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0620-05-01-.01 Definitions.

(1) Unless otherwise specifically defined in these rules, these terms will have the following 
meaning:

(a) “Administrative Contractor” or “AC” is the entity responsible for determining eligibility 
of applicants to CoverKids.  This may be a private contractor, government agency, 
or Departmental entity.

(b) “Budget Group” means for each applicant, the following family members living with 
the applicant: the applicant’s spouse, the applicant’s minor unmarried children, the 
siblings of children in the home when the applicant child and siblings do not have 
income of their own, and each of the applicant’s financially responsible adults as 
indicated by the family including natural, adoptive, and step-parents.  Children with 
SSI or Families First are not included in a budget group.

(c) “Commissioner” is the executive officer in charge of the Tennessee Department of 
Finance and Administration.

(d) “Commissioner’s Designee” means a person or group of persons appointed by the 
Commissioner to perform a particular function under these rules.

(e) “CoverKids” is the program created by Tennessee Code Annotated Section 71-3-1101 
et seq. and includes its authorized employees and agents as the context of the rules 
requires.

(f) “Days” means calendar days rather than business days.

(g) “Meaningful Access” is insurance coverage that includes a network of providers 
within a reasonable distance from the area in which the covered individual lives. 

(h) “Parent” means a natural or appointed guardian of minor children as defined by Title 
34, Part 1 of Tennessee Code Annotated subject to court orders entered or recognized 
by the courts of the state of Tennessee. 

(i) “Plan Administrator” or “PA” is the entity responsible for providing health care services 
to CoverKids enrollees. This may be a private contractor, government agency, or 
Departmental entity.
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(j) “PE Entity” is a CoverKids contractor which has been authorized by CoverKids to 
determine that a newborn baby or a pregnant woman is presumptively eligible for 
CoverKids according to the rules and procedures established by CoverKids. 

(k) “SSI” means Supplemental Security Income benefits provided by the Social Security 
Administration.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-3-1106. 71-3-1110. 

0620-05-01-.02 Eligibility.

(1) Citizenship. 

(a) Children and pregnant women applicants must be citizens of the United States or, 
persons designated as qualified aliens under 8 U.S.C. Sections 1641 and 1642 as 
applied to programs under Title XXI of the Social Security Act by federal law including 
42 C.F.R. 457.320(b)(6).

(b) CoverKids will comply with applicable amendments to Federal laws and regulations 
concerning eligibility of non-citizens.

(2) Residency.

(a) The applicant must be a resident of the state of Tennessee.

(3) Social Security Number.

(a) All applicants must have a Social Security Number (SSN) or proof of application for a 
SSN.  For newborns less than 4 months of age an application for an SSN must have 
been filed and a copy of the SSN application provided. SSN are not required for 
parents and children not applying for CoverKids coverage.

(b) Families with children under 4 months of age who were approved for CoverKids 
coverage without an SSN number must submit the SSN number to the AC within three 
(3) months of the first day of CoverKids coverage.

(4) Age.

(a) Applicants must be either a child under 19 years of age or a pregnant woman.  CoverKids 
coverage for children ends the last day of the month in which the child turns 19.

(b) A female who has become pregnant at 18 years of age with a delivery date that 
occurs after her 19th birthday, will be allowed to retain coverage so as not to create 
discontinuity of care for prenatal, delivery, and post-partum care.  This coverage will 
continue until the end of the month in which the 60th postpartum day occurs.  All 
services rendered would be related to post-pregnancy care.

(c) Information of the child’s age on the CoverKids application is sufficient verification of 
age.  Any applicant for whom a date of birth is not provided will be denied CoverKids 
coverage.

(5) Insurance Coverage.

(a) Factors in Determining Current Insurance Coverage.

1. The applicant must not be currently covered under a comprehensive health 
insurance policy for either individual, group or employer-based insurance, or
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2. The applicant must not have had comprehensive individual, group or employer-
based health insurance in the past three months, including Medicare, with 
exception allowed for Non-Voluntary Loss of insurance.  Applicants will not be 
eligible for coverage any earlier than the fourth month after the private coverage 
ends.  Applications received within one month of the first eligible month will be 
processed for coverage.

3. Specialty insurance coverage, such as dental-only or catastrophic-only coverage, 
is not considered comprehensive health insurance.

4. Coverage through the State of Tennessee’s Children’s Special Services (CSS) 
program is not to be considered comprehensive health insurance for eligibility 
purposes.

5. Information on the CoverKids application is sufficient verification of an applicant 
being uninsured. The State reserves the right to investigate the insurance status 
of applicants. The CoverKids application must be submitted with a copy of the 
front and back side of the insurance card for any applicants who are insured. 

(b) If the applicant is a pregnant woman with individual, group or employer based health 
insurance, she may be enrolled in CoverKids if her insurance does not cover prenatal/
maternity care.  The AC will use the information on the application, the copy of the 
insurance card and information obtained by contacting the insurance company to 
determine if prenatal/maternity care is covered by the private insurance.

(c) If the AC receives information from the family that applicants with private health 
insurance do not have meaningful access to the health services provided under 
the plan, the AC can consider the applicants uninsured for eligibility determination 
purposes.

(6) Assets.

(a) No asset test is used.

(7) Income.

(a) To be eligible for CoverKids, children and pregnant women must have adjusted gross 
income above TennCare Medicaid levels but below 250% of the Federal Poverty Level.  
CoverKids may enroll persons above 250% of the Federal Poverty Level under the 
terms and conditions set forth in these rules. To be consistent with the calculations 
used for TennCare Medicaid, this program will interpret the rules consistent with the 
guidelines currently used by that program for determination of both budget groups 
and income calculation to the extent such guidelines are applicable to the CoverKids 
program. Further, these rules and applications thereof are subject to change in 
accordance with any mandatory regulations or directives issued from the federal 
level.

(b) The CoverKids application will request income information for adults who are parents 
(biological, adopted or step) and for caretaker relatives who are caring for children 
when neither parent lives in the home or in the event a parent lives in the house but 
the parent’s current circumstances or conditions necessitates that a caretaker relative 
is the responsible adult assuming care of that child.  This will be deemed the case if 
the application lists the caretaker relative as the responsible adult or if the parent and 
caretaker relative are both listed as the responsible adults.

(c) All family income of the budget group must be reported on the application.  Self-
declaration of income by the applicant is sufficient verification and must include the 
payee’s name and the gross amount of monthly income.  Although received by the 
responsible parent on behalf of the child, income such as child support and Social 
Security benefits is considered as income of the child.
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(d) The financial eligibility for CoverKids will be calculated as follows:

1. Depending on family/household relationships, a family may be comprised of 
one or multiple budget groups.

2. If a child receives income and is applying for coverage, then that child and his 
income must be counted in the budget group.

3. If a pregnant female is under the age of 19 and lives in the household with her 
parents, the minor’s budget group would consist of the pregnant minor and 
her parents.

4. When the baby is born, the mother and the baby will comprise the budget 
group.  The baby would be screened for CoverKids eligibility.

(e) Whose Income to Count in The Budget Group.  The available income of the following 
individuals is considered part of the budget group’s countable income.

1. Income of the Financially Responsible Adult(s).

2. SSI, Families First income, and VA Pension income is not included in the income 
calculation.

3. Child’s Income. Countable income belonging to the eligible child (under 19) 
who is included in the Budget Group is considered in its entirety exclusive of 
any disregarded amount(s).

4. Income belonging to a child (individual under age 19) in his/her own right 
including income specially designated for him such as Social Security benefits 
or child support, is considered available solely to the child and is not deemed 
to any other individual unless the child is also a parent.  If the child is a parent, 
the rule of financial responsibility applies.

5. Income Belonging to a Caretaker Relative who is not a financially responsible 
adult is not considered to be part of the Budget Group’s countable income 
unless the caretaker relative requests inclusion in the Budget Group and he/she 
is otherwise eligible. This may be advantageous if caretaker relative is pregnant.  
The caretaker relative who is an SSI or FF recipient does not have the Budget 
Group inclusion option.

(f) Whose Income to be Counted in the Budget Group.  Explore income available to all 
members of the household in which the applicant resides.

1. Income belonging to any household members unrelated to the members of the 
Budget Group is unavailable to the group. A remarried caretaker relative who 
is 

 pregnant or under age 19 who elects inclusion in the BG may have income 
deemed to him/her from his/her spouse.  Further, a remarried responsible adult 
may have income deemed from his/her spouse if the spouse requests inclusion 
in the budget group as indicated by that spouse being named as the second 
responsible adult.

2. The income of any individual including a legal parent, living permanently outside 
the household is not available to the Budget Group.

3. Income belonging exclusively to the child excluded from the Budget Group, 
including those who exercise their exclusion option, is not available to members 
of the Budget group unless the child is a parent or spouse of a Budget Group 
member.
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4. The income of a recipient of a VA pension based on need is not included in the 
Budget Group income unless the recipient’s needs are included.

(g) Countable Income.

1. Income of any SSI or FF recipient, including a legal parent, are not considered 
available to members of the Budget Group.

2. Eligibility determination is done on a monthly basis; therefore, income must be 
converted to a monthly amount.  The following formulas should be used:

(i) Hourly or piece Work.  Multiply the hourly wage by the number of hours 
the individual worked or is expected to work in a week to determine the 
weekly earnings figure. Convert the weekly figure to a monthly figure; 
or

(ii) Determine the number of pieces an individual averages per day and 
determine the number of days per week.  Multiply these two figures to 
determine a weekly figure.  Convert the weekly figure to a monthly figure 
as described following.

(iii) Weekly Income – Multiply weekly income by 4.3 to determine monthly 
income.

(iv) Bi-Weekly Income – Multiply the amount received every two weeks by 
2.15 to determine the monthly amount.

(v) Semi-Monthly Income – Add the two semi-monthly amounts together to 
determine the monthly amount.

(vi) Annual Income – Divide the full amount of annual income by 12 to 
determine the average monthly amount.

(h) Financial Factors - The AC will calculate each budget group’s adjusted gross income 
for the month that eligibility will begin based on recent income information provided 
by the family on the CoverKids application.  Adjusted gross income is the sum of all 
countable income for persons in the budget group minus all deductions.  The following 
deductions are meant to align with the current guidelines used within the Department 
of Human Services for the purposes of coordination between the agencies to the 
extent that such guidelines are applicable to the CoverKids program.  Therefore, 
these deductions are subject to change if DHS guidelines change.  Further, these 
guidelines are subject to change in accordance with any mandatory federal regulations 
or directives issued from the Federal level.

1. Income Deductions. The following should be deducted:

(i) A standard $90 work expense deduction from countable earnings is 
allowed.

(ii) $30 plus 1/3 of a fiscal group member’s remaining earned income if the 
member received Families First cash assistance or Low Income Family              

 medical coverage from the DHS in at least one of the four calendar months 
preceding the month of the eligibility budget.

(iii) Child care payments.  For the purposes of CoverKids, a standard $200 is 
deducted monthly, per child, for which the applicant claims a child care 
expense, regardless of the actual amount of the expense. (The Child Care 
section below provides details on determining who is eligible for this 
deduction.)
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(iv) $50 from the total child support received for each child.

(v) 65% of rental income for administrative purposes, or the actual rental 
expenses if the landlord claims a larger expense.

(vi) For self-employment, deduct the actual operating expenses claimed.  
Operating expenses are based on the family’s statement for self-employed 
persons, including depreciation.  (Net loss; federal, state, and local income 
taxes; personal business expenses, including entertainment and retirement 
funds, are NOT considered deductions.)

(vii) Court-ordered child support paid by a fiscal group member for a child 
who does not live with the budget group. Arrearage payments are not 
deductible.

(viii) $60 from guardianship/conservator fees paid.

2. Child Care (dependent care) may be deducted only if the following are met:

(i) A child must be living with the family member, who is paying for the 
care,

(ii) Child must be that family member’s child,

(iii) Child must be under age 15, or under age 18 and need care because of 
a mental or physical limitation,

(iv) Other parent is not available to provide the child care due to conflicting 
work, school or training schedules,

(v) If the family has any monetary obligation for child care for an eligible child, 
the full $200 child care deduction is allowed.  If the full amount of the child 
care is paid by another entity (e.g., DHS), the child care deduction cannot 
be allowed.  Example: The child has a child care expense of $300 monthly.  
DHS pays $150 of this care.  Because the family has an obligation to pay 
the balance of the child care, the full $200 deduction is allowed.  If the 
entire $300 is paid by DHS, no deduction would be allowed.

3. Add the total allowable child care deduction to get each family’s total deduction 
for child care.

4. This total amount is used as the child care deduction for each child’s budget.

(8) Non-factors.

(a) The following must not be a factor in determining CoverKids eligibility:

1. Disability status.

2. Pre-existing condition (except pregnancy).

3. Diagnosis (except pregnancy).

(9) Excluded Children.

(a) Individuals who are not eligible for CoverKids include children who:

1. Are eligible for TennCare Medicaid.
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2. Are enrolled in TennCare Medicaid or TennCare Standard.

3. Have been criminally adjudicated and are in a correctional facility, including a 
detention home or training school.

4. Are admitted to an institution for mental disease.

5. Are eligible for health insurance coverage on the basis of a family member’s (self, 
parent, spouse, etc.) employment by a state or local governmental agency.

6. Have had comprehensive individual, group or employer-based health insurance 
in the past three months and voluntarily discontinued the comprehensive 
insurance, regardless of the cost.

(b) When the AC is made aware that any CoverKids beneficiary meets one of the 
conditions above, the AC will contact the family to verify the information received (if 
not received from family) and if verified, will disenroll beneficiaries from CoverKids.  
The AC will send a termination letter to the families.  Disenrollment and Review shall 
be conducted under the procedures set forth in rule 0620-05-01-.04 and 0620-05-
01-.05 of these rules.

(10) Updated Federal Poverty Levels.

(a) Upon release by the federal government of a new calendar year’s Federal Poverty 
Levels (usually in late winter), the AC will review all CoverKids denials that were 
previously conducted during the new calendar year to determine if applying countable 
family income to the new FPL thresholds would make any individuals eligible.  For 
those found to be eligible using the new FPL, the AC will process the application for 
enrollment based on this new information.

(11) Presumptive Eligibility.

(a) Presumptive Eligibility for Pregnant Women (PE-PW)-CoverKids Healthy Babies Program 
allows a pregnant woman to have immediate CoverKids coverage that begins on the 
day of the visit to a PE Entity as long as a complete, signed CoverKids application is 
submitted and all PE requirements are met.  The eligibility begins on date of signed 
application.  To be eligible for PE-PW, the applicant must:

1. Be a citizen or, as defined in federal law, an eligible immigrant.

2. Live in a family with adjusted gross income, as reported to the PE Entity, which 
is above 185% FPL and at or below 250% FPL.

3. Work with the PE Entity to submit a complete, signed CoverKids application.

4. Not have had PE-PW within the last 18 months.

5. Not be currently enrolled in TennCare or CoverKids.

6. Not be currently enrolled in comprehensive health insurance coverage.  (If a 
pregnant woman has health insurance that does not cover prenatal/delivery 
services, she will not be considered to have comprehensive health insurance 
coverage.)

7. Not have been enrolled in comprehensive health insurance coverage that was 
voluntarily terminated at any time within the three months prior to the visit with 
the PE Entity.  (If a pregnant woman had health insurance that did not cover 
prenatal/delivery services, she will not be considered to have had comprehensive 
health insurance coverage.)
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8. Not have access to state administered health insurance by means of a family 
member’s employment with a state or local government agency.

(b) Presumptive Eligibility for Newborns (PE-NB) allows a newborn to have immediate 
CoverKids coverage that begins on the day of the visit to a PE Entity as long as a 
complete, signed CoverKids application is submitted and all PE requirements are met.  
The eligibility begins on date of signed application which will also be the date the PE 
Entity makes the PE determination.  To be eligible for PE-NB, the applicant must:

1. Be a newborn who is not yet 4 months old.

2. Be a citizen or, as defined in federal law, an eligible immigrant.

3. Live in a family with adjusted gross income, as reported to the PE Entity, which 
is above 185% FPL and at or below 250% FPL.

4. Work (through a parent or legal guardian) with the PE Entity to submit a complete, 
signed CoverKids application.

5. Not have had PE-NB within the last 18 months.

6. Not be currently enrolled in TennCare or CoverKids.

7. Not be currently enrolled in comprehensive health insurance coverage.

8. Not have been enrolled in comprehensive health insurance coverage that was 
voluntarily terminated at any time within the three months prior to the visit 
with the PE Entity.

9. Not have access to state administered health insurance by means of a family 
member’s employment with a state or local government agency.

(c) Presumptive Eligibility For Children (PE-C) Transitioning from TennCare allows certain 
children whose TennCare coverage is ending to have immediate CoverKids coverage 
that begins on the day TennCare ends as long as all PE-C requirements are met.  This 
effort is to ensure that there are no gaps in coverage.  To be eligible for CoverKids 
PE-C, the child must:

1. Be under 19 years of age.

2. Be a child for whom DHS has determined that TennCare coverage will end as 
a result of having too much income and not meeting spend down.

3. Not be currently enrolled in CoverKids.

4. Not be currently enrolled in comprehensive health insurance coverage.

5. Have adjusted gross family income, as indicated on the DHS ACCENT system, 
at or below 250% FPL.

(12) Changes in Family Status.  If the family has applied for CoverKids and coverage was denied, 
applicants may reapply for CoverKids any time a change occurs that may make them 
eligible.  This could include a change in family size, pregnancy, loss of a job, or change 
in family income.  (A change in the child’s health status does not make a child eligible for 
CoverKids.)  If a family has a change in status that makes the children newly eligible for 
CoverKids, the family should reapply as soon as possible.

(13) Annual Redetermination of Eligibility.
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(a) Eligibility determinations will be done annually.  The AC will mail a CoverKids 
redetermination form to families within 60 calendar days of the beneficiary’s last 
day of continuous eligibility.  The family will complete the application, note changes, 
attach documentation, sign it and return it to AC.  The AC will make an eligibility 
determination for each applicant on the redetermination form. 

(b) For beneficiaries above 250% of the FPL who continue to be otherwise eligible, 
CoverKids eligibility will continue as long as the family continues to pay premiums for 
the next year.

(14) Pregnant women with income above 250% of the Federal poverty level will only be eligible 
for CoverKids enrollment if they are presently enrolled in the CoverTN program or presently 
enrolled in the CoverKids program.

(15) Enrollment Caps.

(a) Enrollment of children with income (as previously defined in this regulation) less than 
250% of the Federal Poverty Limit is dependent on federal funding under the SCHIP 
program authorized in Title XXI of the Social Security Act, and may be limited by 

 
 Federal laws and regulations governing the SCHIP program and the funding allocated 

to the state of Tennessee.

(b) Enrollment of children with income greater than the 250% of the Federal Poverty Limit 
may be subject to enrollment caps at the discretion of CoverKids management.

(c) Enrollment of pregnant women over 250% of the Federal Poverty Limit is limited to 
pregnant women already enrolled and in good standing with the CoverKids program 
and women already enrolled in CoverTN.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-3-1106. 71-3-1110.

0620-05-01-.03 Cost Sharing—Premiums and Co-Pays.

(1) Premiums.

(a) CoverKids enrollees in families with income equal to or less than 250% of the Federal 
Poverty Limit will not be assessed premiums.

(b) CoverKids enrollees in families with income greater than 250% of the Federal Poverty 
Limit will be assessed a monthly full premium for each beneficiary. The enrollee family 
is responsible for payment of the premium each month.

(c) The premium will be determined by the State’s insurance plan administrator based 
on its determination of historical costs and estimates of future costs over the life of 
the contract.  This determination will be reviewed by CoverKids and will be posted 
on the website of the insurance plan administration. The website address and cost 
information will be distributed to the public by CoverKids.

(d) Payment of the first month’s premium will be required for services to begin.

(e) Pregnant women with income greater than 250% of the Federal Poverty level shall 
pay premiums in advance for maternity related services only if she is presently enrolled 
in CoverKids program.

(2) Failure to Pay Premiums.

(a) If the enrollee is delinquent in paying premiums and fails to pay the appropriate 
premiums within 31 days of the due date of the premium, the enrollee will be 
considered delinquent and may be subject to disenrollment from CoverKids.
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(b) When an enrollee is delinquent in paying a premium, the health plan will notify the 
family, in writing, of:

1. The amount due.

2. The date the past due premium must be paid.

3. The disenrollment from the health plan if the past due premium is not paid.

4. The date coverage will end.

5. The need to report any change in circumstances (for example: loss of income, 
additional family members, or requirement to pay child support for a child not 
living with the family) which may result in a new determination of eligibility.

6. The right to request a health plan review and a Department Review and the 
procedures to follow in requesting a review.

(c) A delinquency notice will be issued on the day that the payment is due if payment 
has not been received. A termination notice will issue if the payment is not received 
within 31 days of the due date.

(d) All reviews will be conducted according to the procedures in rule 0620-05-01-.05. 

(e) Once disenrolled from CoverKids for failure to pay required premiums, applicants will 
not be eligible for CoverKids coverage until payment for unpaid amounts is made and 
for six (6) months after the disenrollment for nonpayment of premiums.  In these cases, 
a new CoverKids application must be submitted.   Applications received within one 
month of the month that follows the six month period will be accepted.  Coverage 
will not begin before the first month’s premium and all previously unpaid premium 
amounts have been paid.

(3) Co-Pays.

(a) CoverKids will assess co-pays for certain covered services as detailed in the chart 
attached as follows:

BENEFIT FAMILY INCOME 
BETWEEN 150-250% 
FPL

FAMILY INCOME AT OR 
BELOW 150% FPL

Annual Deductible None None

Preexisting 
Condition 
Requirement

None None

Physician Office 
Visit

$15 copay PCP; $20 
copay specialist

$5 copay PCP or specialist

Hospital Care $100 per admission

(waived if readmitted 
within 48 hours for 
same episode)

$5 per admission

(waived if readmitted within 48 hours 
for same episode)
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Prescription Drug 
Coinsurance/
Copay

$5 generic; $20 
preferred brand; $40 
non-preferred brand

$1 generic; $3 preferred brand; $5 non-
preferred brand

Maternity $15 copay OB, first 
visit only; $20 copay 
specialist; $100 
hospital 

admission

$5 copay OB or specialist, first visit 
only; $5 hospital admission

Routine Health 
Assessment and 
Immunizations 
– Child

No copays for services 
rendered under 
American Academy of 
Pediatrics guidelines

No copays for services rendered under 
American Academy of Pediatrics 
guidelines

Emergency Room $50 copay per use 
(waived if admitted)

$5 copay per use in case of an 
emergency (waived if admitted); 

$10 copay per use for non-emergency 

Chiropractic Care $15 copay; 
Maintenance visits 
not covered when no 
additional progress is 
apparent or expected 
to occur

$5 copay; Maintenance visits not 
covered when no additional progress is 
apparent or expected to occur

Ambulance 
Service – Air & 
Ground

No copay

100% of reasonable 
charges when 
deemed medically 
necessary by claims 
administrator

No copay

100% of reasonable charges when 
deemed medically necessary by claims 
administrator

Lab and X-ray No copay

100% benefit

No copay

100% benefit

Physical, Speech 
& Occupational 
Therapy

$15 copay per visit; 
Limited to 52 visits 
per year per condition

$5 copay per visit; Limited to 52 visits 
per year per condition

Mental Health 
Inpatient
(preauthorization 
required)

$100 copay per 
admission; Limited to 
30 days per year

$5 copay per admission; Limited to 30 
days per year

Substance Abuse 
Inpatient
(preauthorization 
required)

$100 copay per 
admission; Limited to 
two 5-day detox stays 
per lifetime; plus one 
28-day lifetime stay

$5 copay per admission; Limited to two 
5-day detox stays per lifetime; plus one 
28-day lifetime stay
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Mental Health/
Substance Abuse 
Outpatient
(preauthorization 
required)

$20 copay per 
session; Limited to 52 
sessions mental health 
and substance abuse 
combined

$5 copay per session; Limited to 52 
sessions mental health and substance 
abuse combined

Annual Out-of-
Pocket Maximums 

5% of family income 5% of family income

 No co-payments will be charged for well-child visits, immunizations, or lab and x-ray 
services. There is also no co-payment for ambulance services when deemed medically 
necessary by the health plan. For children in families with income at or below 150 
percent of the Federal Poverty Limit, co-payments will not exceed $5.00, except the 
co-payment for non-emergency use of the emergency room will be $10.

(b) For enrollees with family income equal to or under 250% of the Federal Poverty Limit, 
the aggregate cost sharing for a family shall not exceed 5% of the family’s annual 
income.

(c) As required by Federal law, American Indian and Alaska Native children as defined 
by the Indian Health Care Improvement Act of 1976 will be exempt from all cost 
sharing.

(d) A family that does not pay a required co-payment remains enrolled in the program. 
An individual provider may at his or her discretion refuse service for non-payment 
of a co-payment unless a medical emergency exists. The state does not participate 
in collection action or impose any benefit limitations if enrollees do not pay co-
payments.

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-3-1106. 71-3-1110.

0620-05-01-.04 Disenrollment.

(1) Grounds for Disenrollment from CoverKids.  Once enrolled in CoverKids, children are financially 
eligible for 12 months, except in the following situations, which will result in disenrollment 
from CoverKids coverage prior to the end of the 12 month period.

(a) An enrollee, through an authorized family member, requests disenrollment.

(b) Nonpayment of premiums, as described more fully in regulation 0620-05-01-.03.

(c) Admission of a CoverKids enrollee into a correctional facility or an institution for 
mental disease.

(d) A CoverKids enrollee moves from the state.

(e) Death of a CoverKids enrollee.

(f) A CoverKids enrollee is enrolled in TennCare. 

(g) A CoverKids enrollee meets a TennCare Medicaid spend-down.

(h) A CoverKids enrollee turns age 19. 

(i) A woman 19 or older who was enrolled because of pregnancy is no longer eligible 
after the last day of the month in which the sixtieth post-partum day occurs.
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(j) A CoverKids enrollee gains access to state-sponsored health insurance through a 
family member’s employment with a state or local education agency that has state 
sponsored health insurance or contributed to state sponsored health insurance as 
defined in 42 C.F.R. 457.301.

(k) A CoverKids enrollee is enrolled into individual, group or employer-based coverage.

(l) A CoverKids enrollee is discovered not to have been eligible for CoverKids at the 
time of enrollment. This includes, but is not limited to, enrollees whose enrollment 
was obtained by fraud or misrepresentations by an enrollee, parent, guardian, or 
representative.

(2) Procedures.

(a) Disenrollments shall be conducted under the procedures set forth in rule 0620-05-
01-.05 of these rules. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-3-1106. 71-3-1110.

0620-05-01-.05 Administrative Review of CoverKids Decisions. 

(1) Eligibility and Enrollment Matters.  The parent of an enrollee or applicant may obtain review 
of a denial of eligibility, suspension or termination of enrollment (including termination for 
failure to pay premiums or cost sharing), or a situation in which eligibility decisions have 
not been made in a timely manner, through the following procedures.

(a) Informal Review.

1. A parent will be notified of a denial of eligibility or suspension or termination 
of enrollment in writing, and such notice will contain the reason for the denial, 
the procedures for seeking review of this decision, and the anticipated time 
by which review will be completed.  Parents may also request a review for 
situations in which an eligibility determination has not been made in a timely 
manner. Parents will be notified that termination or suspension of enrollment 
will not be effective until the completion of the review process provided in 
these rules.

2. Parents may request review by sending a written request to the Administrative 
Contractor (AC) or calling the eligibility and enrollment AC’s toll-free number. 
This request for review must be received by the AC within 30 days of issuance 
of written notice of the action for which review is requested or, if notice is not 
provided, 30 days from the time the applicant becomes aware of the action..  
They may report additional information or clarify information on the applicant’s 
account.  The AC will document the call and any additional information/
clarification provided. AC eligibility staff will review the matter.

3. If the AC’s review does not result in the child being eligible, the parent will be 
notified of the reason the denial was upheld. The notification letter will inform 
the parent that they may submit a request for formal review in writing to the 
Division of Insurance Administration, to be reviewed by the state-level CoverKids 
Eligibility Appeals Committee.

(b) Formal Review.

1. The parent may request a formal review of the informal review decision with a 
written request to the Division of Insurance Administration. This request must 
be received by the Division within 30 days of issuance of the informal review 
decision.  Receipts of requests for review will be acknowledged in writing 
within 10 days, including notification that a decision should be issued within 
one calendar month of receipt of the acknowledgment letter.
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2. The Eligibility Appeals Committee, composed of five Division of Insurance 
Administration staff members, will review eligibility and enrollment matters. The 
members of this committee shall not have been directly involved in the matter 
under review. If the Committee disagrees with the decision of the AC, the child 
will be enrolled in CoverKids. If at any level of dispute, the appropriate party 
determines the child is eligible for enrollment in CoverKids, the enrollment will 
become effective retroactive to the first day of the month following the initial 
eligibility determination.

3. Parents may represent themselves or have a representative of their choosing 
in connection with formal reviews. Parents may review information relevant 
to the review of the decision in a timely manner and may submit supplemental 
information during the review process. Enrollees will remain enrolled pending 
completion of the review in the case of suspension or termination of 
enrollment.

4. The Committee is not required to conduct in-person hearings or to conduct a 
contested case under the requirements of the Uniform Administrative Procedures 
Act.

5. If the Committee agrees with the decision to deny eligibility, a letter will be 
sent to the parent detailing the reason for denial.  The decision of the Eligibility 
Appeals Committee will be the final administrative recourse available.

(c) Deadlines for Review.

1. Expedited review will be provided if an applicant provides a statement from a 
medical professional that she or he has a medical situation that is life threatening 
or would seriously jeopardize the enrollee’s health or ability to attain, maintain 
or regain maximum functioning. Expedited review should be completed within 
10 days of receipt of the request.

2. All enrollment or eligibility matters not subject to expedited review shall be 
determined within a reasonable time.

(2) Health Services Matters. A parent of a CoverKids enrollee may request review of a Cover 
Kids action to delay, deny, reduce, suspend, or terminate health services, or a failure to 
approve, furnish, or provide payment for health services in a timely manner, according to 
the following provisions.

(a) Notice. Any decision denying, or delaying a requested health service, reducing, 
suspending, or terminating an existing  health service, or failure to approve, furnish, 
or provide payment for health services in a timely manner shall be in writing and 
must contain the reason for the determination, an explanation of review rights and 
procedures, the standard and expedited time frames for review, the manner of 
requesting a review,  and the circumstances under which existing health services 
may continue pending review unless there is question that the existing health services 
are harmful.

(b) Contractor Review. Parents commence the review process by submitting a written 
request to the Plan Administrator (PA) within 30 days of issuance of written notice 
of the action or, if no notice is provided, from the time the enrollee becomes aware 
of the action not to exceed six (6) months from when the action occurred. The PA 
will review this request and issue a written decision within 30 days of receipt of this 
request.  Expedited reviews (within 72 hours) will be available for situations in which 
a benefit determination or a preauthorization denial has been made prior to services 
being received and the attending medical professional determines in writing (including 
legible handwriting) that the medical situation is life threatening or would seriously 
jeopardize the enrollee’s health or ability to attain, maintain or regain maximum 
functioning. This determination should be made in legible writing with an original 
signature.
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(c) State Informal Review. After the PA’s internal review is completed, the parent of an 
enrollee who disagrees with the decision may request further review by submitting 
a letter or form to the State Division of Insurance Administration which must be 
received within 8 days of the Administrator’s decision. The Appeals Coordinator 
within the Division will review the matter and gather supplemental information from 
the family, physician, and/or insurer as needed.  The Appeals Coordinator may also 
request review by the state’s independent medical consultant.  A written decision of 
the Appeals Coordinator should be issued within 20 days of receipt of the request 
for further review.

(d) State Review Committee. If the informal review does not grant the relief requested 
by the parent, the request will be scheduled for review by the CoverKids Review 
Committee.  The Committee will be composed of five members, including Division 
of Insurance Administration staff and at least one licensed medical professional, 
selected by the Commissioner or his designee. The members of the Committee will 
not have been directly involved in the matter under review. The parent will be given 
the opportunity to review the file, be represented by a representative of the parent’s 
choice, and provide supplemental information. The Committee may allow the parent 
to appear in person if it finds that scheduling the appearance will not cause delay in 
the review process.  The Review Committee is not required to provide an in-person 
hearing or a contested case under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act. The 
parent will receive written notification of the final decision stating the reasons for the 
decision. The decision of the CoverKids Review Committee is the final administrative 
recourse available to the member.

(e) Time for Reviews. Review of all non-expedited health services appeals will be completed 
within 90 days of receipt of the initial request for review by the PA.  Reviews by both 
the Appeals Coordinator and the Committee may be expedited (completed within 72 
hours at each the PA and State levels) for situations in which a benefit determination 
or a preauthorization denial has been made prior to services being received and the 
attending medical professional determines in writing (including legible handwriting) 
that the medical situation to be life threatening or would seriously jeopardize the 
enrollee’s health or ability to attain, maintain or regain maximum functioning.

(3) Scope of Review. CoverKids will not provide a review process for a change in enrollment, 
eligibility, or coverage under the health benefits package required by a change in the State 
plan or Federal and State law requiring an automatic change that affects all or a group of 
applicants or enrollees without regard to their individual circumstances.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-3-1106. 71-3-1110. 

The rulemaking hearing rules set out herein were properly filed in the Department of State on the 
30th day of May, 2007, and will be effective on the 13th day of August, 2007. (FS 05-33-07, DBID 
2548)


