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1340-03-07-.01 Purpose.

(1

To establish a system for the application, approval, regulation and standardization of Driver Education
Courses by the Tennessee Department of Safety.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-2009 and 55-10-301. Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.02 Definitions.

(1)
)
©)

(4)

(©)

)

"Commissioner” shall mean the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Safety.
"Department” shall mean the Tennessee Department of Safety.

"Driver Education Course" shall mean a classroom or on-line curriculum of driver safety training of not
less than four (4) hours which has been determined by the Department to meet or exceed the
standards of the AAA, National Safety Council or such other nationally recognized curriculum approved
by the Department and which is designed to educate persons committing minor traffic violations and
to deter future violations.

"Driver Education Course Instructor" shall mean an individual who is approved by the Department for the
purpose of conducting a Driver Education Course.

"Driver Education Course Provider" shall mean an entity approved by the Department to operate and
conduct a Driver Education Course and shali include:

(a) County, municipality or other entity of local government;
(b) Nonprofit organization as defined by the Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3); or

(c) Private entity, provided the entity meets or exceeds all the requirements of T.C.A. § 40-35-302(g)
for private entities providing misdemeanor probation supervision services.

"Governmental employee" shall mean employees and officials of the state of Tennessee and its political
subdivisions who are employed as law enforcement employees or officials; probation and parole
employees or officials; judicial employees or officials, or correctional employees or officials, including
employees and officials of jails and workhouses.

“Immediate family" shall mean and include the employee's spouse/partner, mother, father,
siblings, adult children or maternal and paternal grandparents.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(g). Administrative History:
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1340-03-07-.03 Driver Education Course Provider Requirements.

(1

)

(3)

)

6)

(8)
©)
(10)

(11)
(12)

(13)

An entity which proposes to offer a Driver Education Course must submit an application supplied by the
Department, along with a nonrefundable certified check or money order in the amount of one hundred fifty
dollars ($150.00) for the application fee, to the Department’s Safety Education Unit of the Highway Patrol.

Upon initial approval, the applicant will be provided a Certificate by the Department. The Certificate shall
be conspicuously displayed in the primary place of business of the approved applicant.

Submit an annual renewal fee in the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00).
Provide a minimum of four (4) hours of classroom or on-line driver safety training which has been
determined by the Department to meet or exceed the standards of the AAA, National Safety Council or

such other nationally recognized curriculum approved by the Department and which is designed to
educate persons committing minor traffic violations and to deter future violations.

May assess a reasonable fee between fifty dollars ($50.00) or one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175.00)
for the Driver Education Course, provided that no person shall be refused admittance for inability to pay.
This fee shall apply only to Driver Education Courses that may be required pursuant to T.C.A. § 55-10-
301 and shall not apply to any program offered pursuant to the provisions of T.C.A. Title 49, Chapter 1, or
to any other driving instruction school.

Issue a certificate of completion to each student who has successfully completed the Driver Education
Course. Such certificate shall have thereon the student’s full name, driver license number, date of birth,
course name, hours completed and the Driver Education Course Provider's name and address.

No governmental employee or the employee's immediate family shall have a direct or indirect personal

interest in a private entity that provides a Driver Education Course and shall not receive anything of value
in an individual capacity from the private entity.

Comply with or exceed the minimum standards set forth herein.
Only use Instructors who meet the qualifications set forth herein.

Maintain the following records for a period of three (3) years and ensure that such records are available
for inspection by the Department during business hours:

(@) A roster of each class, listing the course name, location, Instructor's full name, student names,
driver license numbers and date of birth.

(b) A receipt for each student stating the student’s full name, driver license nhumber and amount paid.

(c) A list of students who have successfully completed the Driver Education Course, with each
student’s full name, driver license number, date of birth, course name and class location.

(d) Course material, which shall include the most recent material to teach crash prevention, and safe
and defensive driving.

(e) Any other records that may be required by the Department.
Ensure compliance with all Department rules and regulations.

Immediately notify the Department by mail, facsimile or electronic transmission of any change(s) in
information on the application or any change in ownership or Instructors.

Be open for periodic (with or without notice) on-site inspection by the Department.
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(14) Shall not hire any person as an Instructor or otherwise who is an employee of the Department.
(15) Comply with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(g). Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.04 Driver Education Course Instructor Requirements.

&) Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age, high school graduate or passed the GED, have and
maintain a valid driver license that has not been revoked, suspended or cancelled for any reason in the
three (3) years preceding the date of hire, no conviction for a felony or any crime involving violence,
dishonesty, deceit, fraud, or indecency and not an employee of the Department.

(2) Shall have attended and successfully completed a Driver Education Course Instructor's School operated
by AAA, National Safety Council or such other certified school approved by the Department. The Driver
Education Course Provider shall send a copy of the Instructor's certificate of completion to the
Department's Safety Education Unit. The Instructor shall maintain current certification.

(3) No governmental employee or the employee's immediate family shall have a direct or indirect personal
interest in a private entity that provides a Driver Education Course and shall not receive anything of value
in an individual capacity from the private entity.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(g). Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.05 Denial, Revocation or Suspension.

(1) The Department may deny, revoke or suspend a Driver Education Course Provider or Instructor for any
violation of the law, rules or regulations relating to the operation of a Driver Education Course.

(2) The Department may deny, revoke or suspend the Driver Education Course Provider or Instructor for
actions including, but not limited to, the following:

(a) Conviction of a Provider or Instructor for a felony or any crime involving violence, dishonesty,
deceit, fraud or indecency.

(b) Knowingly presenting false or misleading information to the Department.

(c) Failure or refusal to permit the Department to inspect, audit or investigate the Driver Education
Course Provider's premises, the Driver Education Course instruction records, financial records,
etc.

(d) Failure to submit the application with supporting documentation and/or the required fees within

the prescribed time limit.

(e) Failure to maintain Department approved standards in instruction, equipment or facilities.
() The presence of alcoholic beverages or narcotic drugs on the premises.
(9) The presence of any type of weapon on the premises, except a weapon carried by a

commissioned law enforcement officer or an individual with an authorized and valid carry permit.
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(g). Administrative History:
1340-03-07-.06 Hearings.
(1) Any Provider or Instructor of a Defensive Driving Course who has been denied, revoked or suspended

shall have the right to request a hearing in writing within thirty (30) days of the date of written notification
of such action.
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(2) The hearing shall be before the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee and held in accordance
with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act (T.C.A. § 4-5-101 et seq.).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 4-5-101 et seq. Administrative History:
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:
Board Member Aye

[

No Abstain Absent Signature

(if required)

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
Tennessee Department of Safety on _04/01/2010

, and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4-5-222. The
Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed under the

conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being placed on file in

his office as rules at the expiration of thirty (30) days after the publication date of the issue of the Tennessee
Administrative Register in which these proposed rules are publighed.

Date: / 'o%lo/f e

Signature: /W
[ 4

Name of Officer: Dereck Stewart

Title of Officer: Captain, Tennessee Highway Patrol
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Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on:

/ A\
All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of

Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

E. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to Public Chapter 464 of the 105" General Assembly, prior to initiating the rule making process as
described in § 4-5-202(a)(3) and § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or
rule affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Pursuant to the Regulatory Flexibility Act of 2007, T.C A. § 4-5-401, et seq., the Department of Safety submits the
following regulatory flexibility analysis:

(1

(6)

and

(7)

The extent to which the rule may overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local
government rules:

The proposed rule does not overlap, duplicate or conflict with other federal, state or local government
rules.

Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule:

The proposed rule exhibits clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity.

The establishment of flexible compliance and reporting requirements for small businesses:

The proposed rule establishes reasonable compliance and inspection requirements for small businesses
engaged in Driver Education Courses. The proposed rule does not establish any reporting requirements
for small businesses.

The establishment of friendly compliance and reporting requirements for small businesses:

The proposed rule establishes the requirement for periodic compliance inspections for small businesses
engaged in Driver Education Courses. The proposed rule does not establish any reporting requirements
for small businesses.

The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses:

The proposed rule requires periodic inspections for small businesses engaged in Driver Education
Courses.

The establishment of performance standards for small businesses as opposed to design or operational
standards required in the proposed rule:

The proposed rule establishes performance and operational standards for small businesses engaged in
Driver Education Courses. The majority of these standards are already required by T.C A. §§ 55-10-301
40-35-302(g).

The unnecessary creation of entry barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb
innovation, or increase costs.

The proposed rule does not unnecessarily create entry barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial
activity, curb innovation, or increase costs.
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee
All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1).

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by
such rule;

Safety. This is a new rule that establishes uniform procedures for approval and regulation of driver education

T.C.A. § 55-10-301 requires that court-ordered driver education courses be approved by the Department of
courses by the Department.

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto;

Although T.C.A. § 55-10-301 requires driver education courses to be approved by the Department of Safety, the
statute does not mandate that the department promulgate rules or regulations.

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or
rejection of this rule;

Counties, municipalities, or other entities of local government; nonprofit organizations, and private entities that
operate and conduct driver education courses.

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to
the rule;

| None |

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures,
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less;

Entities that provide and conduct driver education courses will be required to pay an initial application fee to the
Department of $150.00 and a $50.00 renewal fee each year thereafter. These fees will be used by the
Department to cover administrative and inspection costs and are not intended or expected to result in any
increase in government revenues.

(F) ldentification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge
and understanding of the rule;

| Captain Dereck Stewart; ]

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a
scheduled meeting of the committees;

| Captain Dereck Stewart; |

(H) Office address and telephone number of the agency representative or representatives who will explain the
rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and

Tennessee Department of Safety
1150 Foster Avenue

Nashville, TN 37243

615) 687-2408

() Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests.
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1340-03-07-.01 Purpose.

(1)

To establish a system for the application, approval, regulation and standardization of Driver Education

Courses by the Tennessee Department of Safety.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-2009 and 55-10-301. Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.02 Definitions.

(1)

"Commissioner" shall mean the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Safety.

(2)

"Department" shall mean the Tennessee Department of Safety.

(3)

"Driver Education Course" shall mean a classroom or on-fine curriculum of driver safety training of not

less than four (4) hours which has been determined by the Department to meet or exceed the

standards of the AAA, National Safety Council or such other nationally recognized curriculum approved

by the Department and which is designed to educate persons committing minor traffic violations and

to deter future violations.

(4)

"Driver Education Course Instructor" shall mean an individual who is approved by the Department for the

purpose of conducting a Driver Education Course.

(5)

"Driver Education Course Provider" shall mean an entity approved by the Department to operate and

conduct a Driver Education Course and shall include:

(a) County, municipality or other entity of local government;

(b) Nonprofit organization as defined by the Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3); or

(6)

(c) Private entity, provided the entity meets or exceeds all the requirements of T.C.A. § 40-35-302(q)
for private entities providing misdemeanor probation supervision services.

"Governmental employee" shall mean employees and officials of the state of Tennessee and its political

(7)

subdivisions who are employed as law enforcement employees or officials; probation and parole
employees or officials; judicial employees or officials, or correctional employees or officials, including
employees and officials of jails and workhouses.

"Immediate family" shall mean and include the employee's spouse/partner, mother, father,

siblings, adult children or maternal and paternal grandparents.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(g). Administrative History:
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1340-03-07-.03 Driver Education Course Provider Requirements.

(&)

An entity which proposes to offer a Driver Education Course must submit an application supplied by the

Department, along with a nonrefundable certified check or money order in the amount of one hundred fifty

dollars ($150.00) for the application fee, to the Department’s Safety Education Unit of the Highway Patrol.

(2)

Upon initial approval, the applicant will be provided a Certificate by the Department. The Certificate shall

(3)

be conspicuously displayed in the primary place of business of the approved applicant.

Submit an annual renewal fee in the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00).

(4)

Provide a minimum of four (4) hours of classroom or on-line driver safety training which has been

(5)

determined by the Department to meet or exceed the standards of the AAA, National Safety Council or
such other nationally recognized curriculum approved by the Department and which is designed to
educate persons committing minor traffic violations and to deter future violations.

May assess a reasonable fee between fifty dollars ($50.00) or one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175.00)

for the Driver Education Course, provided that no person shall be refused admittance for inability to pay.

This fee shall apply only to Driver Education Courses that may be required pursuant to T.C.A. § 55-10-

301 and shall not apply to any program offered pursuant to the provisions of T.C.A. Title 49, Chapter 1, or

to any other driving instruction school.

(6)

Issue a certificate of completion to each student who has successfully completed the Driver Education

(7)

Course. Such certificate shall have thereon the student’s full name, driver license number, date of birth,
course name, hours completed and the Driver Education Course Provider's name and address.

No governmental employee or the employee's immediate family shall have a direct or indirect personal

(8)

interest in a private entity that provides a Driver Education Course and shall not receive anything of value
in an individual capacity from the private entity.

Comply with or exceed the minimum standards set forth herein.

9

Only use Instructors who meet the qualifications set forth herein.

(10)

Maintain the following records for a period of three (3) years and ensure that such records are available

for inspection by the Department during business hour_s:

(a) A roster of each class, listing the course name, location, Instructor’'s full name, student names,

driver license numbers and date of birth.

(b) A receipt for each student stating the student'’s full name, driver license number and amount paid.

(c) A list of students who have successfully completed the Driver Education Course, with each

student'’s full name, driver license number, date of birth, course name and class location.

(d) Course material, which shall include the most recent material to teach crash prevention, and safe

and defensive driving.

(e) Any other records that may be required by the Department.

a1

Ensure compliance with all Department rules and regulations.

(12)

Immediately notify the Department by mail, facsimile or electronic transmission of any change(s) in

information on the application or any change in ownership or Instructors.

(13)

Be open for periodic (with or without notice) on-site inspection by the Department.
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(14) Shall not hire any person as an Instructor or otherwise who is an employee of the Department.

(15) Comply with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(q). Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.04 Driver Education Course Instructor Requirements.

(1) Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. high school graduate or passed the GED, have and
maintain a valid driver license that has not been revoked, suspended or cancelled for any reason in the
three (3) years preceding the date of hire, no conviction for a felony or any crime involving violence,
dishonesty, deceit, fraud, or indecency and not an employee of the Department.

(2) Shall have attended and successfully completed a Driver Education Course Instructor's School operated
by AAA, National Safety Council or such other certified school approved by the Department. The Driver
Education Course Provider shall send a copy of the Instructor's certificate of completion to the
Department's Safety Education Unit. The Instructor shall maintain current certification.

(3) No governmental employee or the employee's immediate family shall have a direct or indirect personal
interest in a private entity that provides a Driver Education Course and shall not receive anything of value
in an individual capacity from the private entity.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(q). Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.05 Denial, Revocation or Suspension.

(1) The Department may deny, revoke or suspend a Driver Education Course Provider or Instructor for any
violation of the law, rules or regulations relating to the operation of a Driver Education Course.

(2) The Department may deny, revoke or suspend the Driver Education Course Provider or Instructor for
actions including, but not limited to, the following:

(a) Conviction of a Provider or Instructor for a felony or any crime involving violence, dishonesty,

deceit, fraud or indecency.

(b) Knowingly presenting false or misleading information to the Department.

(c) Failure or refusal to permit the Department to inspect, audit or investigate the Driver Education
Course Provider's premises, the Driver Education Course instruction records, financial records,
etc.

(d) Failure to submit the application with supporting documentation and/or the required fees within

the prescribed time limit.

(e) Failure to maintain Department approved standards in instruction, equipment or facilities.
(f) The presence of alcoholic beverages or narcotic drugs on the premises.
(q) The presence of any type of weapon on the premises, except a weapon carried by a

commissioned law enforcement officer or an individual with an authorized and valid carry permit.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 40-35-302(q). Administrative History:

1340-03-07-.06 Hearings.

(1) Any Provider or Instructor of a Defensive Driving Course who has been denied, revoked or suspended
shall have the right to request a hearing in writing within thirty (30) days of the date of written notification
of such action.
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(2) The hearing shall be before the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee and held in accordance
with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act (T.C. A. § 4-5-101 et seq.).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 55-10-301 and 4-5-101 et seq. Administrative History:
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