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BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS - 1150
COMMITTEE OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

There will be a hearing before the Tennessee Board of Occupational and Physical Examiners’ Committee 
of Physical Therapy to consider the promulgation of amendments to rules pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 
4-5-204, 63-13-108, and 63-13-104.  The hearing will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uni-
form Administrative Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 4-5-204 and will take place in the 
Magnolia Room on the First Floor of the Heritage Place Building located at 227 French Landing, Nashville, 
TN at 2:30 p.m. (CDT) on the 17th day of October, 2006.

Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (review these filings) should 
contact the Department of Health, Division of Health Related Boards to discuss any auxiliary aids or services 
needed to facilitate such participation or review. Such initial contact may be made no less than ten (10) days 
prior to the scheduled meeting date (the date such party intends to review such filings), to allow time for the 
Division to determine how it may reasonably provide such aid or service. Initial contact may be made with 
the ADA Coordinator at the Division of Health Related Boards, 227 French Landing, Suite 300, Heritage 
Place, MetroCenter, Nashville, TN  37243, (615) 532-4397. 

For a copy of the entire text of this notice of rulemaking hearing contact: 

Jerry Kosten, Regulations Manager, Division of Health Related Boards, 227 French Landing, Suite 300, 
Heritage Place, MetroCenter, Nashville, TN  37243, (615) 532-4397.

SUBSTANCE OF PROPOSED RULES

AMENDMENTS

Rule 1150-1-.04, Qualifications for Licensure, is amended by deleting part (3) (d) 1. in its entirety and sub-
stituting instead the following language, so that as amended, the new part (3) (d) 1. shall read:  

(3)  (d)  1. The supervised clinical practice period shall be four hundred and eighty (480) hours 
and shall be accomplished at a rate of no more than forty (40) hours or no less than 
ten (10) hours per week. 

Authority:  T.C.A. § 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-13-108, 63-13-304, and 63-13-307.

Rule 1150-1-.06, Fees, is amended by deleting subparagraphs (4) (a), (4) (d), and (4) (h) in their entirety 
and substituting instead the following language, so that as amended, the new subparagraphs (4) (a), (4) 
(d), and (4) (h) shall read:

(4)  (a) Application Fee    $ 50.00  $ 40.00

(4)  (d) License Fee    $ 25.00  $ 25.00

(4)  (h) Renewal Fee (biennial)   $ 40.00  $ 40.00

Authority:  T.C.A. § 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-13-108, 63-13-304, 63-13-306, 63-13-307, and 63-13-308.
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Rule 1150-1-.10, Provisional License, is amended by deleting paragraph (3) in its entirety and substituting 
instead the following language, so that as amended, the new paragraph (3) shall read:

(3) Duration of License

(a) For applicants who are internationally educated, provisional licenses are valid for no less 
than twelve (12) weeks and no more than forty-eight (48) weeks.  The provisional license 
may not be renewed.

(b) For physical therapists or physical therapist assistants whose licenses have been retired 
or expired for greater than three (3) years, provisional licenses are valid for a period of time 
as determined by the Board.  The provisional license may not be renewed.

 
Authority:  T.C.A. § 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-13-108, 63-13-304, 63-13-307, and 63-13-309.

Rule 1150-1-.10, Provisional License, is amended by deleting paragraph (1) in its entirety and substituting 
instead the following language, and is further amended by inserting the following language as paragraph 
(2) and renumbering the remaining paragraphs accordingly, so that as amended, the new paragraphs (1) 
and (2) shall read:

(1) A provisional license shall be issued for an internationally educated applicant who has complied 
with all the licensure qualifications of Rule 1150-1-.04 except the supervised clinical practice 
period required by subparagraph 1150-4-.04 (3) (d).

(2) A provisional license may be issued for a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose 
license has been retired or expired for greater than three (3) years and whose license is presently 
unencumbered with respect to disciplinary action. 

Authority:  T.C.A. § 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-13-108, 63-13-304, 63-13-307, 63-13-308, and 63-13-309.

Rule 1150-1-.12, Continuing Competence, is amended by deleting part (9) (b) 2. in its entirety and substitut-
ing instead the following language, so that as amended, the new part (9) (b) 2. shall read:

(9)  (b)  2. The Committee may, at its discretion, require additional education, supervised clinical 
practice, successful passage of examinations, or issue a provisional license.

Authority:  T.C.A. § 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-13-108, 63-13-304, 63-13-307, 63-13-308, and 63-13-309.

The notice of rulemaking set out herein was properly filed in the Department of State on the 15th day of 
August, 2006. (08-14-06)


