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Notice of Rulemaking Hearing 
Hearings will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, 
Section 4-5-204. For questions and copies of the notice, contact the person listed be/ow. 

Agency/Board/Commission: Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 

Division: Wildlife 

Contact Person: Lisa Crawford 

Address: TWRA, PO Box 40747, Nashville, TN 37204-0747 

Phone: 615-781-6606 

Email: Lisa. Crawford@tn.gov 

Any Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these filings) and may 

require aid to facilitate such participation should contact the foJ/owing at least 10 days prior to the hearing. 


ADA Contact: Stan Powell 

Address: TWRA, PO Box 40747, Nashville, TN 37204-0747 

Phone: 615-781-6594 

Email: Stan.Powell@tn .gov 

Hearing Location(s) (for additional locations, copy and paste table) 

Address 1: U.T. West Tennessee Experiment Station 

Address 2: 605 Airways Blvd. 


City : Jackson 

Zip: 38301-3201 


Hearing Date : August 19, 2010 

Hearing Time: 9 : 0~ a.m., local Jime LCST EST 


Additional Hearing Information: 

http://westten nessee. ten nessee. ed ullocation/ 

Revision Type (check all that apply): 
X Amendment 

X New 


Repeal 


Rule(s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed. If needed, copy and paste additional tables to 

accommodate more than one chapter. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row.) 


Chapter Number Chapter Title 
1660-02-03 Rules and Regulations Governing Classification of Vessels and Equipment and Lights 

l3equi~eg 
Rule Number Rule Title 
1660-02-03-.07 Navigation Rules - Adoption of Federal Code and Regulations 
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Rules and Regulations 

of the 


Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 


Chapter 1660-02-03 

Rules and Regulations Governing Classification of Vessels and Equipment and Lights Required 


Amended Rule 

Rule 1660-02-03-.07, Navigation Rules - Adoption of Federal Code and Regulations, is amended by 

deleting paragraph (1) in its entirety and inserting a new paragraph (1), to read as follows: 


(1) 	 The State of Tennessee hereby adopts, and incorporates by reference, The Inland 
Navigation Rules Act of 1980, as amended hereinafter, which appears in 33 CFR Parts 
83 - 90. All vessels operating on or using the waters of Tennessee shall be governed by 
and follow these rules . 

Authority: T. C.A. §§69-9-209 and 70-1-206. 

Rules and Regulations 

of the 


Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 


Chapter 1660-02-09 
Rules and Regulations Governing Noise Level Standards 

Amended Rule 

Rule 1660-02-09-.01, Noise Level Standards, is amended by deleting paragraph (1) in its entirety and 

inserting a new paragraph (1), to read as follows: 


(1) 	 No person shall operate nor give permission for the operation of any vessel in or upon 
the waters of Tennessee in such a manner so that the total noise produced by the 
watercraft exceeds 90 dBA at idle or 75 dBA at 50 feet by operation. 

(a) 	 Measurements shall be made with a Type I or Type II sound level meter which 
meets the requirements of the American National Standards Institute SI.4-1971. 

(b) 	 A noise level of 90 dBA when subjected to a stationary sound level test as 
prescribed by the Society of Automotive Engineers in Stationary Sound Level 
Measurement Procedure for Recreational Motorboats ("SAE") SAE J2005 will be 
utilized when testing and a noise level of 75 dBA when subjected to a sound level 
test as prescribed by SAE J1970 will be utilized when testing. 
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(c) 	 Any duly commissioned officer of the Wildlife Resources Agency who has reason 
to believe that a vessel is not in compliance with the noise levels may direct the 
person operating such vessel to submit the vessel to either the J2005 or J1970 
on-site testing to measure the noise level, and the operator shall comply with 
such request. 

(d) 	 Any TWRA enforcement officer who conducts vessel sound level tests shall be 
qualified in motorboat noise testing by the agency. Such qualifications shall 
include but are not limited to selection of the measurement site and the 
calibration and use of noise testing equipment. 

(e) 	 If such vessel exceeds the decibel levels, the officer may direct the operator to 
take immediate and reasonable measures to correct the violation, including 
returning the vessel to a mooring and keeping the vessel at such mooring until 
the violation is corrected. 

(f) 	 Any person who fails to comply with the directive to submit to such testing shall 
be subject to prosecution under this rule. 

Authority: T.CA §§69-9-209, 69-9-302 and 70-1-206. 

Rulemaking Hearing Rules 

of 


Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 


New Rules 


Chapter 1660-02-13 

Rules and Regulations Governing Abandoned Vessels 


T able of Contents 


1660-02-13-.01 Definitions 
1660-02-13-.02 Notification to Agency 
1660-02-13-.03 Notice to Owner(s) and/or Secured Party(ies) 
1660-02-13-.04 Application for Certificate of Number 
1660-02-13-.05 Vessels Abandoned at Storage Facilities 

1660-02-13-.01 Definitions 

(1) 	 "Abandoned vessel" is a vessel intended as a means of transportation upon or under the water, 
whether or not it is still capable as a means of transportation including watercraft in an 'obvious 
state of disrepair' such as being burned throughout and/or inoperable under its own power which: 

(a) 	 has remained unattended on public water(s) of the State of Tennessee, or land adjacent 
to these public water(s) for more than thirty (30) days without the expressed consent of 
the owner(s) or person(s) in control of the property; or 

(b) 	 is adrift or submerged for more than thirty (30) days in or upon the public waters of the 
State of Tennessee; or 

(c) 	 a vessel deemed, through due process, to have no ownership; 

(d) 	 is left unattended on any public property without notice to the managing entity of such 
public property for more than thirty (30) days; 

(e) 	 has remained on private property without the consent of the owner or person in control of 
the property or, parked or left in a garage, trailer park, or any type of storage or parking 
lot without consent of the managing entity for more than thirty (30) days. 

RDA 1693 SS-7037 (October 2009) 
3 

http:1660-02-13-.01
http:1660-02-13-.05
http:1660-02-13-.04
http:1660-02-13-.03
http:1660-02-13-.02
http:1660-02-13-.01


(2) 	 A "dry dock storage facility" is an entity, not on the public waters of Tennessee, where vessels, 
parts and pieces of vessels and components are available for sale or trade and stored either 
inside a building or outside for more than thirty (30) days. 

(3) 	 A "wet slip," "boat dock" or "storage facility" is a commercial business located on the public waters 
of Tennessee, where vessels, parts, and pieces of vessels and components are stored either on 
a dock or within a boat slip. 

(4) 	 "Agency" means the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency. 

1660-02-13-.02 Notification to Agency 

(1) 	 A person or governmental entity wishing to possess an abandoned vessel shall follow the 
procedures and guidelines set forth by the Agency. All records of recovered abandoned vessels 
shall be held by the Agency. 

(2) 	 A state, federal or local law enforcement entity may remove an abandoned vessel that constitutes 
a hazard or obstruction to navigation from the public waters of the State of Tennessee. 

(3) 	 A person or governmental entity shall notify the Agency within 48 hours after removing or 
recovering an abandoned vessel from the public waters of the State of Tennessee. Upon 
notification, the agency will provide a Notification/Request to Register Abandoned Boat form 
(WR-0932) which the person or entity will fill out and return. The form shall include: where the 
vessel was located prior to recovery, condition of vessel, name of person or entity recovering the 
vessel , date and time vessel was removed/recovered , where vessel is currently stored or located, 
any identification numbers found, and the name, address, and phone number of the person 
responsible for the removedlrecovered vessel. A photograph of the vessel must also be included 
with the form . 

1660-02-13-.03 Notice to Owner(s) and/or Secured Party(ies): 

(1) 	 If the vessel has a registration number assigned by any State, or if there are means of identifying 
the owner(s) and/or lienholder(s), the Agency will notify the owner(s) and/or lienholder(s) at their 
last known address by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

(2) 	 The United States Coast Guard will be provided with a copy of the notice when commercial 
vessels are involved. 

(3) 	 The Agency will provide a copy of the notice to the Uniform Commercial Code Division of the 
Office of the Secretary of State if a lienholder is identified. 

(4) 	 The notice must contain the following information: 

(a) 	 A description of the vessel , including any identifying numbers; 

(b) 	 Location of the vessel; 

(c) 	 A statement informing the owner(s) and/or the lienholder that the vessel must be claimed 
within thirty (30) days of receipt of notice, if notice is given by certified mail, and a 
statement that if notice is given by publication , the owner(s) and/or the lienholder must 
claim the vessel within 30 days after the last day the notice runs in the newspaper. 

(d) 	 A statement informing the owner(s) and/or the lienholder(s) that a failure to claim the 
vessel within the prescribed time will constitute the vessel being considered abandoned. 

(e) 	 A statement informing the owner(s) and/or the lienholder(s) that the vessel will be 
disposed of if no claim is made and the vessel removed within the prescribed time. 

(f) 	 In the event the requesting party is a governmental agency, such agency shall have the 
discretion of placing the vessel into service in lieu of auction. 
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(5) 	 Notice by Publication 

If the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency is unable to determine the last registered owner(s) 
or the identity of any secured party(ies) of the abandoned vessel , or if notice by certified mail is 
unsuccessful following one (1) attempt, the requesting party shall place a notice, to appear for 
two (2) consecutive publications, in a newspaper of general circulation published in the county or 
city where the vessel was recovered. The notice by publication shall contain the information 
required under Rule 1660-02-13-.03(4) and shall be published within 15 days following the failed 
attempt at certified mail. 

If notice is given by publication, the owner(s) and/or the lienholder must claim the vessel within 30 
days after the last day the notice runs in the newspaper. 

(6) 	 Failure to recover vessel 

(a) 	 If the owner is properly notified prior to recovery and owner does not removelrecover 
vessel within 5 days, the owner may be responsible for all charges incurred in 
removing/recovering the vessel and may be charged with a violation of this rule. 

(b) 	 The removal time for the vessel may be immediate if the vessel impedes the use of a 
public facility, or presents a safety, navigational, or environmental hazard. 

1660-02-13-.04 Application for Certificate of Number 

(1) 	 If the owner(s) or secured party(ies) fails to claim the vessel within 30 days after the certified mail 
and after the notice by publication is given, the requesting party may apply to the Tennessee 
Wildlife Resources Agency for certificate of number. 

(a) 	 The requesting party must provide the following: 

1. 	 A completed affidavit for Request to Register Abandoned Boat (WR-0932); and 

2. 	 Original copies of the notice of publication as required in Rule 1660-02-13-.03(5); 
and 

3. 	 A photograph of the vessel. 

4. 	 A Certificate of Deletion issued by the U.S. Coast Guard if the vessel bears an 
official number issued by the Coast Guard or there is other evidence that the 
vessel was documented by the Coast Guard. Applicant must contact the National 
Vessel Documentation Center. 

(2) 	 Issuance of Registration: 

(a) 	 Upon receipt of the documents noted above, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 
shall issue a Letter of Authorization form (WR-# 0939) to the applicant that allows the 
county clerk to validate the claimant's State of Tennessee Application for Boat Certificate 
of Number. 

(b) 	 Applicant must submit validated State of Tennessee Application for Boat Certificate of 
Number along with the proper fees to Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency's 
Registration Division. 

(c) All costs incurred in obtaining a certificate of number shall be borne by the applicant. 

1660-02-13-.05 Vessels Abandoned at Storage Facilities 

(1 ) Any vessel(s) subject to this rule shall be available for inspection by a commissioned officer of 
the TWRA during normal business hours. This vessel inspection shall include but not be 
limited to: 

(a) 	 Documentation records; 
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(b) All identification numbers; 

(c) All records, receipts, or transfers of ownership; 

(d) Any other paper work which may show vessel origination; and 

(e) Physical inspection of vessels, or parts thereof, located at these facilities . 

Authority: T.C.A. §§66-29-132, 69-9-207, 69-9-209 and 70-1-206. 


I certify that the information included in this filing is an accurate and complete representation of the intent and 

scope of rulemaking proposed by the agency. 


Date: (fJ .... 15", 10 
Signature: ~cP-I ~ 

Name of Officer: Ed Carter 
-=~~~~------------------------------------

Title of Officer: ~,,~~~ ... ~ ~ .. ~~,~. 
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