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Statement of Necessity: __ ___ _ _ __ _ _ _ _ __ _ _ _ ___ _ _ __ 
The Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is required by the enactment of 2013 Public Act 43,;-1 
to implement rules prior to Ja--nuary 1-, 201-4,_ in order to effectuate the registration of removal services un ___ der that 
Act. The implementation of these rules within the required time period precludes utilization of rulemaking 
procedures described in Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5, Part 2 for the promulgation of 
permanent rule~_ _ _ __ __ __ _ ___ _ _ ___ _ 

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste 
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row) 

--------- --
Chapter Number Char:!_ ter Title 

-----

-
Title 

0660-03 Fees 
·:-----c-----+_:__::_~ 

Rule Number Rule 
0660-03-.11 Remo val Service Fees 

-

Chapter Nl!_lllber Chapter Title 
0660-12 --t--::::-R-em__.oval Services 
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Rule Number Rule Title 
0660-12-.01 Removal Services 

(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For 
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm) 

Amended Rules 

Chapter 0660-03-.11 
Fees 

Rule 0660-03 Fees is amended by adding a new section to the end of the chapter which shall read: 

0660-03-.11 Removal Service Fees 

(1) An application for registration as a removal service shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the board 
and shall be accompanied by proof of liability insurance in the amount of one million dollars 
($1 ,000,000.00) and a nonrefundable fee in the amount of three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00). 

(2) The board may renew a certificate of registration provided that an application for renewal, accompanied 
by proof of liability insurance in the amount of one million dollars ($1 ,000,000.00) and a nonrefundable 
fee in the amount of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00), is received by the board no later than the date of 
expiration. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-318 

Rule 0660-12 Removal Service 

Rule 0660-12-01 Removal Service 

New Rules 

Chapter 0660-12 
Removal Service 

(1) No removal service, as defined in T.C.A. Title 62, Chapter 5, Part 1, shall operate in this state without first 
registering with the Funeral Board as a removal service. 

(2) An application for registration as a removal service shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the board 
and shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee as set by the board and proof of liability insurance in 
an amount set by the board. 

(3) The board may renew a certificate of registration provided that an application for renewal, accompanied 
by a nonrefundable fee set by the board and proof of liability insurance in an amount set by the board, is 
received by the board no later than the date of expiration. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-318 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

Wayne Hinkle X 
Rob Helms X 
David Neal X 
W.T. Patterson X 
Jane Gray Sowell X 
Robert Starkey X 
Anita Taylor X 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of an emergency rule(s), lawfully promulgated and adopted. 

Signature: ----"-+-'---+7"'----:r-'"'-----------------­

Name of Officer: 
-~~~--~-------------

Title of Officer: Chief Counsel, Regulatory Boards 

~~J?scribed and sworn to before me on: 
("\~ "',h ... cv ·:::-'ci::; 

\111\''"'f.oo' Notary Public Signature: 
1\\\,\\ ""' 
E:<.p\·;eS 

All emergency rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State 
of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 
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12.r£~ E ~~~ 
Robert E. Cooper, Jr. 

Attorney Generil anJ Reporter 
\ :S eLO\~ 

I I Date 

Filed with the Department of State on: I / 3 /1 Lf 
-~,~~L_ _________ __ 

Effective for: __ .!_1-£-,fj:L-"--={)=->t--:-----------------=*d=-=a:Ly.=..s __ 

Effective through: _7'--~)'--''<L--iJ,'-----I.J-'-;-LI--/--______ _ 

*Emergency rule(s) may be effective for up to 180 days from the date of filing. 
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Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

The emergency rules adopted by the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, specifically 
pertaining to removal services, will have no impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

Rule 0660-03-.11 Removal Services Fees creates a new rule that requires a removal service company to submit 
an initial application for a removal service registration with the funeral board accompanied by a nonrefundable 
fee of three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00), and sets the renewal fee for a removal service registration at two 
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). 

Rule 0660-12-.01 Removal Services creates a new rule that requires a removal service company to obtain a 
minimum of one million dollars ($1 ,000,000.00) in liability insurance, and provide proof of such coverage prior to 
obtaining an initial registration and prior to renewinQ said reQistration. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 62-5-203 provides that, "The board has the power to select from its members a 
president and to adopt, promulgate and enforce rules and regulations for the transaction of its business and the 
management of its affairs, the standards of service and practice to be followed in the profession of funeral 
directing and the betterment and promotion of the educational standards of the profession of funeral directors 
and embalmers in this state, as it may deem expedient, consistent with the laws of this state." 

Tennessee Code Annotated § 62-5-318(a) provides that, "On or after January 1, 2014, no removal services shall 
operate in this state unless the removal services is registered with the board of funeral directors and embalmers. 
All such registrations shall expire two (2) years from the date of the registration or renewal. The board may 
promulgate and adopt such rules and regulations to establish adequate registration and renewal fees to cover 
the administrative costs associated with the registration program." 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 62-5-318(b) provides that, "In conjunction with the registration fee, the registrant 
must provide proof of liability insurance in an amount to be determined by the board by rule." 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

Those individuals who are currently operating, or plan to operate removal service companies, and do not fall 
under the exemptions provided in Tennessee Code Annotated § 62-5-101 (1 O)(B), will be most directly affected 
by these new rules. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

There are no known opinions of the Attorney General and Reporter or any judicial rulings that directly relate to 
the rules. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

While there will be an increase in the revenues resulting from the promulgation of these rules, the amount of 
revenue is ex ected to be minimal. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 
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R. Benton McDonough, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Commerce and Insurance. 
Robert B. Gribble, Executive Director for the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

R. Benton McDonough, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Commerce and Insurance. 
Robert B. Gribble, Executive Director for the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Benton McDonough: 615-741-8509, benton.mcdonough@tn.gov 
Robert Gribble: 615-741-5062, robert.gribble@tn.gov 
500 James Robertson Parkwa , Nashville, Tennessee 37243 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 
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Statement ofJI!~~essity: ____________ _ __ _ 
The Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is required by the enactment of 2013 Public Act 437 
to implement rules prior to January 1, 2014, in order to effectuate the registration of removal services under that 
Act. The implementation of these rules within the required time period precludes utilization of rulemaking 
procedures described in Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5, Part 2 for the promulgation of 
p~~rnanent rules. _________ _ 
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Rule Number Rule Title 
0660-12-.01 Removal Services 

(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For 
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm) 

Amended Rules 

Chapter 0660-03-.11 
Fees 

Rule 0660-03 Fees is amended by adding a new section to the end of the chapter which shall read: 

0660-03-.11 Removal Service Fees 

(1) An application for registration as a removal service shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the board 
and shall be accompanied by proof of liability insurance in the amount of one million dollars 
($1 ,000,000.00) and a nonrefundable fee in the amount of three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00). 

(2) The board may renew a certificate of registration provided that an application for renewal, accompanied 
by proof of liability insurance in the amount of one million dollars ($1 .000.000.00) and a nonrefundable 
fee in the amount of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00t is received by the board no later than the date of 
expiration. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-318 

Rule 0660-12 Removal Service 

Rule 0660-12-01 Removal Service 

New Rules 

Chapter 0660-12 
Removal Service 

(1) No removal service, as defined in T.C.A. Title 62, Chapter 5, Part 1, shall operate in this state without first 
registering with the Funeral Board as a removal service. 

(2) An application for registration as a removal service shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the board 
and shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee as set by the board and proof of liability insurance in 
an amount set by the board. 

(3) The board may renew a certificate of registration provided that an application for renewal, accompanied 
by a nonrefundable fee set by the board and proof of liability insurance in an amount set by the board, is 
received by the board no later than the date of expiration. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-5-203 and 62-5-318 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

Wayne Hinkle X 
Rob Helms X 
David Neal X 
W.T. Patterson X 
Jane Gray Sowell X 
Robert Starkey X 
Anita Taylor X 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of an emergency rule(s), lawfully promulgated and adopted. 

All emergency rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State 
of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

Department of State Use Only 

SS-7040 (October 2011) 

Robert E. Cooper, Jr. 
Attorney General and Reporter 

Date 

Filed with the Department of State on: ______________ _ 

Effective for: ____________ *--=d:..::a'Ly=-s_ 

Effective through: ______________ _ 

*Emergency rule(s) may be effective for up to 180 days from the date of filing. 
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Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

The emergency rules adopted by the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, specifically 
pertaining to removal services, will have no impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1 ). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

Rule 0660-03-.11 Removal Services Fees creates a new rule that requires a removal service company to submit 
an initial application for a removal service registration with the funeral board accompanied by a nonrefundable 
fee of three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00), and sets the renewal fee for a removal service registration at two 
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). 

Rule 0660-12-.01 Removal Services creates a new rule that requires a removal service company to obtain a 
minimum of one million dollars ($1 ,000,000.00) in liability insurance, and provide proof of such coverage prior to 
obtaining an initial registration and prior to renewing said registration. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 62-5-203 provides that, "The board has the power to select from its members a 
president and to adopt, promulgate and enforce rules and regulations for the transaction of its business and the 
management of its affairs, the standards of service and practice to be followed in the profession of funeral 
directing and the betterment and promotion of the educational standards of the profession of funeral directors 
and embalmers in this state, as it may deem expedient, consistent with the laws of this state." 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 62-5-318(a) provides that, "On or after January 1, 2014, no removal services shall 
operate in this state unless the removal services is registered with the board of funeral directors and embalmers. 
All such registrations shall expire two (2) years from the date of the registration or renewal. The board may 
promulgate and adopt such rules and regulations to establish adequate registration and renewal fees to cover 
the administrative costs associated with the registration program." 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 62-5-318(b) provides that, "In conjunction with the registration fee, the registrant 
must provide proof of liability insurance in an amount to be determined by the board by rule." 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

Those individuals who are currently operating, or plan to operate removal service companies, and do not fall 
under the exemptions provided in Tennessee Code Annotated § 62-5-101 (1 O)(B), will be most directly affected 
by these new rules. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

There are no known opinions of the Attorney General and Reporter or any judicial rulings that directly relate to 
the rules. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

While there will be an increase in the revenues resulting from the promulgation of these rules, the amount of 
revenue is ex ected to be minimal. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 
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R. Benton McDonough, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Commerce and Insurance. 
Robert B. Gribble, Executive Director for the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

R. Benton McDonough, Assistant General Counsel, Department of Commerce and Insurance. 
Robert B. Gribble, Executive Director for the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Benton McDonough: 615-741-8509, benton.mcdonough@tn.gov 
Robert Gribble: 615-741-5062, robert.gribble@tn.gov 
500 James Robertson Parkwa , Nashville, Tennessee 37243 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 
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