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Notice 

Of 


Rulemaking Hearing 


Department of Commerce and Insurance 

Division ofRegulatory Boards 


Board for Licensing Contractors 


There will be a hearing before the Board for Licensing Contractors to consider the 
promulgation of rules pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 62-6-108. The hearing will be 
conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, 
Tennessee Code Annotated § 4-5-204, and will take place in the Tennessee Ballroom at 
the Radisson Hotel, located at 185 Union Avenue, in Memphis, Tennessee at 10:00 a.m. 
(Central Time) on the 25th day ofMay, 2005. 

Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review 
these filings) should contact the Department of Commerce and Insurance to discuss any 
auxiliary aids of services needed to facilitate such participation. Such initial contact may 
be made no less than ten (10) days prior to the scheduled meeting date (the date the party 
intends to review such filings), to allow time for the Department of Commerce and 
Insurance to determine how it may reasonably provide such aid or service. Initial contact 
may be made with Don Coleman, the Department's ADA Coordinator, at 500 James 
Robertson Parkway, SthFloor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243 at (615) 741-0481. 

For a copy of this notice of rulemaking hearing, contact Carolyn Lazenby, Executive 
Director of the Board for Licensing Contractors at 500 James Robertson Parkway, Davy 
Crockett Tower, 2nd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, telephone (615) 741-8307. 
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(1) For the purposes of rules 0680-4-.01 through 0680-4-.06, the following 
definitions are applicable: 

(a) "Limited licensed plumber" means any person who performs any 
plumbing work that has a total cost of less than twenty-five 
thousand dollars ($25,000.00) and who is required to be registered 
under the provisions of the Limited Licensed Plumbers' Act of 
2004. 

(b) "Board" means the state board for licensing contractors pursuant to 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-6-104. 

(2) Limited licensed plumbers are not authorized to use the appellation 
"contractor" or any other designation that gives or is designed to give the 
impression that a limited licensed plumber is a contractor unless the 
limited licensed plumber also holds a valid contractor license issued by the 
Board. 

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 62-6-108, 62-6-405,62-6-402, and 62-6-403. 

0680-4-.02 Application and Examination. 

(1) Applications for initial licensure as a limited licensed plumber are 
available upon request from the office of the Board. 

(2) Initial license applications submitted to the Board must be accompanied 
by a nonrefundable application fee and the initial license fee as set forth in 
rule 0680-4-.03. 

(3) Costs for examinations, where applicable, shall be paid directly to the 
entity designated by the Board to administer the exam. 

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 62-6-108 and 62-6-405. 

0680-4-.03 Fees. Fees charged by the Board are as follows: 

(1) Initial license fee. $75.00 

(2) License renewal fee. $50.00 

(3) Late renewal fee. For each month or portion thereof that renewal is late, 
the applicant for renewal shall pay an additional fee of 10"10 of the renewal 
fee, with the total fee not to exceed $100.00. Renewals that are filed 
subsequent to the twelfth month after expiration will be treated as new 
applications. 
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(4) Replacement license, $ 25,00 

(5) Non-refundable application fee. $50.00 

Authority: Tenn, Code Arm, §§ 62-6-108, 62-6-405, 62-6-406, 62-6-408, and 62-6­
411. 

0680-4-.04 Change of Address, A licensee shall notify the office ofthe Board in 
writing within thirty (30) days of any cbange of address. 

Authority: Tenn, Code Ann. §§ 62-6-108 and 62·6·405. 

0680-4·,05 License Renewal. 

(I) 	 Each license issued under this chapter will expire biennially on the last 
day of the month of its issuance, 

(2) 	 Applications for the renewal oflicenses will be made on a form provided 
by the Board and shall be filed with the renewal fee no later than thirty 
(30) days prior to license expiration. Applications will not be considered 
filed until the applicable fee(s) prescribed in these rules is received. 

(3) 	 License renewals that are received fewer than thirty (30) days before the 
license expiration will be subject to late renewal penalties of 10% per 
month (or fraction thereot), with the total fee not to exceed twice the 
normal renewal fee, and renewal applications received subsequent to the 
twelfth month after expiration will be treated as new applications for 
licensure, 

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann, §§ 62-6·108, 62-6·405, and 62-6-411, 

0680-4-.06 Disciplinary Action and Civil Penalties, 

(1) 	 The Board for Licensing Contractors may, in a lawful proceeding with 
respect to any individual or entity licensed or required to be licensed by 
the board under Title 62, Chapter 6, Part 4, in addition to or in lieu of any 
other lawful disciplinary action, assess civil penalties of up to $\,000.00 
for each separate violation of statutes, rules or orders enforceable by the 
Board, 

(2) 	 Each day of continued violation may constitute a separate violation, 

(3) 	 In assessing civil penalties, the following factors may be considered: 

(a) 	 Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic 
deterrent to the violator; 
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(b) 	 The circumstances leading to the violation; 

(c) 	 The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the public; 

(d) 	 The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result ofnon­
compliance; and 

(e) 	 The interest ofthe public. 

(4) 	 The grounds for disciplinary action against licensees are set out in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 62-6-409, and the Board may initiate proceedings against a 
limited licensed plumber for faulty plumbing work and for the following 
grounds in the best interest of the pUblic: 

(a) 	 Fraud or deceit in obtaining a license, including the submission to 
the Board of any knowingly false or forged evidence in, or in 
support of, an application for a license; or 

(b) 	 Dishonesty, fraud or gross negligence, including knowingly or 
through gross negligence making misleading, deceptive or untrue 
representations in the performance of services. 

Authority: Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 62-6-108,62-6-404,62-6-405, and 62-6-409. 
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I certify that this is an accurate and complete representation ofthe intent and scope of the 
rulemaking proposed by the Board for Licensing Contractors. 

Scott M. Ledford 
Staff Attorney 

Department ofCommerce and Insurance 

~t~ 
Secretary of State of Tennessee 
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