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1340-08-01-.01  CHARGES FOR ACCESS TO PUBLIC RECORDS.   
 
Upon a request for records under Tennessee’s Public Records Act, Tenn. Code Ann. § 10-7-501 et seq., 
the Department shall assess charges for the copying and labor based on the most current version of the 
Schedule of Reasonable Charges, issued by the Office of Open Records Counsel, available at  
http://www.comptroller.tn.gov/openrecords/forms.asp.  
 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-2009 and 10-7-501 et seq.; 2008 Public Chapter 1179.  Administrative 
History:  Public necessity rule filed November 5, 2008; effective through April 19, 2009.  Original rule 
filed November 5, 2008; effective March 30, 2009. 
 
1340-08-01-.02  WAIVER. 
 
Should any charge assessed under Rule 1340-08-01-.01 total ten ($10.00) dollars or less, the 
Department shall waive the charge and provide the requested documents without payment. 
 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-2009 and 10-7-501 et seq.; 2008 Public Chapter 1179.  Administrative 
History:  Public necessity rule filed November 5, 2008; effective through April 19, 2009.  Original rule 
filed November 5, 2008; effective March 30, 2009. 
 
1340-08-01-.03  REDUCTION OF FEES. 
 
The Commissioner, or his or her designee, may reduce any part of the fees calculated under these rules 
upon a written determination that such reduction would be in the best interests of the public. 
 
Authority: T.C.A. § 10-7-501 et seq.; and 2008 Public Chapter 1179.  Administrative History:  Public 
necessity rule filed November 5, 2008; effective through April 19, 2009.  Original rule filed November 5, 
2008; effective March 30, 2009. 
 
1340-08-01-.04  SALE OF MOTOR VEHICLE RECORDS. 
 

(1) For the preparing and furnishing of each individual motor vehicle record (MVR), the 
Department shall charge a fee of five ($5.00) dollars in accordance with T.C.A. § 55-50-
204(d)(1). 

 
(a) For the purpose of this rule, "individual motor vehicle record (MVR)"  means the 

complete record, prepared and maintained by the department, as it pertains to an 
individual's driver license and driver history.  

 
(b) The $5.00 fee shall be charged per individual MVR whether furnished in paper or 

electronic format. 
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(2) For the preparing and furnishing in bulk portions of individual MVRs, the department shall 
charge a fee that is calculated based on the Schedule of Reasonable Charges for Copies of 
Public Records established pursuant to T.C.A. § 8-4-604(a)(1). 

  
(a) For the purpose of this rule, "bulk" means the one time preparation and furnishing of 

portions of multiple individual MVRs. 
 
(b) Bulk requests shall be furnished in electronic format unless requested otherwise and 

agreed to by the department.  
 

(3) For the recurrent preparing and furnishing of portions of multiple or all individual MVRs, the 
department shall be paid 4/100 of a dollar, per year, for each licensed driver in the state of 
Tennessee for that year. The total fee per year shall be based on the total number of licensed 
drivers in the state as of January 1, 2010, and shall be divided and paid in 12 equal monthly 
payments. The number of licensed records used for calculating the payment shall be 
adjusted on January 1 of every year. 

 
(a) For the purpose of this rule, "recurrent" means monthly or other frequent periodic time 

interval determined by the department. 
 
(b) Recurrent requests shall be furnished in electronic format only.    
 

Authority:  T.C.A. §§ 4-3-2009, 8-4-604(a)(1),10-7-501 et seq., and 55-50-204.  Administrative History:  
New rule filed September 21, 2009; to be effective February 28, 2010; however on January 26, 2010, the 
Department of Safety withdrew the rule. Original rule filed May 27, 2010; effective October 29, 2010. 


