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Chapter 0020-01
Board of Accountancy, Licensing and Registration Requxrements

Amendments

Rule 0020-01-.01(1} Definitions is amended to add a definition for “Expired License” as new subparagraph (h), to
read as follows:

(h “Expired License” means a license that is more than one year past the expiration date of the
license;

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-103, 62-1-105, 62-1-105(e), 62-1-108 and 62-1-111{a){(12).

Rufe 0620-01-.04(1) Fees is amended by amending subparagraphs {f) and {g) to read as follows:

{f Fee for late filing of permit, certificate, or registration renewal application
One hundred dollars ($100.00)

(1)) Fee for application for reinstatement  Two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00)

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-107.

Rule 0020-01-.06 Examinations is amended by deleting paragraph (6) in its entirety and by deleting subparagraph
{7)b} in its entirety.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-1086.

Rule 0020-01-.08 Renewal of Licenses is amended by deleting paragraph (8) in ifs entirety and by amending
paragraphs (5}, (6}, and (7) to read as follows:

{5) The Board may request additional evidence from licensees for continuing professional education
requirements including continuing professional education audits (which require CPE course completion
documentation),

(6) Licenses which are between one day and one year past the expiration date of the license shall be
considered delinquent. Licensees that renew between thirty-one (31) days and one (1) year foiiowmg
their expiration date will be assessed a late fee in the amount of $100.00.

(7) Licenses which are more than one (1) year past the expiration date on the license shall be deemed to
have expired. Any individual wishing to reinstate an expired license shall comply wilth paragraph (4) of
this rule and paragraph (8) of rule 0020-5-.03. The CPE hours required to be completed to reinstate an
expired license are considered penalty hours and may not be used (o offset the CPE hours required for
the renewal of a license.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105, 62-1-107, 62-1-108, 62-1-109, and 62-1-111.

Rule 0020-01-.13 Interstate Practice is amended by deleting subparagraph (2)(a) in its entirety, deleting
subparagraph {2){b) in its entirety, and by adding a new paragraph (4) to read as follows:

{4 Any Tennessee licensee who lives in another state and who wishes to practice accountancy under this
chapter must maintain his or her Tennessee license in good standing in order to do so.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105, 62-1-107, 62-1-110, 62-1-111, 62-1-113, and 62-1-114.
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Chapter 0020-02
Educational and Experience Requirements

Amendments

Rule 0020-02-.02 Education is amended by amending subparagraphs {1)(a), {1)(b), and paragraph (3) fo read as
follows:

{1) An applicant will be deemed to have met the educational requirement if the applicant has earned a
baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited educational institution and obtained the minimum
number of hours required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-1-106(c} which includes:

(a) At least thirty (30} semester or forty-five (45) quarter hours of accounting education including the
elementary level;

{b) Not more than three (3) semester or four (4) quarter hours may be internship programs which
may be applied to the thirty (30} semester or forty-five (45} quarter hours in accounting; and,

(3) For purposes of this rule, candidates must have at least twenty-four (24) semester or thirty-six (36)
quarter hours of accounting courses at the upper division level, junior level courses or higher.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-106.
Chapter 0020-03
Rules of Professional Conduct
Amendments
Rule 0020-03-.16 Naotification to the Board is amended by amending paragraph {1) to read as follows:

{1) A licensee shall notify the Board in writing within thirly (30) days of any change of name, mailing address,
e-mail address, and, in the case of individual licensees, change of employment,

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-111.

Chapter 0020-05
Continuing Education

Amendments

Rule 0020-05-.03 Basic Requirements is amended by amending subparagraph {1)(b) and by adding a new
subparagraph (7)(c) to read as follows:

(1) A license holder seeking regular bienniat renewal shall, as a prerequisite for such renewal, show that he
or she has completed no less than eighty (80) hours of qualified continuing professional education during
the two (2}-year period immediately preceding renewal with a minimum of twenty (20) hours in each year
with specifications as follows:

(b) All license holders shall complete a board-approved two (2} hour state-specific ethics course
designed to familiarize the licensee with accountancy law and rules as well as professional ethics;

{7) A non-resident licensee seeking renewal of a license in this state shall meet the CPE requirement of this

rule by meeting the CPE requirements for renewal of a license in the state in which the licensee's
principali office is located.
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(c) If the state in which a non-resident licensee's principal office is located does not require a course
in ethics, the non-resident licensee shall complete the ethics requirement for this state as set forth
in rule 0020-5-.03(1)(b).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105, 62-1-107, and 62-1-111.

Rule 0020-05-.04 Qualifying Programs is amended by amending paragraph (6) fo read as follows:

(6) In the board’s discretion, continuing education credit may be allowed for writing articles and books,
provided that their preparation conlributes to the professional competence of the license holder. Credit for such
preparation may be awarded on a self-declaration basis of up to fifty percent (50%]) of the two (2) year continuing
education requirement. Additional credit may be awarded in exceptional circumstances, upon the written request
of the license holder, accompanied by a copy of the article(s) or books(s) and a statement of justification. No
credit shali be given for unpublished book(s) or article(s).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-107.
Chapter 0020-086
Peer Review Program
Amendments

Rule 0020-06-.04 Basic Requirements is amended by amending paragraph (2) and paragraph {4} to read as
follows:

(2) Each firm that performs one or more audit engagements shall have an on-site peer review. Firms that
perform only compilations or reviews in accordance with SSARS shall have either an on-site or off-site
peer review.

{4) Failure of a firm to be enrolled in a board-approved peer review program in a timely manner will result in

the denial of the firm’s permit to practice.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-201.
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* If a roli-call vote was necessary, the vole by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Stanley Sawyer

C. Don Royston
lisa Stickel
Douglas Warren
R. Kenneth Cozart
Alfred Creswell
Shannone Rayhon
Casey Stuart
William Blaufuss
Jennifer Brundige '
Vic Alexander X

R XK KX XX

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy (board/commission/ other authority) on 05/06/2011 (mm/dd/yyyy),
and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4-5-222,

I further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed wilh the Department of State on: {03/10/11)

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on; {(add more dates). {(05/06/11)

Date: /)3/@5% o .

kbbb a%ffggl,:;!

B A ff ’5{_4‘

.- v

Name of Officer: {i‘j»;fgﬁfcgﬂ/?&”,é /;,,% ﬁ%&fy’ /f%‘

Tille of Officer: /-?%?‘ /fmm/ fbmepj Terrressec

S Aﬁ@pﬂ Qf&mmy@@%/nﬁwf&ﬁ@i
7" gubscribed and sworn to before me on: ‘%: 5"‘/ P 7

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on: S aatd f ~ /5

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

RgbertE Choper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter
F-(3-f

Date
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Public Hearing Comments

There were two comments received in response to hese proposed rule changes. Below is a summary of the
comments and a summary of the Board's response to each comment;

The first comment was sent in writing to the Board from Mr. Gary Tucker, Jr., an Alabama-based CPA regarding
the proposed change to Rule 0020-02-.02(1)(a), which would change the number of accounting hours, including
elementary level courses, required as part of the overall one hundred and fifly hour educational requirement for all
licensees from a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours to a minimum of thirty (30) hours. Because Mr. Tucker states
in his lstter that he has only twenty (20} hours of accounting education, he would appear to be unable to sit for the
Tennessee CPA exam even under the twenty-four {24) hour requirement. Because he claims to have more than
ten {(10) years of experience in the profession, he requested that the Board consider offsetting up to ten (10)
hours of the proposed new thirty (30) hour educational requirement with relevant work experience.

The Board thoroughly discussed and considered Mr. Tucker's proposal. The Board ultimately declined to adopt
Mr. Tucker's suggested amendment because they believe that the proposed change in the educational
requirement will strengthen the base of accounting knowledge for Tennessee licensees, thereby resulting in more
competent CPAs to serve the citizens of Tennessee,

The second comment was sent in writing to the Board from David Costello, President and CEQ of the National
Associations of State Boards of Accountancy {*NASBA”"). Mr. Costello wrote in opposition to the proposed
change to Rule 0020-05-.03(1}(b}, which would only require licensees to complete two (2) hours of Tennessee
state-specific Ethics CPE for each two year renewal period, whereas the current rule require four (4) hours of
general Ethics CPE. Mr. Costello's argued that more Ethics hours, not less, would be preferable, especiaily given
the recent wave of accounting scandals around the nation over the past several years. As such, he
recommended that the Board leave the current four (4) hour general Ethics CPE requirement in place.

The Board thoroughly discussed and considered Mr, Costello’s proposal. The Board ultimately decided to
proceed with the rule change on the basis that the proposed rule change would still require licensees o obtain
Ethics CPE every renewal period, that it would free up two (2) hours of CPE credit each renewal period to allow
licensees to increase their technical knowledge of the profession, and that it would also expose licensees to
Tennessee state-specific Ethics issues every renewal period.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A,
§ 4-5-202(a)}(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), alt agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

1. OQverlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local governmental rules:

There will be no overlap, duplication, or conflict with other federal, state or local governmental rules.

2. Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rules:

The rules are clear in purpose and intended execution. The implementation of the proposed rule changes will
increase clarity and conciseness and decrease ambiguity in the rules as a whole.

3. Flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses:

The preposed rule changes impose no compliance and reporting requirements on smal! businesses,

4. Friendly schedules or deadlines for compiiance and/or reporting reqguirements:

The proposed rule changes impose no additional compliance and reporting reguirements on small businesses
beyond those which already exist.

5. Consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements:

The proposed rule changes impose no additional compliance and repoﬁing requirements on small businesses
beyond those which already exist.

6. Performance standards for small businesses:

The proposed rule changes impose no new performance standards on small businesses.

7. Barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs:

Ruie 0020-01-.04(1)(f) increases the fee for licensees who are late in filing for the renewal of their permit,
certificate, or registration from § 50.00 to $ 100.00. This Board rarely increases fees, and it does so sparingly,
mindful of the impact fee increases can have on individual licensees and CPA firms. However, the Board has
determined that this small fee increase is necessary in order to defray the costs of bringing licensees whose
licenses have expired into legal compliance and hack into good standing to praclice accountancy.

S§8-7039 (July 2010) 9 RDA 1693



Impact on Local Governments
Pursuant to T.C.A. 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declaraiive
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or

regulation may have a projected impact on [ocal governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

None of these rule changes are projected to have any impact on local governments.
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Additional Information Requirecd by Joint Government Operations Committee
All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following purstant to TCA 4-5-226(i)(1).

(A} A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previcus regulations effectuated by
such rule;

1.) Rule 0020-1-.1(1): Subseclion (h) was added to this rule to provide a definition for “expired license”.
Under the current rule, substantial ambiguity exists regarding what is required of a licensee to reinstate his
license after his license expires. This definition clarifies when a license is in “expired” status, which means that
the licensee must file a reinstatement application in order to get his license reinstated fo good standing.

2) Rule 0020-1-.4(1): Even though the rule heading under the current rules reads “Fees”, subsections (f)
and (g) under current rules incorrectly refer to the fees for the late filing of a certificate and for the reinstatement
of a license as a “penalty”. This ambiguity has caused confusion for licensees who are disciplined by the Board
by being ordered to pay a civil penally. More than one licensee who was subject to board discipline asked why
he was being required to pay a “penalty” for a late-filed certificate or reinstalement application when he had
already paid a civil penaity as part of the Consent Order which resolved the disciplinary complaint against him.
Therefore, the purpose of this rule change is to clarify that money paid by licensees for a late-filed certificate or
for reinstatement of a license are properly l[abeled as “fees”, not as a “penalty”. Additionally, as part of the rule
change for subsection (f), the Board approved an increase in the fee for the late filing of a certificate or firm
permit from fifty dollars ($ 50.00) to one hundred dollars {$ 100.00) in order to defray the costs incurred by the
Board staff in bringing past due licenses current, The fiscal impact of this proposed fee increase is minimal.

3) Rule 0020-1-.6: Subsection (8) and subsection (7)(b) were both deleted because these subsections
refer to the written CPA exam. The CPA exam is now only offered electronically via computer. Therefore, these
subsections are obhsolete.

4 Rule 0020-1-.8: Subsection (5) was amended by deleting the second sentence of the current rule
regarding the listing of CPE courses on license renewal forms. This language caused soeme confusion for
licensees regarding what they had to list on their renewal forms regarding CPE courses. Because the first
sentence of subsection (5) was and is sufficient to specify the Board’s authority to request additional Information
from licensees regarding their CPE credits, the second sentence was delsted. Subssection (6) was amended to
clarify that money paid tc the Board by a licensee for the late renewal of a license is a fee, not a penalty.
Additionally, subsection (6) was amended to specify that the amount of the fee assessed to a licensee for late
renewal of a license will be $ 100.00, whereas the current rule does not specify the amount of the late renewal
fee. Subsection {7) was deleted in its entirety because the subject matter covered by current subsection (7) is
now thoroughly addressed in amended subsection (8). Renumbered subsection (7) (formerly subsection (8))
was amended to clarify that a license which is not renewed within one {1) year of its expiration date has expired.
Whereas the current rule states that a license not renewed within one {1) year of expiration has “lapsed” (a term
not defined anywhere in the law or rules), the amended rule refers to such licenses as expired, a term which is
now defined as a result of these rule changes.

5) Rule 0020-1-.13: Subsections (2){a) and (2)(b) were deleted because they referred to temporary
practice permits. Because multi-jurisdictional practice in and from Tennessee is now governed by mobility,
Tennessee no longer issues temporary praclice permits. Therefore, theses subsections are obsolete. New
subsection {(4) was added to ensure that any Tennessee licensee who practices under mobility in another state
must maintain his Tennessee license in good standing in order to do so.

6.) Rule 0020-2-.2: Subsection {1)(a) increases the number of accounting hours, including the elementary
level, which must be obtained as part of the 150 hours of education required of all ticensees from twenty-four
(24) semester or thirty-six (36) quarter hours to thirty (30) semester hours or forty-five (45) quarter hours.
Subsection (1)(b) Is not substantively amended in any way. Rather, it Is amendad to reflect the 24/36 to 30/45
credit hour change described in the amended subsection (1){a). Subsection {3) was amended to increase the
number of upper leve! course credit hours required of licensees from twelve (12) semester or eighteen (18)
quarter hours to twenty-four {24) semester or thirty-six (36) quarter hours. These changes shall only apply to
individuals applying for a new CPA license after the effective date of these proposed changes.

7.) Rule 0020-3-.16: Paragraph (1) is amended to require that a licensee provide an e-mall address to the
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Board, and that they notify the Board whenever there is a change in their e-mail address.

8.) Rule 0020-5-3: Subparagraph (1)(b) is amended to require a licensee to complete two (2) hours of
Tennessee state-specific Ethics CPE as part of his 80 hour hiannual CPE requirement, whereas the current rule
requires a four (4) hour Ethics course which is not required to be state-specific. Because some jurisdictions
have no Ethics CPE requirement, new subparagraph (7)(c) is added to ensure that any CPA practicing in
Tennessee completes at least the minimum amount of Ethics CPE required by Tennessee’s law and rules.

9.) Rule 0020-5-.4: Paragraph (6) is amended to provide specific guidance to licensees as to how much
CPE credit they may be granted for any articles or books they write. Specifically, the amendment makes clear
that the article or book for which the licensee is attempting to claim CPE credit must be published, and that the
Board has sole discretion regarding how much, if any, CPE credit they decide to award for such articles or
books.

10.)  Rule 0020-6-.4: Paragraph (2) is amended by deleting the word “location” from the current rule. CPA
firms may have one location or more than one location. Regardless of the number of locations, the firm itself
has only one peer review obligation to cover all its locations, not an obligation for every location of the firm to
have a separate peer review. Paragraph (4) Is also amended by dsleting the word “location”, and for the same
reason as amended paragraph (2) above. ‘

(B) A citation to and brief description of'any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto;

| The proposed rule changes are not mandated by any statute or rule at either the federal or state level. |

{C) Identificalion of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or
rejection of this rule;

The amendment to the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy rules will affect applicants seeking a CPA
license from the Board. The only feedback received by the Board from the individuals and/or entities who will be
affected by these rule changes were the letters more fully described in the “Public Hearing Comments” Section
of this document,

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to
the rule;

| ['am unaware of any opinion of the attorney general or any judicial ruling which directly relates to these rules. I

{E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures,
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumplions and reasoning upon which the estimate
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two
percent (2%} of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less;

With the exception of the proposed change to Rule 0020-1-.4(f), these rule changes are not expected to result in
any increase or decrease in state andfor local government revenue and expenditures. The proposed change to
Rule 0020-1-.4(f) will result in a revenue increase for the agency. However, the expected revenue increase will
be minimal because the expected revenue increase is not more than 2% of the agency’s annual budget and is
not more than $ 500,000.00.

(F) lIdentification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge
and understanding of the rule;

Mark Crocker, Executive Director for the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy; Chris Whiltaker, Assistant
General Counsel for the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy.
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(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a
scheduled meeting of the committees;

| Chris Whittaker, Assistant General Counsel for the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and

| 500 James Robertson Pkwy., Nashville, TN 37243; (615) 741-3072; chris.whittaker@tn.gov

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests.

[ N/A
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Chapter 0020-01
Board of Accountancy, Licensing and Registration Requirements

Amendments

Rule 06020-01-.01(1) Definitions is amended to add a definition for "Expired License” as new subparagraph (h), o
read as follows: .

{h) “Expired License” means a license that is more than one year past the expiration date of the
license;

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-103, 62-1-105, 62-1-105(e), 62-1-108 and 62-1-111(a)(12).

Rute 0020-01-.04(1) Fees is amended by amending subparagraphs {f} and {g) to read as follows:

(f) Fee for late filing of permit, certificate, or registration renewal application
One hundred dollars ($100.00)

{Q) Fee for application for reinstatement Two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00)

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-107.

Rule 0020-01-.06 Examinations is amended by deleling paragraph (6} in its entirety and by deleting subparagraph
(7)(b) inits entirety.

(6)—Allexamination-candidates-who-took-a-wrillen-examinationprier-to-April-2004-shall- be required-to-pass—all
sections-ofthe-examinationprovidedfor-in -G-A-§-62-1-108(d)-in-order-to-qualify-for acertificate:

{b}—Gandidates-having-earned-conditional-credits-or-the-wrilen-exarminalion—as-efHhestart- date-of
the-cempuier-based Uniform GPA-Examinationwillretainconditional-credits—"Conditional
credits™meanscredits-carned-by-a-candidate front-the- wrillen-exam-that are credited-teward-the

%mp&@aze&emm#hﬁeﬂemnge%d%emdﬂ&me%%mempea&ng%&%&%&eﬁ&ef

Reperting-{(ARE)
BusinessLtawand———=—Business-Envirenment
Professionat and-Coeneepls{BEG)
R ibilitis (LPR)

4————A-candidate-who-has-altained-conditionaleredits-as-of-the-start date-of the-compuler-
base&UmfemGPArExammahenwitkbeaﬂewed—a%anmﬂﬁeﬂeémmeteﬂﬂy

examination-haveremainingatthe-launch-of-the-computer-based-examination;-fe
somplete-allremainingtestseclions-orthe-number-of remaining-oppertunitiesunderthe
written-examination,-multiplied by six (6} menths-whicheveris-first exhausted:

%-———Hﬂ%ﬂdld&%&%&hﬁﬁﬂdiﬁﬂ%%%ﬂ%ﬁma#mmaﬁﬂg{esﬁmmgme
transition-period;-the-conditional- ereditsecarned-underthe-paper-and-peneilexamination
willexpire-and-thecandidate wilHeseeredit-for-the test sections passed-under-the-paper
and-peneilexamination—Anry-test section{s}passed-during-the-ransitienperiedssubjest
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{o-the-conditional provisions-indicated-n-this-seetion.-However; a-candidate with
eonditional-eredits willnoHose-ereditfor a-test-seetion-of- the computer-based
examinationthatis-passed-during-the-transitionperied—even-though-more-than-six{8)
mmmmwmm@ma%amwmm
end-of-the-{ransition-peried:

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-106.

Rule 0020-01-.08 Renewal of Licenses is amended by deleting paragraph (8) in its entirety and by amending
paragraphs (5), (6), and (7) to read as follows:

{(&y—The-Board- mayrequestadditional-evidence-from-icensees-for continuing prefessional-edusation
requirementsincluding-continuing-professional-edusationaudits-{whichrequire-GPE-sourse-completion
decumentation}—Listingsof CPE-courses-onrenewal-forms-are-feguired:-hewever-the listings-are-not
considered-evideneeferthisrule:

(5) The Board may request additional evidence from licensees for continuing professional education
requirements including continuing professional education audits (which require CPE course completion
documentation).

{6)——Licensees that renew more-than thirly-one-(3-D-days-butess-thanthree (3 -menthsfellowing-their
expiration-date-will-be-assessed-aate-penalty:

(6) Licensees that renew more than thirty-one (31} days but less than one (1) year following their expiration
date will he assessed a late fee in the amount of $ 100.00.

(H—Licensees-that-renew-mere-than-three {3} months butless-than-ene-{1-year-after-theirexpiration-date will
be-assessed-an-additionraHate-penaky-

{&r—*kicenses notrenewed within-one-(1) year-ofHthe-expiration-date-shallt- be-deemed-e-have-lapsed—Any
individual-desiringltoreinstate-alapsedicense-shallcomply with-the requirements-ef-paragraph-feur{4}-of
this-rule-and-paragraph-six-(6)-of rule-0020-6--03—Fhe-GPEheursrequired-o-be-completed-fo-reinstale-a
m%e%%mmmewwmmmmmﬁ%%ﬁwem;

the renewal-of-adieense-

(7) Licenses not renewed within one (1) year of the expiration date shall be deemed 1o have expired. Any
individual wishing to reinstate an expired license shall comply with paragraph (4) of this rule and
paragraph (G} of rule 0020-5-.03. The CPE hours required to be completed to reinstate an expired
license are considered penalty hours and may not be used to offset the CPE hours required for the
renewal of a license.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105, 62-1-107, 62-1-108, 62-1-109, and 62-1-111.

Rule 0020-01-.13 Interstate Praclice is amended hy deleting subparagraph (2)(a) in its entirety, deleting
subparagraph {2)(b} in its entirety, and by adding a new paragraph {4) lo read as follows:

{23 Foos

{ay—An-individual-intending-te-practice public-aceountaney-inTennessee-unde
shal%—makeﬂaphea%leneﬁdﬁla%ne&e&ef—sﬁehﬂﬂ{em—w%eBea;&srdeS}gne{%NASBHhe
applieationshall- be-accompanied by the-applicable-noprefundable fee-

{(by—Alternatively-an-individual- GRA-may-choose-tofileanetifieationformwith-the-Board-office stating
the-intent-to-practice public-accountancy-in Ternessee—The-individual GRA-must-be-ingoed
standmguané%eenseé%&anyethe%s%ate—lh&@%may—ameﬂeeﬁMh|s~manﬂer+as4engas~the
individual does not reside in Tennessee and pays-the-Beard-an-annual-fee-asd
Beard—Each-neliceshallbe-accompanied-by-anonrefundablefeeof-fify-dollars{$-50.00)

(4) Any Tennessee licensee who lives in another state and who wishes to practice accountancy under this
chapter must maintain his or her Tennessee license in good standing in order to do so.
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105, 62-1-107, 62-1-110, 62-1-111, 62-1-113, and 62-1-114,

Chapter 0020-02
Educational and Experience Requirements

Amendments

Rule 0020-02-.02 Education is amended by amending subparagraphs (1)(a), (1)(b), and paragraph (3) to read as
follows:

(1 An applicant wilt be deemed to have met the educational requirement if the applicant has earned a
baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited educational institution and obtained the minimum
number of hours required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-1-106(c} which includes:

far—AHeasHwenty-four{24-semester-of- thirty-shx {36} quarter-hours-of accounting-education
including the-elementarylevek

(a) At least thirty {30) semester or forty-five (45) quarter hours of accounting education including the
elementary level;

c-(3)semesteror-four-{4quarterhours-may-be-internship-programs-whish
may-be-appliedtothe-twenly-four-{24)-semester-hours-orthirly-six {38} quarter-heursin
aseounlingand;

(b) Not more than three {3) semester or four (4) quarter hours may be internship programs which
may be applied to the thirty (30) semester or forty-five (45) quarter hours in accounting; and,

rpurposes-of-thisruleeandidates-must-have-atleast-iwelve (12} semesteroreighteen{18}-quarter
heurs-of-accounting education-and-atleasttwelve-{12) semesteror-eighteen{18}-quarter-heurs-of-general
business-courses-at-the-upperdivisien-level;-junior level courses-er-higher

(3) For purposes of this rule, candidates must have at least twenty-four (24) semester or thirty-six (36)
quarter hours of accounting courses at the upper division level, junior level courses or higher.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-1086.

Chapter 0020-03
Rules of Professional Conduct

Amendments

Rule 0020-03-.16 Naotification to the Board is amended by amending paragraph (1) to read as follows:

H—Adieensee-shall notify the Board in writing withinthirly-(30}- days-of-any-change-ef-name-address;-and-in
the-case-ofindividual-icensees,change-ofemployment

(1) A licensee shall notify the Board in writing within thirty (30) days of any change of name, mailing address,
e-mail address, and, in the case of individual licensees, change of employment.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-1-111.

Chapter 0020-05
Continuing Education

Amendments

Rule 0020-05-.03 Basic Requirements is amended by amending subparagraph {1)(b) and by adding a new
subparagraph (7)(c) to read as follows:
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1 A license holder seeking regular biennial renewal shall, as a prerequisite for such renewal, show that he
or she has completed no less than eighty (80) hours of qualified continuing professional education during
the two (2)-year period immediately preceding renewal with a minimum of twenty (20) hours in each year
with specifications as follows:

{bY—Alllicense-helders-shallcomplete-a-board-approved-four-{4)-hour-ethics-course-designed-te
familiarizethelicensee-with-the-accountancy law-andrales-as-well-asprofessienal-ethies:

t)] Al license holders shall complete a board-approved two (2) hour state-specific ethics course
designed to familiarize the licensee with accountancy law and rules as well as professional ethics;

{7) A non-resident licensee seeking renewatl of a license in this state shall meet the CPE requirement of this
rule by meeting the CPE requirements for renewal of a license in the state in which the licensee’s
principal office is located.

(c) if the state in which a non-resident licenses's principal office is located does not require a course
in ethics, the non-resident licensee shall complete the ethics requirement for this state as set forth
in rule 0020-5-.03(1)(b).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105, 62-1-107, and 62-1-111.
Rule 0020-05-.04 Qualifying Programs is amended by amending paragraph (6) to read as follows:

(6) - -Continuing-education-ereditmay-be-allowed-for writing-articlesand-beoksprovided-that their preparation
%ntnbm%mmmmmmwmeldmmmwmm

m&%em&heldem%emmmeébmepyeﬁm&amfﬂe@ﬁﬂmk{sﬁmmem%eﬂmew

(6) In the Board's discretion, continuing education credit may be allowed for writing articles and books,
provided that their preparation contributes to the professional competence of the license holder. Credit
for such preparation may be awarded on a self-declaration basis of up to fifty percent {(50%} of the two (2)
year continuing education requirement. Additional credit may be awarded In exceptlonal circumstances,
upon the written request of the license holder, accompanied by a copy of the article(s) or books(s) and a
statement of justification. No credit shall be given for unpublished book(s} or article(s).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-106 and 62-1-107.

Chapter 0020-06
Peer Review Program

Amendments

Rule 0020-06-.04 Basic Requirements is amended by amending paragraph (2} and paragraph (4} to read as
follows:

(2)  Eachfirmocatienthatpedforms-ere{Hor-more audit engagement(s)shallhave-an-on-site peerroview:
Firr-ocationsthat-perform-only-compiiations-er reviews-in-accordance-with-SSARS-shal-have-eitheran

(2) Each firm that performs one or more audit engagements shall have an on-site peer review. Firms that
perform only compilations or reviews in accordance with SSARS shall have either an on-site or off-site
peer review.

{4}—Failure-of-afirmlocation-to-beineluded-in-a-peerreview perfermed-in-a-timely-mannermayresultinthe
denial-of-thelecatior’s permitiopractice:

(4) Failure of a firm to be enrolled in a Board-approved peer review program in a timely manner will result in
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the denial of the firm’s permit to practice.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-1-105 and 62-2-201.
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Ne Abstain Absent Signature
{if required)

Board Member

>
<
)

Stanley Sawyer

C. Don Royston
Lisa Stickel
Dougtas Warren
R. Kenneth Cozart
Alfred Creswell
Shannone Raybon
Casey Stuart
William Blaufuss
Jennifer Brundige
Vic Alexander X

HKHXEKHKXHE AKX XXX

1 certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rutes, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy (board/commission/ other authority) on 05/06/2011 (mm/ddfyyyy),
and fs in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: {03/10/11)
Rutemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). (05/06/11)
Date:
Signature:

Name of Officer:

Titte of Officer:

Subscribed and sworn to before me on:

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on:

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

Robert £. Cooper, Jr.
Altorney General and Reporter

Date
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Department of State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State on:

Effective on:

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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Public Hearing Comments

There were two comments received in response to these proposed rule changes. Below is a summary of the
comments and a summary of the Beard's response to each comment:

The first comment was sent in writing to the Board from Mr. Gary Tucker, Jr., an Alabama-hased CPA regarding
the proposed change to Rule 0020-02-.02(1)(a), which would change the number of accounting hours, including
slementary level courses, required as part of the overall one hundred and fifty hour educational requirement for all
licensees from a minimum of twenty-four (24} hours to a minimum of thirty (30) hours. Because Mr. Tucker states
in his letter that he has only twenty (20) hours of accounting education, he would appear to be unable to sit for the
Tennessee CPA exam even under the twenty-four (24) hour requirement. Because he claims to have more than
ten (10) years of experience in the profession, he requested that the Board consider offsetting up to ten (10)
hours of the proposed new thirty (30) hour educational requirement with relevant work experience.

The Board thoroughly discussed and considered Mr. Tucker's proposal. The Board ultimately declined to adopt
Mr. Tucker's suggested amendment because they believe that the proposed change in the educational
requirement will strengthen the base of accounting knowledge for Tennessee licensees, thereby resulting in more
competent CPAs to serve the citizens of Tennessee.

The second comiment was sent in writing to the Board from David Coslello, President and CEO of the National
Associations of State Boards of Accountancy (*“NASBA"). Mr. Costello wrote in opposition to the proposed
change to Rule 0020-05-.03(1)(b), which would only require licensees to complete two (2) hours of Tennessee
state-specific Ethics CPE for each two year renewal period, whereas the current rule require four (4) hours of
general Ethics CPE. Mr. Costello’s argued that more Ethics hours, not less, would be preferable, especially given
the recent wave of accounting scandals around the nation over the past several years. As such, he
recommended that the Board leave the current four (4) hour general Ethics CPE requirement in place.

The Board thoroughly discussed and considered Mr. Costello’s proposal. The Board ultimately decided to
proceed with the rule change on the basis that the propesed rule change would still require licensees to obtain
Ethics CPE every renewal period, that it would free up two (2) hours of CPE credit each renewal period to allow
licensees to increase their technical knowledge of the profession, and that it would also expose licensees to
Tennessee state-specific Ethics issues every renewal period.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3} and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a}, all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affecls small businesses.

1. Qverlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local governmental rules:

There will be no overlap, duplication, or conflict with other federal, state or local governmental rules.

2. Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rules:

The rules are clear in purpose and intended execution. The implementation of the proposed rule changes will
increase clarity and conciseness and decrease ambiguity in the rules as a whole.

3. Flexible compliance andfor reporting requirements for small businesses;

The preposed rule changes impose no compliance and reporting requirements on small businesses.

4. Friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting requirements;

The proposed rule changes impose no additional compliance and reporting requirements on small businesses
beyond those which already exist.

~

5. Consolidation or simptification of compliance or reporting reguirements:

The proposed rule changes impose no additional compliance and reporting requirements on small businesses
beyond those which already exist.

6. Performance standards for small businesses:

The proposed rute changes impose no new performance standards on small businesses.

7. Barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs:

Rute 0020-01-.04(1)(f) increases the fee for licensees who are late in filing for the renewal of their permit,
cerlificate, or registration from § 50.00 to $ 100.00. This Board rarely increases fees, and it does so sparingly,
mindful of the impact fee increases can have on individual licensees and CPA firms. However, the Board has
determined that this small fee increase is necessary in order to defray the costs of bringing licensees whose
licenses have expired into legal compliance and back into good standing to practice accountancy.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http:/istate.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pct070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

None of these rule changes are projected to have any impact on local governments.
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee
All agencies, upon filing a ruls, must also submit the following pursuant to TCA 4-5-226(i)(1).

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by
“such rule;

1.) Rule 0020-1-.1{1): Subsection (h) was added to this rule to provide a definition for “expired license”.
Under the current rule, substantial ambiguity exists regarding what is required of a licensee to reinstate his
license after his license expires. This definition clarifies when a license s In “expired” status, which means that
the licensee must file a reinstatement application in order to get his license reinstated to good standing.

2) Rule 0020-1-.4(1): Even though the rule heading under the current rules reads “Fees”, subsections (f)
and (g) under current rules incorrectly refer to the fees for the late filing of a certificate and for the reinstatement
of a license as a “penalty”. This ambiguity has caused confusion for licensees who are disciplined by the Board
by being ordered to pay a civil penalty. More than one licensee who was subject to board discipline asked why
he was being required to pay a “penalty” for a late-filed certificate or reinstatement application when he had
already pald a civil penalty as part of the Consent Order which resolved the disciplinary complaint against him.
Therefore, the purpose of this rule change is to clarify that money paid by licensees for a late-filed certificate or
for reinstatement of a license are properly labeled as “fees”, not as a “penalty”. Additionally, as part of the rule
change for subsection (f), the Board approved an increase in the fee for the late filing of a certificate or firm
permit from fifty dollars {$ 50.00) to one hundred dollars ($ 100.00) in order to defray the costs incurred by the
Board staff in bringing past due licenses current. The fiscal impact of this proposed fee increase is minimal.

3.) Rule 0020-1-.6; Subseclion {8) and subsection (7){b) were both deleted because these subsections
refer to the written CPA exam. The CPA exam is now only offered electronically via computer. Therefore, these
subsections are obsolete.

4) Rule 0020-1-.8: Subsection (5) was amended by deleting the second sentence of the current rule
regarding the listing of GPE courses on license renewal forms. This language caused some confusion for
licensees regarding what they had to list on their renewal forms regarding CPE courses, Because the first
sentence of subsection (5) was and s sufflclent to specify the Board's authorlty to request additional information
from licensees regarding their CPE credits, the second sentence was deleted. Subsection (6) was amended to
clarify that money paid to the Board by a licensee for the late renewal of a license is a fee, not a penalty.
Additionally, subsection (6) was amended to specify that the amount of the fee assessed to a licensee for late
renewal of a license will be $ 100.00, whereas the current rule does not specify the amount of the late renewal
fee. Subsection (7) was deleted in its entirety because the subject matter covered by current subsection (7) Is
now thoroughly addressed in amended subsection (6). Renumbered subsection (7) (formerly subsection (8))
was amended to clarify that a license which is not renewed within one (1) year of its expiration date has expired.
Whereas the current rule states that a license not renewed within one (1} year of expiration has “lapsed” {a term
not defined anywhere in the law or rules), the amended rule refers to such licenses as expired, a term which Is
now defined as a result of these rule changes.

5) Rule 0020-1-.13: Subsections (2)(a) and (2)(b) were deleted because they referred to temporary
practice permits. Bscause muiti-jurisdictional practice in and from Tennessee is now governed by mobility,
Tennesses no longer issues temporary practice permits. Therefore, theses subsections are obsolete. New
subsection {4) was added to ensure that any Tennessee licensee who practices under mobility in another state
must maintain his Tennessee license in good standing in order to do so.

6.) Rule 0020-2-.2: Subsection (1}(a)} increases the number of accounting hours, including the elementary
level, which must be obtained as part of the 150 hours of education required of all licensees from twenty-four
(24) semester or thirty-six (36} quarter hours to thirty (30} semester hours or forty-five (45) quarter hours.
Subsection (1)(b) is not substantively amended in any way. Rather, it Is amended to reflect the 24/36 {0 30/45
credit hour change described in the amended subseclion (1)(a). Subsection (3) was amended to increase the
number of upper level course credit hours required of licensees from twelve (12) semester or eighteen (18)
quarter hours to twenty-four (24) semester or thirty-six (36) quarter hours. These changes shall only apply to
individuals applying for a new CPA license after the effecfive date of these proposed changes.

7.) Rule 0020-3-.16: Paragraph (1) is amended to require that a licensee provide an e-mail address to the
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Board, and that they notify the Board whenever there is a change in their e-mail address.

8.) Rule 0020-5-.3: Subparagraph (1)(b) is amended to require a licensee to complete two (2} hours of
Tennessee state-specific Ethics CPE as part of his 80 hour biannual CPE requirement, whereas the current rule
requires a four (4) hour Ethics course which is not required to be state-specific. Because some jurisdictions
have no Ethics CPE requirement, new subparagraph (7)(c) is added to ensure that any CPA practicing in
Tennessee completes at least the minimum amount of Ethics CPE required by Tennessee’s law and rules.

9.) Rule 0020-5-.4: Paragraph (6) is amended to provide specific guidance to licensees as to how much
CPE credit they may be granted for any articles or books they write. Specifically, the amendment makes clear
that the article or book for which the licensee is aftempting to claim CPE credit must be published, and that the
Board has sole discretion regarding how much, if any, CPE credit they decide to award for such articles or
hooks.

10.) Rule 0020-6-.4: Paragraph (2} is amended by deleling the word “location” from the current rule. CPA
firms may have ¢ne location or more than one location. Regardiess of the number of locations, the firm itself
has only one peer review obligation to cover all its locations, not an obligation for every location of the firm to
have a separate peer review. Paragraph (4) is also amended by deleting the word “location”, and for the same
reason as amended paragraph (2) above.

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto;

| The proposed rule changes are not mandated by any statute or rule at either the federal or state level. |

(C} Identification of persons, crganizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this
rute, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or
rejection of this rule;

The amendment to the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy rules will affect applicants seeking a CPA
license from the Board. The only feedback received by the Board from the individuals and/or entities who will be
affected by these rule changes were the lelters more fully described in the “Public Hearlng Comments” Section
of this document.

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to
the rule;

| [ am unaware of any opinion of the attorney general or any judicial ruling which directly relates to these rules. I

{E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures,
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand doliars ($500,000), whichever is less;

With the exception of the proposed change to Rule 0020-1-.4(f), these rule changes are not expected to result in
any increase or decrease in state andfor local government revenue and expsnditures. The proposed change to
Rute 0020-1-.4(f) will result in a revenue increase for the agency. However, the expected revenue increase will
be minimal because the expected revenue increase is not more than 2% of the agency's annual budget and is
not more than $ 500,000.00.

(F) identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge
and understanding of the rule;

Mark Crocker, Executive Director for the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy; Chris Whittaker, Assistant
General Counsel for the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy.
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{G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a
scheduled meeting of the committees;

| Chris Whittaker, Assistant General Counsel for the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and

| 500 James Robertson Pkwy., Nashville, TN 37243; (615) 741-3072; chris.whittaker@tn.qov

(I} Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests.

[ N/A
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