-9-612.

Rule 0455-01-06-.05 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.
Rule 0455-01-06-.06 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Ken Mansfield X

Britton Collins X

Earl Houston X

Terri Beckham X

John Rambo X

Ken Gibson X
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by the Board of Court Reporting on 06/16/2016, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.
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All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
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Attorney General and Reporter
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Do the proposed rule and regulation changes only apply to
changes and all other areas remain?

Response: The rules posted originally, were the proposed changes only. Upon publication of the redlined version
of the rules, the public is able to see that unless the rules have a redlined change, the language remains the
same. There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Why was the military applicant rule included?
Response: The military applicant rule was added to comply with federal law and Tenn. Code Ann. §4-3-1304(d).
There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: At the June 2015 meeting, amendments to the Standards
of Professional Conduct, Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-04-.01, were adopted and do not appear to be added
to the current version of the rules. Ms. McConnell included proposed sections (p) through (v).

Response: The rules presented were not added at the June 2015 meeting for the Board of Court Reporting.
There is no reference in the minutes from the aforementioned meeting. The Board of Court Reporting voted to not
include the proposed changes, submitted by Ms. McConnell in the current rulemaking hearing rules. There was
no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Are subsections (1), (2), and (3) of Section 0455-01-05 still

part of the rules.
Response: Yes, unless sections are specifically excluded, they remain a part of the rules. There was no change

to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Are sections .02, .03, and .04 of Section 0455-01-06 still

part of the rules.
Response: Yes, unless sections are specifically excluded, they remain a part of the rules. There was no change

to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Ms. McConnell states that the Board previously approved
additional continuing education credits be added as acceptable to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-.02, including
services to a national or state association board; one (1) year of service on a committed verified by the chair;
proctoring a national certification test; monitoring a national certification test; mentoring; outreach and additional
activities; completing a proficiency test.

Response: The suggested additions will not be added as the existing continuing education rules sufficiently
encompass of the listed activities. There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Ms. McConnell made a suggestion that subsection 1(b) of
Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-06-.04 should be rephrased.

Response: The suggested change goes to a part of the rules that were not opened and/or published to public in
the Notice of Rulemaking Hearing to be discussed. The proposed rule change will be discussed through a
separate proposed change. There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Why was Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-06-.05

deleted?
Response: The section was deleted as it exceeded the authority of the Board of Court Reporting. There was no

change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Why was Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-06-.06

deleted?
Response: The section was deleted as it exceeded the authority of the Board of Court Reporting. There was no

change to the rules as a result of the comment.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule

affects small businesses.

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule;

Answer: The rule changes would affect any court reporter licensed or person attempting to be licensed in the
State of Tennessee. There are 699 licensed court reporters currently.

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record;

Answer: The rule changes would create a more efficient and concise for licensed court reporters and applicants.
The administrative skills and/or costs required for compliance with the proposed rules set forth an
increase in civil penalties for violations.

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers;

Answer: These rules will have no effect on consumers. Small business may be required to alter the method of
payment and amount of fees in addition to the process of investigations and complaints.

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the
purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means might be
less burdensome to small business;

Answer: The proposed changes to the existing rules are minimally burdensome/intrusive to small businesses.

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and

Answer: With regards to temporary licenses, there are state regulations that provide for the granting of additional
temporary licenses upon proof of good cause, extenuating circumstances, and/or approval by the state’s
Board of Court Reporting. The proposed rule is drafted in a similar fashion.

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the proposed rule.

Answer: An exemption of small businesses from the aforementioned requirements would create an increased cost
to each individual applicant and create an additional administrative process upon the agency, decreasing
its standardization and efficiency in processing applications.
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Impact on Local Governments
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promuigated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether

the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

There is no expected impact on local government by the promulgation of the proposed rules.
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee
All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1).

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by
such rule;

The amended rules remove references to the Administrative Office of the Courts, reduce the reinstatement fee
to $350, allow for the Board to review good cause in granting an additional temporary license, and remove the
licensure by grandfathering regulations. The amended rules also clarify the late renewal requirements, establish
requirements for military applicants, clarify Board authority with respect to standards of professional conduct,
and simplify investigation and complaint regulations, and increases civil penalties for violations. Finally, the
amended rules remove the regulations related to formal and informal disposition of contested case, waiver of
continuing education requirements and regulations for decisions of the board, clarify reinstatement regulations
and remove regulations regarding reapplication.

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto;

These amended rules are drafted under the Tennessee Court Reporter Act of 2009, where the goal is “to
establish and maintain a standard of competency for individuals engaged in the practice of court reporting and
for the protection of the public and for litigants whose rights to personal freedom and property are affected by
the competency of court reporters.” Tenn. Code. Ann. § 20-9-601(b).

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or
rejection of this rule;

All current licensed court reporters as well as future applicants will be affected by these amendments. The
Department urges adoption of these rules.

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to
the rule;

There are no known opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to the
amended rules.

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures,
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less;

The promulgation of these rules are not estimated to result in an increase or decrease in state and local
government revenues and expenditures of two percent (2%) or greater or five hundred thousand dollars
($500,000).

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge
and understanding of the rule;

Ashley N. Thomas

Assistant General Counsel

Division of Regulatory Boards
Department of Commerce and Insurance

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a
scheduled meeting of the committees;
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Ashley N. Thomas

Assistant General Counsel

Division of Regulatory Boards
Department of Commerce and Insurance

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and

Ashley N. Thomas

500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
615-741-3072

ashley.thomas@tn.gov

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests.

| No additional information requested.

SS-7039 (June 2016) 14 RDA 1693




Department of State For Department of State Use Only
Division of Publications

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower Sequence Number:

Nashville, TN 37243 .
Phone: 615-741-2650 Rule ID(s):
Email: publications.information@tn.gov File Date:

Effective Date:

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form -
REDLINE

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing (Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-205).

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agéncy rule shall take effect on July 1, following
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to § 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding
two (2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-

121(b).

Agency/Board/Commlsswn Tennessee Board of Court Reportmg - -
- ~ Division: | Department of Commerce and Insurance
Contact Person: | Ashley N. Thomas, Assistant General Counsel -
i Address ' 500 James Robertson Parkway
B ) le 37243 o .
~ Phone: | 615-741-3072 o
_Email: | ashleythomas@tngov S

Revision Type (check all that apply):
_ X _ Amendment

X New

X Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title
0455-01 Tennessee Board of Court Reporting
Rule Number Rule Title

Use of Forms

Maintenance and Inspection of Board Records

Verification of Tennessee License

Fees

Heensure-by-Grandiathering—WorcExperense Temporary License
Application for Licensure — Standard Process

Renewal

Military Applicants

Standards of Professional Conduct

Investigations and Complaints

0455-01-01-.04
0455-01-01-.05
0455-01-02-.03
0455-01-02-.04
0455-01-03-.01
0455-01-03-.02
0455-01-03-.037%
0455-01-03-.04
0455-01-04-.01
0455-01-05-.04

SS-7039 (June 2016) 1 RDA 1693




0455-01-05-.05
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0455-01-05-.06
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For

information on formatting rules go to
http://sos.tn.gov/sites/default/files/forms/Rulemaking Guidelines Augqust2014.pdf)

Rule 0455-01-01-.04 is amended to read as follows:

0455-01-01-.04 USE OF FORMS.
Applications and forms shall be made on the prescribed forms approved by the Board. Copies of instructions and

forms are available from the Administrative-Office-ofthe-CourtsBoard of Court Reporting.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-609, 20-9-610, 20-9-613 and 20-9-614.

Rule 0455-01-01-.05 is amended by amending paragraphs (3) and (4) and deleting paragraph (5) so as to read as
follows:

0455-01-01-.05 MAINTENANCE AND INSPECTION OF BOARD RECORDS.

(1) The Board shall maintain its records in Aaccordance with the Tennessee Public Records law, T.C.A
Title 10, Chapter 7.
(2) Public records maintained by the Board shall be subject to public disclosure pursuant to the
Tennessee Public Meetings law, T.C.A. Title 8, Chapter 44 and the Tennessee Public Records law,
T.C.A. Title 10, Chapter 7.
(3) Upon request to the Executive Director ef-the-Adminisirative-Office-of-the-Courts, public records
maintained by the Board shall be available for inspection and duplication at the Administrative-Office-of
the-Cours-Board of Court Reporting during regular business hours. The inspection and duplication of
public records shall be under the supervision of the Executive Director of the Administrative-Officeof-the
Ceurts Board of Court Reporting or his/her designee.
4) Any person W|sh|ng to obtain copies of public records shall submit a written request to the

the-Courte Board of Court Reporting. Copies will be supplied upon payment of
costs_based on the most current version of the Schedule of Reasonable Charges issued by the Office of
Open Records Counsel. applicable-underthe-Schedule-of Reasonable-Cesisfor Public-Reserds

published-bythe-Administrative-Office-of- the-Cours,
(B} Publisrecerds-malnialned-by-the-Beard-that-are-avallableforinspestionard-duplisation-tnelude-but
are-nettimiedie:
{erNames-and-business-addresses-of-current-lsepsees;
M&%@ﬁ%ﬂ%@%@%@%@%@%@%&%@ﬁ%@%&%?
; he-type-otlicense-date-infrastion-the-penaibtyincurred-andthe-length

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-604, 20-9-605 and 20-9-607.
Rule 0455-01-02-.03 is amended by amending paragraph (1) and deleting paragraph (2) so as to read as follows:

0455-01-02-.03 VERIFICATION OF TENNESSEE LICENSE.
{4 Verification of licensure will be available er-through the Board’'s website-te-be-rraintained-by-the
Administrative-Office-otthe-Courts.

(2r-Upen-receiptofa-writtepreghesi-the-Dirsciorof-the-Administrative-Office-efthe-Courls-erhisiher
designee-shall-provide-writtenverification-of Tennessee-licensure:
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-604, 20-9-605 and 20-9-607.

Rule 0455-01-02-.04 is amended by amending paragraph (6), and deleting paragraph (7), so as to read as
follows:
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0455-01-02-.04 FEES.

(1) Fees and civil penalties are not refundable.
(2) Fees are payable by certified check, cashier’s check, corporate or business check, money order, personal
check or electronic means.
(a) Counter checks are not an acceptable method of payment. Personal checks shall be imprinted with
the name, address and account number of the applicant or licensee.
(b) Personal checks by third parties are not acceptable.
(c) Applicants or licensees who submit personal checks returned due to insufficient funds may be
prohibited from paying any future fees or civil penalties by personal check.
(d) Statutory charges for returned checks shall be paid by the applicant or licensee, along with any
penalties and fees authorized pursuant to T.C.A Title 47, Chapter 29.
(3) Civil penalties are payable by certified check, cashier’s check, corporate or business check, money order or
electronic means.
(4) Payment, regardless of method, that is not honored by the financial institution may result in disciplinary action
and/or reporting to the appropriate legal authorities for possible prosecution.
(5) A license may not be issued until funds are received by the Board.
(6) Standard Fee Schedule Amount

(@) License Fee.........ocoovivrviiiieeeiieiiiiceeieee . ...$200

(b) Application Fee..........ccoevveivin e ... 850

(c) Renewal Fee.. ... $200

(d) Late Renewal Fee e A0%-sHeense-Fooforeachlate-menth$20 per
month up to six (6) months or oortlon thereof

(e) Temporary License Fee.............cccooi il $50

(f) Temporary License Renewal Fee......................... $50

(g) Reinstatement Fee.. ... 3500350

%&B@a@%k@p&a&e&e@%@#@e&é@m M%%MH%%@%%%MWWMW%
menths-purstanttoGAS26-6-844-

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-610, 20-9-611, 20-9-612, 20-8-643 and 20-9-614.

Rule 0455-01-03-.01 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.0156 TEMPORARY LICENSURE.

Any person who provides to the board satisfactory proof of graduation from a court reporting program or its
equivalent shall, upon application to the board on forms approved by the board and payment of a fee in an
amount determined by the board, be issued a temporary license to practice as a court reporter. This temporary
license shall expire sixty (60) days following the date upon which the next board-approved examination for
licensure is given. No-more-than-three-{3)-addilenaHemporary lsonsesshall-be-issuedio-any-applicantwhe-falls
scheduled-examinatienferlicensure-Up to three (3) additional temporary licenses may be granted

upon sufficient proof of good cause for issuance.

{2 Courtreporting-program-—sheall-meanthese-cduscational programs-approved-by-the-Tennessee-Board

of-Cowrt Reporting-that-provide-educationrelated-to-courtreporing-as-defined-in -6-A-§-20-9-602(2)

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-609, 20-9-612 and 20-9-614
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ndonho-have utilized-the-sendcesof the-courtreporterwhich-atlestio t
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renort t r\rnﬁr«'nnh\ in court nr\nrﬁnm oF;
pornbroT ORI

MW%M&%%@%W@%W@R%%WW
wnrelated by-blood-orrmarrdage-to-the-person-and-wheo-have-ulilized the-services-of the
courtreporter-or-the-affidavitef-the-courtreporting-firm-owner-may-state-that the-applicant
has-engaged-in-the-practice-of-courtreporting-whish-attest-to-the-court-reporier's
proficiency-in-courtreporting,and;

{ey-RPayrment-eHicensure-foe:

Rule 0455-01-03-.02 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.028 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE — STANDARD PROCESS.

(1) Any person may submit an application to be licensed as a court reporter. The application shall include:
(a) Proof of passage of the National Court Reporters Association registered professional reporter
examination, the National Verbatim Reporters Association certified verbatim reporter
examination, or the American Association of Electronic Reporters and Transcribers certified
electronic court reporter examination.

(b) Applications for licensure shall be signed and sworn by the applicants and submitted on forms
furnished by the BBoard.
(c) Payment of licensure fee.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607 and 20-9-609.
0455-04-03-02 LICENSURE BY GRANBFATHERING —RPRIOR-EXAMINATION PASSAGE:
WWWW%MW%%WWGW

Rule 0455-01-03-.03 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-03-.03+ RENEWAL.

(1) A newly issued court reporter license in Tennessee shall be valid for two (2) years or for other such
period of time authorized by statute T.C.A. § 20-9-611. The holder of the license may renew such license
during the 60 days preceding the expiration date thereof by paying the required fee and completion of the
application for renewal.

%@WWHM@%@WW&WW&M@W

= oY

(23) Itis the responsibility of each licensee to notify the Board of any change of address within thirty (30)
days. Failure to receive a renewal form from the Board shall not constitute an excuse for failure to renew

licensure.

(34) Late Rrenewals applications may be received following expiration of license with the required
fees laterenewal-fee-and-applisationforrenewalEailure-torenevra-icense-within-180-days-shall deem

W&MWW&W%W%WW%NO late renewal will be
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granted if a completed application is not received by the Board within six (6) months of the expiration of
the license. After six (8) months of the expiration of the license, the applicant shall apply for a new
license.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607, 20-9-609, 20-9-611 and 20-9-612
0455-04-03--03 LICENSURE BY- GRAMPDEATHERNG —FOREIGN STATELCENSURE:

%%Me%m%a@ée&@%m%%ﬁ%eaﬁém M%%%W@WM@@
by-any-staterprovided-thatthe-state-has-the-same-or-meore-siingertrequiroments-of this-ehapter-shall
be-granted-a-licepse-pursuant-io-this-pad:

AutheribyT-C-A--§5-20-0-805-20-0-80720-0-643-and20-0-644

Rule 0455-01-03-.04 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-04-03-04 LICENSURE BY - GRANDEATHERING —TENNESSEE-COURT REPORTERS ASSOCIATION
CREDEMNTIAL:
wﬂmww%%zwﬁ%wm@m

license-pursuani-to-this-part-and-thereby-may-practice-as-a-courtroperer

0455-01-03-.04 MILITARY APPLICANTS

(1) _An applicant for certification, licensure, or registration meeting the requirements of T.C.A. § 4-3-

1304(d)(1) may:

(a) Be issued a certification, license, or registration upon application and payment of all fees
required for the issuance of such certification, license or registration, if, in the opinion of the
Board, the requirements for certification, licensure, or registration of such other state are
substantially equivalent to that required in Tennessee; or

(b} Be issued a temporary permit as described herein if the Board determines that the applicant’s
certification, license, or reqistration does not meet the requirements for substantial equivalency,
but that the applicant could perform additional acts, including - but not limited to — education,
training, or experience, in order to meet the requirements for the certification, license, or
registration to be substantially equivalent. The Board may issue a temporary permit upon
application and payment of all fees required for issuance of a regular certification, license, or
registration of the same type which shall allow such person to perform services as if fully certified,
licensed, or registered for a set period of time that is determined to be sufficient by the Board for
the applicant to complete such requirements.
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1. After completing those additional requirements and providing the Board with sufficient
proof thereof as may be required, a full certification, license, or registration shall be
issued to the applicant with an issuance date of the original issuance of the temporary
permit and an expiration date as if the full certification, license, or registration had been
issued at that time.

2. A temporary permit shall be issued for a period no longer than the length of a renewal
cvycle for a full certification, license, or registration of the same type.

3. A temporary permit shall expire upon the date set by the Board and shall not be
subject to renewal except through the completion of the requirements for substantial
equivalency as required by the Board or by an extension of time granted for good cause

by the Board.

4. Should an extension to a temporary permit cause the permit to be in effect longer than
the renewal cycle of a full certification, license, or registration, then the holder of the
temporary permit shali file a renewal application with such documentation and fees,
including completion of continuing education, as are required by the Board for all other
renewals of a full certification, license, or registration of the same type.

(c) Military education, training, or experience completed by a person described at T.C.A. § 4-3-
1304(d)(1)(B)(ii}(a)-(c) shall be accepted toward the qualifications, in whole or in part, to receive
any certification, license, or registration issued by the Board if such military education, training, or
experience is determined by the Board o be substantially equivalent to the education, training, or
experience required for the issuance of such certification, license or registration.

(2) Anv certificate holder, licensee, or registrant who is a member of the National Guard or a reserve
component of the armed forces of the United States called to active duty whose certification, license, or
reqistration expires during the period of activation shall be eligible to be renewed upon the certificate
holder, licensee, or registrant being released from active duty without:

(a) Payment of late fees or other penalties; or

(b) Obtaining continuing education credits when:

1. Circumstances associated with the person’s military duty prevented the obtaining of
continuing education credits and a waiver request has been submitted to the Board: or

2. The person performs the certified, licensed, or registered occupation as part of such
person’s military duties and provides documentation sufficient to demonstrate such to

Board.

(3) The certification, license or registration shall be eligible for renewal pursuant to Paragraph (2) for six
{6) months from the person’s release from active duty.

(4) Any person renewing under Paragraph (2) shall provide the Board such supporting documentation
evidencing activation as may be required by the Board prior to the renewal of any certification, license, or

registration license pursuant to Paragraph (2).
Authority: T.C.A. §8§ 4-3-1304(d)(1); 20-9-605

Rule 0455-01-04-.01 is amended by amending paragraphs (1)(g), (1)(k), adding paragraph(1)(I) and renumbering
paragraphs (1)(m-p) so that the rule reads as follows:

0455-01-04-.01 STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.

(1) In order to establish and maintain a high standard of integrity in the practice of court reporting, the
following Standards of Professional Conduct shall be binding on every person holding a license, of any
type, from the Board. A Tennessee licensed court reporter:
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(a) Shall be fair and impartial toward each participant in all aspects of reported proceedings.

(b) Should only accept an assignment if histher their level of competence will result in the

preparation of an accurate transcript-arc-will-remove-the-icensee-from-an-assigament | shall

refuse an assignment if they believe their abilities are inadequate, recemmending-orassigring

and shall recommend or assign an assignment to another licensee only if such licensee has the

competence required for such assignment.

(c) Shall provide information regarding services to be rendered regarding administration of

professional services to all parties and shail make timely delivery of transcripts. The-licensee

must-sirive-te-meetpromised-delivery-dates-whenever-possible-male-imely-deliverof
ate-is-specified-and-provide-immediate-netification-ef-delays-

(d) Must immediately disclose any conflict of interest or appearance of impropriety as soon as it

arises pursuant to T.C.A. § 24-9-136.

(e) Should immediately seek inactive status and refrain from practice if they become impaired and

unable to function according to the standards of practice. #-is-the-licenses’sresponsibility-te-seek

WWW%WM@%WM&MW%

(f) Shall preserve the confldentlallty and ensure the security of information, oral or written,
entrusted to the licensee by any and all of the parties in the proceeding.

(g) Shall establish a plan for the security and preservation of shorthand notes and any backups,
both paper and electronic. All such plans shall preserve notes and backups for a period of time
that complies with statutory requirement or rules and guidelines of the court. In the absence of a
law or rule, notes and backups must be retained for no less than five (5) years.

(h) Shall affix the licensee’s signature, license number and expiration date to a transcript to certify
to its accuracy.

(i) Shall not authorize the use of the licensee number on any transcript not produced through the
personal effort or supervision, or both.

(j) Shall not permit the use of the licensee name or firm's name, nor shall a licensee be
associated in business ventures with persons or firms that the licensee has reason to believe to
be engaging in fraudulent or dishonest business practices.

(k) Shall inform the-Bisciplinary-Ceunselof the Board of Court Reporting if they have knowledge
that another court reporter has committed a violation of the Standards .of Professional Conduct or
the Tennessee Court Reporter Act of 2009 that raises a substantial question as to that court
reporter’s honesty, trustworthiness, or fithess as a court reporter in-athertespescts.

(1) A licensee shall also cooperate with any investigation resulting from a complaint for disciplinary
action.

{m) &) Shall not commit a criminal act that is-a-felemys-erreflects on the court reporter’s honesty,
trustworthiness or fitness as a court reporter in-otherrespests.

{mén)} Shall be truthful and accurate when making public statements or when advertising
qualifications or services provided.

{rto)) Shall meet all mandated continuing education requirements and should keep abreast of
current literature and technological advances and developments as related to the profession of
court reporting.

{efp)} Shall refrain from giving, directly or indirectly, any gift, incentive, reward or anything of
value to attorneys or any other persons or entities associated with the litigation {e-g-+cliente;
witnessesinsurance-companies,-eic-orto-the representatives-or agents-efany-ef-the-foregeing,
except for items that do not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00) in the aggregate per individual
each year.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605 and 20-9-607

Rule 0455-01-05-.04 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting instead the
following so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-04-056~04-INVESTHEGAHOMN:

H-Ueen-self-disglosura-erreceiptof-a-wilten-complainten a TBER Consumer ComplaintForm-signed-by
the-person-making-the-complaintalleging-that a courtreporter has-vielated-a-statute-errie-by
committing-ene-or-mere-of-the-acls-specified-as-groundsfordisciblinary-actionthe-Disciplinary-Counsel
to-be-designated-by-the-Board-shall-perdorm-a-preliminarnyrevievto-determine-if-there-is-merit-and
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2 \When-the-Rissiplinany-Counsel-determinesthere-may-bemerit-and sufficientevidense-axisis to
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work-under-the-directisn-of-the Disciplinary-Counsel-to-conduest-further-investigation:

%AH@%&@W@&%W&SH@%@M&W@S@@%%MMMW@%@%

0455-01-05-.04 INVESTIGATIONS AND COMPLAINTS.

(1) The Board may investigate any person engaged, or suspected of engaging, in any business or activity
requlated under the Tennessee Court Reporter Act of 2009,

(2) Upon receipt of any written complaint regarding any licensee or person engaaed in unlicensed activity,
the Board shall provide a copy of the written complaint to the accused party within five (5) days. Such
party shall file a written answer to the complaint, within twenty (20) days, upon request by the Board.

Rule 0455-01-05-.05 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety and substituting and renumbering
rule 0455-01-05-.06 so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-05-.056 UNIFORM ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT.

The Board hereby adopts by reference as its rules the Uniform Administrative Procedure Act, T.C.A. Title
4, Chapter 5, for governing contested cases, appeals, and related proceedings.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-606, 20-9-607 and 20-9-608.
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Rule 0455-01-05-.06 is amended by moving the text of the rule in its entirety to 0455-01-05-.05 and substituting
instead the following so the rule, as amended, shall read:

0455-01-05-.06 CIVIL PENALTIES.

(1) With respect to any licensed court reporter or temporary licensed court reporter, the Board may, in
addition to or in lieu of any other lawful disciplinary action, assess a civil penalty against such licensee for
each separate statutory or requlatory violation not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) per violation.

(2) With respect to any person required to be licensed in this state as a court reporter. the Board may
assess a civil penalty against such person for each separate statutory or requlatory violation not fo
exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) per violation.

(3) Each daily violation constitutes a separate offense.

(4) In determining the amount of any penalty to be assessed pursuant to this rule, the Board may
consider such factors as the following:

(a) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic deterrent to the violator;

{b) The circumstances leading to the violation;

(c) The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the public;

{d) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result of noncompliance:

(e) The interest of the public; and

(f) Willfulness of the violation.

Authority: 2009 Pub.Acts, c. 450, § 1; 2010 Pub.Acts, ¢. 1123, 88 3, 7 and T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-606, 20-9-
607, 20-9-608, 56-1-308.

Rule 0455-01-05-.07 is amended by inserting the text of rule 0455-01-05-.11, so the rule, as amended, shall read:
0455-04-05-07-FORMALDISROSITION-QF CONTESTED- CASES.

thelastiknown-address-shown-on-therecords-of-the-Board-
%W%Wy%@%%%h&%%%@%ﬁ%@%@%@é

{)-Pleadings-relating-to-giseiphinanprocoedings-pending belore-the Board-shall-bo-flledwith-the-Board's
designee-Pleadings-shall-be-deemed-filed-upon-asiualreceist:

é%W%%%WAWWJHWWWW%Q

hodulod Telonhoni ; Lt c ; ; e
discretion-ef-the-hearngofficer
{Hy-A-continuance-may-be-granied-by-the Board-oris-desighecupeon-the-fillng-of-a-writen-metiop-and
affidavit-detalling-the reasensfor-the-contintance-heo-metienforcontinuance-shallbe-granted-unless filed
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atleastfive-days-prier-te-the-hearng—This-provision-may-be-walved-upon-showing-ef-an-emergenscy-
Authoriby-T-0A55-20-0-80520-0-806,20-0-807-and-20-0-608-
0455-01-05-.0744 REINSTATEMENT OF A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSE.

(1) Application for reinstatement shall include evidence of corrective action taken by the licensee.
rehabiitation-or-elimination-orreselution-of-the-conditions-ferrevesatien- Such application shall be made
utilizing the forms provided by the Board.

N Apslicat : - : kodd i i [ het |
hearing-process:
(23) In considering reinstatement of a revoked license, the Board may evaluate factors that include but
are not limited to:

(a) Severity of the act(s) that resulted in suspension or revocation of the license.

(b) Conduct of the applicant subsequent to the suspension or revocation of license.

(c) Lapse of time since suspension or revocation.

(d) Compliance with all reinstatement requirements stipulated by the Board.

(e) Rehabilitation attained by the applicant as evidenced by statements provided directly to the
Board from qualified individuals who have professional knowledge of the applicant.

(f) Whetherthe-applcantis-inviolation-of-any-applicable-statute-orrule: Violation by the applicant
of any applicable statute or rule.

(g) Directly or implied representation(s) thatthe-persen-was-a-icensed-courtreporter of licensure
by the individual during the period of revocation.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-606, 20-9-607 and 20-9-608.
Rule 0455-01-05-.08 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.
%@em@&%e%%@%%@&ma&%%%e@@é&%s%%@ﬁh@%@%@ Bear&é%@m%mwgh

@455—@4—%99—9%@48%@&%@5—1&4%@@#&%@—
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{hy-lmpese-sthersanctionsrestdetions-orcopditions:

(2) The Beard-may-ley

y v ary
WMMM@WMM%WW@W@W
WM%WW%MM%MW@

Rule 0455-01-06-.01 is amended by adding paragraph (6) so that the rule reads as follows:

0455-01-06-.01 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.
(1) Beginning with the first renewal and every renewal thereafter, every licensee who applies for renewal
of a license shall have completed two (2) credits of continuing education (CE) relevant to the practice of
court reporting.

(2) A Rrenewal Rperiod is the twenty-four (24) months preceding July 1 of the year of license expiration.

(3) A CE credit means ten (10) hours of continuing education.
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(4) A CE hour means a minimum of fifty (60) minutes of actual clock time spent by a licensee in actual
attendance at and completion of an approved CE activity. After completion of the initial CE hour, credit
may be given in eae-half hour (.5) increments.

(5) Non-R resident Llicensees shall comply with the CE Requirements set forth in this Section.

(6) Failure to obtain the requisite CE credits will result in an incomplete application and will cause the
application to not be processed.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 20-9-605, 20-9-607 and 20-9-612.
Rule 0455-01-06-.05 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.
0455-04-06-05 MNON-COMRLIANGCEWTH CONTNUING-ERDLUCATION-REQUIREMENT

3-The Beard-may-recommend-steps-being-taken-to-beginformal-disciplinanproceedingsfornen-
comblianse-with-the-CErequirement:

Rule 0455-01-06-.06 is amended by deleting the text of the rule in its entirety.

0455-04-06-08- WANER-OF CE-REQUIREMENTS:
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Ken Mansfield X

Britton Collins X

Earl Houston X

Terri Beckham X

John Rambo X

Ken Gibson X

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Board of Court Reporting on 06/16/2016, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 04/26/2016
Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 06/16/2016
Date:
Signature:

Name of Officer:

Title of Officer:

Subscribed and sworn to before me on:

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on:

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

Herbert H. Slatery 1l
Attorney General and Reporter

Date
Department of State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State on:

Effective on:

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Do the proposed rule and regulation changes only apply to
changes and all other areas remain?

Response: The rules posted originally, were the proposed changes only. Upon publication of the redlined version
of the rules, the public is able to see that unless the rules have a redlined change, the language remains the
same. There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Why was the military applicant rule included?
Response: The military applicant rule was added to comply with federal law and Tenn. Code Ann. §4-3-1304(d).
There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: At the June 2015 meeting, amendments to the Standards
of Professional Conduct, Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-04-.01, were adopted and do not appear to be added
to the current version of the rules. Ms. McConnell included proposed sections (p) through (v).

Response: The rules presented were not added at the June 2015 meeting for the Board of Court Reporting.
There is no reference in the minutes from the aforementioned meeting. The Board of Court Reporting voted to not
include the proposed changes, submitted by Ms. McConnell in the current rulemaking hearing rules. There was
no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Are subsections (1), (2), and (3) of Section 0455-01-05 still

part of the rules.
Response: Yes, unless sections are specifically excluded, they remain a part of the rules. There was no change

to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Are sections .02, .03, and .04 of Section 0455-01-06 still

part of the rules.
Response: Yes, unless sections are specifically excluded, they remain a part of the rules. There was no change

to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Ms. McConnell states that the Board previously approved
additional continuing education credits be added as acceptable to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-.02, including
services to a national or state association board; one (1) year of service on a committed verified by the chair;
proctoring a national certification test; monitoring a national certification test; mentoring; outreach and additional
activities; completing a proficiency test.

Response: The suggested additions will not be added as the existing continuing education rules sufficiently
encompass of the listed activities. There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Ms. McConnell made a suggestion that subsection 1(b) of
Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-06-.04 should be rephrased.

Response: The suggested change goes to a part of the rules that were not opened and/or published to public in
the Notice of Rulemaking Hearing to be discussed. The proposed rule change will be discussed through a
separate proposed change. There was no change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Why was Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-06-.05

deleted?
Response: The section was deleted as it exceeded the authority of the Board of Court Reporting. There was no

change to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: Jimmie Jane McConnell, written comment: Why was Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0455-01-06-.06

deleted?
Response: The section was deleted as it exceeded the authority of the Board of Court Reporting. There was no

change to the rules as a result of the comment.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule

affects small businesses.

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule;

Answer: The rule changes would affect any court reporter licensed or person attempting to be licensed in the
State of Tennessee. There are 699 licensed court reporters currently.

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record;

Answer: The rule changes would create a more efficient and concise for licensed court reporters and applicants.
The administrative skills and/or costs required for compliance with the proposed rules set forth an
increase in civil penalties for violations.

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers;

Answer: These rules will have no effect on consumers. Small business may be required to alter the method of
payment and amount of fees in addition to the process of investigations and complaints.

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the
purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means might be
less burdensome to small business;

Answer: The proposed changes to the existing rules are minimally burdensome/intrusive to small businesses.
(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and

Answer: With regards to temporary licenses, there are state regulations that provide for the granting of additional
temporary licenses upon proof of good cause, extenuating circumstances, and/or approval by the state’s
Board of Court Reporting. The proposed rule is drafted in a similar fashion.

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the proposed rule.

Answer: An exemption of small businesses from the aforementioned requirements would create an increased cost
to each individual applicant and create an additional administrative process upon the agency, decreasing
its standardization and efficiency in processing applications.
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Impact on Local Governments
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether

the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

There is no expected impact on local government by the promulgation of the proposed rules.
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee
All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1).

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by
such rule;

The amended rules remove references to the Administrative Office of the Courts, reduce the reinstatement fee
to $350, allow for the Board to review good cause in granting an additional temporary license, and remove the
licensure by grandfathering regulations. The amended rules also clarify the late renewal requirements, establish
requirements for military applicants, clarify Board authority with respect to standards of professional conduct,
and simplify investigation and complaint regulations, and increases civil penalties for violations. Finally, the
amended rules remove the regulations related to formal and informal disposition of contested case, waiver of
continuing education requirements and regulations for decisions of the board, clarify reinstatement regulations
and remove regulations regarding reapplication.

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto;

These amended rules are drafted under the Tennessee Court Reporter Act of 2009, where the goal is “to
establish and maintain a standard of competency for individuals engaged in the practice of court reporting and
for the protection of the public and for litigants whose rights to personal freedom and property are affected by
the competency of court reporters.” Tenn. Code. Ann. § 20-9-601(b).

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or
rejection of this rule;

All current licensed court reporters as well as future applicants will be affected by these amendments. The
Department urges adoption of these rules.

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to
the rule;

There are no known opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to the
amended rules.

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures,
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less;

The promulgation of these rules are not estimated to result in an increase or decrease in state and local
government revenues and expenditures of two percent (2%) or greater or five hundred thousand dollars
($500,000).

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge
and understanding of the rule;

Ashley N. Thomas

Assistant General Counsel

Division of Regulatory Boards
Department of Commerce and Insurance
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(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a
scheduled meeting of the committees;

Ashley N. Thomas

Assistant General Counsel

Division of Regulatory Boards
Department of Commerce and Insurance

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and

Ashley N. Thomas

500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
615-741-3072
ashley.thomas@in.gov

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests.

No additional information requested. B
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Tennessee Secretary of State

Publications Division
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8" Floor
Nashville, Tennessee 37243-1102

Cody Ryan York 615-253-4564
Director of Publications Cody.York@tn.gov

October 13, 2016

Ms. Ashley N. Thomas

Tennessee Board of Court Reporting
Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243

Dear Ms. Thomas,
Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(1)(4), we are rejecting the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing with
the sequence number 08-27-16 because it does not conform to the requirements set forth in

T.C.A. § 4-5-226(1).

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact my office at 615-741-2650.

Sincerely,
Cody Ryan York

Director of Publications

c: State of Tennessee Administrative Registry

$08.tn.gov



